Lotus - Christina Aguilera
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 239 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 239

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is honesty, courage and quality, best pop album of 2012. Aguilera proves that she's the voice of generation and the princess of reinvention. Also one of the greatest artists in music history
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Christina elegantly transforms into a sensual lotus princess on the cover of her 5th studio album which arguably is her best album thus far! From the seductive intro which takes you into her rebirth, into the heartfelt 'Cease Fire', she conducts the show using her strongest and most well-known asset; that voice! Any music lover would love this eclectic album which features Aguilera's first dabble into country, which many deemed the best song on the album, which is rumoured to be a future single. Another standout track is a pop song with a rock-infused chorus called 'Circles' which is a refreshing switch of the old format, and contains lyrics such as, 'spin around in circles on my middle middle finger' which is a message to all nay-sayers who have been trashing her image since her last album (looking at you perez hilton). What to expect when listening? Vocals, vocals, emotion, and VOCALS! A+ Collapse
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    One of the worst albums I've ever bought. This is not music - it's pure trash. What happened to the old Christina we loved? She got her chance and she failed miserably.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Simply put, this is Aguilera's most well packaged Recording effort to date. A Pop joyride from start to finish with Aguilera's pipes font and center.
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Ms. Aguilera has certainly been through a lot lately and her music reflects that greatly. Being known as a pop villain certainly hasn't gained her any fans in music or in the general public, but she knows that and she accepts the role. Still, Christina has a soft side that she only feels safe showing inside of the studio where she feels she can be free to be herself without outside judgement. In "Light Up The Sky," one of the best bonus tracks you will ever hear, Ms. Aguilera blasts her gorgeous vocals over a piano as she sings about how there is a chance to overcome any sort of adversity that holds one down. Some may find the message of peace and harmony a little overused, but coming from Christina it feels genuine, the pain in her voice is something not many in pop can convey. The same pain can be heard in "Army Of Me," a solid track where Christina sings that she is wiser, stronger, and a fighter, probably alluding to the fact that her past releases haven't been the most successful of her career. She sings that she has a thousand faces that will rise up and fight against whatever evil comes her way. Moving on to a more risky recording, "Red Hot Kinda Love" offers a new sound for Ms. Aguilera, she sings over an intricately produced track and delivers something only Beyoncé could bring to the table from this generation of stars. the hook is the best part of the song as she yodels before the start of a chorus that is bound to get stuck in your head. If any song is a comeback smash single it is "Let There Be Love," not only is the chorus a memorable one, but the entire song feels ready for Top 40 without feeling like something we've heard four times this year. "Just A Fool," one of her duets with her fellow Voice coach Blake Shelton, offers something slow and well sang from both artists. It starts beautifully with Christina singing about something she has experience in as of late, losing love. Using her voice as a tool, she sways gorgeously through the first verse, Blake then joins her with his much needed masculine vocals and adds everything that makes the song a winter time smash on radio, she may even get country spins. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    It's not just a masterful and brilliant voice that fans come to expect from her, but an all around versatile sound and a well-rounded album. Christina always delivers with her albums regardless of the public or critical reception. In a sea of mediocracy in todays music she manages to rise to the top setting herself apart from the peers that came out into the scene alongside of her and the ones topping the charts today. The album is a truthful journey that explores all the sides of Christina that fans have come to love over the years. Not many artists can come through adversity with such musical vigor all the whilst standing firm to their beliefs and ever so daring to remain risk takers. Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This record is a MASTERPIECE! Every single track could be released as a single. The beginning track (Lotus intro) excites you & prepares you for the ride that your about to take. That ride is no disappointment, its a ride your going to want to take over and over again! Spectacular A+
  8. Nov 13, 2012
    5
    In the academe of pop music, Christina Aguilera can be considered as the wayward, too-cool-for-school kind. Aguilera would release an album, disappear for several years and comeback with an album completely different from its predecessor which can consequently either make a bold statement or end up washed in the mix. For the most part, each transition marked a certain timeline in her career. She opposed everything that was cute & formulaic with pop music back in 2002 when she released the iconic Stripped. And fast forward to 2006 when r&b and hip hop were at their prime, she decided to release a throwback album to everything 60s,70s and 80's with a Marilyn Monroe and Shirley Temple look to match. Back To Basics was a critical success and was a moderate hit compared to Stripped. Then as anyone could have predicted, she again took a hiatus before releasing a career celebrating Keeps Getting Better: A Decade of Hits and it was actually more like a questionable move for her, knowing the fact that she only has 3 albums under her belt. And at that time where pop listeners in general are more fickle than ever, many careers alighted and dimmed during her breaks and the vast landscape of pop is not as forgiving as it was before. Hence the Bionic affair happened. Bionic's high profile underperformance earned its right having a pop cult following, so infamous it can proudly join the ranks of Madonna's American Life and Mariah Carey's Glitter. Though the album finds her in her most experimental and adventurous, most part of the album seemed more like Aguilera playing catch up with the new pop queens. Thus, Lotus finds its place as an alarm for a resurgence. In comparison to her previous allbums, Lotus is her shortest and most pop-leaning record since her debut. Lyrically, it's her most impresive since Stripped, and her vocal technique is miles better than her prime in Back to Basics. And though it is not as genre bending and experimental as Bionic, it is definitely more cohesive and arguably wouldn't sound as dated as the former several years from now. For whatever its real purpose is, Lotus is her safest sounding record and it is exactly what she needs at this point of her career.

    Just like any Aguilera record, Lotus started with a dramatic intro hence I should say that this one takes the cake as the best album opener she ever did. She start things off in high speed with the anthemic Army of Me, which sounds like something Katy Perry would die to record if only Perry had the vocal chops to deliver. The first half of Lotus will give you no room to breathe. With the 1-2 punch of Red Hot Kinda Love and the future funk of Make the World Move, to the radio & club friendly bangers Your Body & Let There Be Love, Aguilera is wasting no time to showcase why she's highly regarded as The Voice of this generation, and that no one can beat her in her own pop game that many thought she abandoned earlier in her career. The middlepiece finds the soft spot of the album. Sing for Me finds her singing her heart out with lines that couldv'e been taken directly out of a Whitney song and ironically sounding like the late Whitney Houston for the most part. Blank Page is her bid to capture an Adele moment with this album and let's admit it, no one sings ballad better than Christina, not even Adele herself. Tracks like Cease Fire & Around The World ultimately proves that Aguilera is not just a singer and that she also has a penchant for details and production to complement her vocals and these Alex Da Kid produced tracks are no fillers. Whether it's the warfare of Cease Fire or the almost marching band sound of Around The World, that Aguilera swag is showing no sign of slowing down. The highlight of the album is surprisingly the genre crossing duet with country superstar Blake Shelton "Just A Fool" which is screaming to be released as a single, and has "Major Hit" written all over it. Deluxe tracks like Light Up The Sky and Empty Words are nice addition to the set. With all these being said, Lotus couldn't be more than an affirmation that Christina Aguilera is indeed a pop star after all. Streamlining her image after all the career troubles that she had in the past. It's the record that is supposed to put her safely and surely back in the map and re-introduce her to the new generation of pop listeners. She might not have the drive, the vision or the passion she once had, Lotus ultimately proves that like the flower itself, Aguilera is unbreakable and will rise after every storm and bloom ever as beautiful.
    Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    LOTUS is a variety of musical styles, has a mix of different sounds and genres, she and her team have established a harmony, and this is reflected in the lyrics and sounds.

    Christina has reinvented itself again in this album, we have songs that are unlike anything she has done before, she has come out of your comfort zone with some little experimental songs like. Lotus Intro, Circles
    and even Cease Fire... The album has many options regarding the selection of upcoming Singles, any song on the album has the potential to be released like single ... Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Imposible puntuar con menos, a una artista que se toma tan en serio su trabajo: "aportar algo sustancial a ese mundo del pop mainstream tan olvidadizo" (con el que mantiene una esquizofrénica batalla de identidad: ahora no, pero sí)

    No es su mejor album, pero igualmente mantiene su sello: "un dispar de conjuntos musicales que se unifican bajo su inconfundible
    interpretación vocal" (porque sí, porque le apetece).

    No se echa de menos ningún elemento, pues por algo es un album sin pretensiones, al contrario de sus anteriores trabajos, y fácil de digerir. Y aunque no creo que se asiente jamás debajo de una etiqueta, quizás haya más de esto en futuros proyectos (eso de actuar sin pretensiones digo).
    Expand
  11. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    An incredible, spectacular, fresh, clean disc, what mas do they love? It is an incredible disc for this year as all those that it has been extracting, I have to say that Christina Aguilera has a prodigious voice and that for my undoubtedly it is the best of the world.
  12. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is a phenomenal album by Legend X. Vocally, she is above all artists from her generation incl. Beyoncpé, Belly Clarkson & Studlicia. Justin is still king bye.
  13. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    A perfect album, from the sexist woman in the music business. Christina Aguilera goes above and beyond in this amazing album, with her best song ever "Your Body". Pure perfection, from one of America's hottest women. Whoever said she was fat and ugly need to get hit in the head with a brick.
  14. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Christina's biggest power is that she can use her voice in so many different ways and that versatility allows her to create beautiful songs. In an age when music relies heavily on beats and production, Christina can still rely on her voice to deliver a stellar song. And that's why the ballads on Lotus are all strong. Blank Page, Sing For Me and Just A Fool all showcase why Christina's rivals will never be able to match her vocal prowess. But the ballads themselves are not what make Lotus great, it is the playful side of Aguilera that bring her back to true form. The thing is Christina's playfulness and tongue-in-cheek approach to sexually driven songs (Candyman, Dirrty, Genie In A Bottle) have always set her apart from her peers. And with songs like Your Body, Let There Be Love, Around the World and Red Hot Kinda Love, she is back in true form. There's a little bit of everything on this album for everyone, Christina delivered a filler-free album with Lotus. Expand
  15. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    this is one of the best album Christina Aguilera has made since 2006's back to Basics. She has changed her evolution to keep up with all these other auto tuned artists but her vocals stand out from each track.
  16. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This album is flawless. Most of the tracks are fun and up-tempo while others are emotional and touching. Both type of songs are flawless here. Even the "generic" tracks are amazing and beyond perfect because she brings talent to the songs as well. I love the album, definitely my favorite from year 2012 and not only. Great job, Christina Aguilera!
  17. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Two years after her futuristic and underrated 'Bionic', Aguilera is now back with a brand new album that makes it possible to mix soft funny songs, such as Red Hot Kind of Love with strong self-empowering ballads, such as 'Blank Page' and 'Best of Me' and as well mix it all with her 'dirrty mood' songs, such as 'Your Body' and 'Around The World'. In the end, what makes the album great isn't Aguilera's perfect and powerful vocals but the album's variability, doubt it? Listen to her country-pop break-up song with Blake Shelton, 'Just A Fool'. Expand
  18. Nov 13, 2012
    1
    A pretty good album, but queen Jessie J has better albums than this. 'Who You Are' is a a masterpiece of modern pop, which 'Lotus' is not. Sure, it is not bad but I had to mention the pop star with the most impact in the world in my review, because she is likely one of Christina Aguilera's main inspirations.
  19. Nov 15, 2012
    4
    Lotus - first came into my mind is that, this concept is kinda weird but nonetheless it is beautiful. Generally, after 2-3 plays, the album consist of mostly to be called as "safe" tracks as there is not much of a standout other than overflowing of power ballads. I have to say, if Bionic get released by now, it would have done better, as Bionic is as if an album from the future.
  20. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    This is just a bad album, sounding exactly like other tracks for other singers, having too many familiar songs, your body might be her best song on the album but everything else is rubbish, rushed, lyrically bad and to forced
  21. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Lotus es un album multifacetico tal y como lo es Christina Aguilera, por lo mismo es un album que entretiene, podemos encontrar desde baladas hasta pop/rock, para cuando estes sentimental o tengas mucha energia... sin duda es un album que lo puedes escuchar y disfrutar sin importar tu estado de animo, hay una cancion para cada momento!
  22. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    Lotus is the album Christina wanted to create but failed in Bionic. Stand out tracks include: Army of Me, Blank Page, Make the World Move and Empty Words
  23. Sep 12, 2013
    1
    This type of stuff is beneath Christina's wonderful talent and vocals. It all sounds so boring and dull. She has it in her to make stuff ten times better.
  24. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    So i just bought Christina's album, and i might say it's a solid comeback from what might be consider the best voice of the pop generation. It sounds current, this is, it accompanies well the evolution of pop music, still having maintaining that Aguilera signature, that puts her album on top of every single one of those remaining current pop artists. This is definitely one of christina's best albums and it somehow takes back to "Stripped", where the focal point was conveying a message and all about self empowerment and the idea that we are not alone, and we all go through the same problems. It's relatable, it's musically inspired, and on top of that, it dabbles into country and r & B with 2 incredible duets with fellows "the voice" members Cee-lo Green and Blake Shelton, which are in my personal opinion, two of the best tracks in the album. I say this is one of the best albums i've heard in awhile. Strongly recommend it Expand
  25. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    This is probably her most pop influenced album since her debut. It would have been better timed if she had released this after her debut or Stripped but is still a nice way of coming back to her pop roots. The Intro is probably the best one she's ever recorded and i kind of wish the album would have kept that sound as a whole but then again this si a Christina Aguilera album and if you are familiar with her previous work you know she will always mix about 3 different things on one album. I think Army of Me pretty much sums up this 3 piece album: Song about Wisdom, songs about Sex and songs about never backing down. Expand
  26. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Having as the worst performances de eletropop ones, Lotus makes well its work: It is the BEST release in 2012, and show a full Aguilera, with all that we love in her.
  27. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is on my opinion the best pop album of the year, once again Christina Aguilera shows why she is the voice of her generation, this gurl has some pipes. I found some brilliant moments on this album, Just A Fool was definitely one of them. Some other songs like Cease Fire, Around the World, Let there Be Love are amazing pop anthems with an amazing production. On the other side we have tha ballads, Blank Page remind us why we feel in love with Christina, Best of Me is another brilliant moment on the album. The intro is amazing. Lotus is with no doubt an Amazing album, with this project Christina Aguilera shows once again that she is one of the best female singers of our times. Expand
  28. Nov 14, 2012
    6
    I used to be a some-what fan of Christina. With this album she does the same as what Britney and J.Lo did, take on the electronic music genre and try to fit in. They all succeeded but personally I really miss the old sound of Christina. But on the other hand, it's a good thing she didn't go back to a full ballad album. We've got enough crying woman making music at the moment. Although Christina will kick off Taylor Swift and Adele from any list when she comes back with one of her old-style tracks, this queen doesn't need to compete with mediocre pop-drama like Taylor and Adele.

    Very nice album to pop in once in a while, especially on a somewhat grey day, but not something to have permanently in your play list.
    Expand
  29. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    El mejor album del 2012 sin dudas, sonido fresco, sin caer en lo generico, la voz de Aguilera esta mejor que nunca! El disco lo tiene todo! Baladas romanticas, canciones cortavenas, canciones que prenderan las pistas de baile,!
  30. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    The new project of Christina Aguilera has not anything groundbreaking to the music but it fulfills its role well in pop music. Opening with "Lotus Intro" is more than interesting to move to a new song release in Army Of Me for the new Fighter's on duty. Other songs featured are Cease Fire, Around The World and Just a Fool ('m cheering this to be a great single)
  31. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Christina Aguilera is the best vocalist in the world and she shows it in this studio album. This record, LOTUS, is a masterpiece. Every single track could be released as a single. Army Of Me, Sing For Me, Blank Page, all the songs have a special message. Christina' vocals and instrumental are amazing, I will recommend LOTUS to all people.
  32. Nov 15, 2012
    0
    What a shame that this one-time artist with so much potential continues her slide through mediocrity and now straight towards irrelevance. Not only has her success gone to her head, but apparently she thinks she can do no wrong. Not only is she a bad person, she is becoming a bad (or non) artist.
  33. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Lotus definitely is the best album pop of the year! Sing 4 Me and Blank Page is the most beautiful balad of Lotus.. Army of Me and Cease Fire is POWER. Let There Be Love is awesome.. OMG, this albums so **** good! Xtina always made it the best!!! Legendtina is BACK!
  34. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lotus is an album of multiple layers where we identify the essence of aguilera, she navigates her comfort zone without much pretension and without ceasing to be pop.
    Lotus is a great album where every song we heard the eternal christina that captivated us since the stripped. The album is very diverse covering various styles, Inspiring songs like Army of Me and Sing for Me, the mid temps Your body and thebe Let love be giving a cheer on the album, the incredible Blanck Page that shows all the potential of singer besides their vulnerability.
    Christina Shows all its fury in Circles, with stretches: sit and spin on my middle finger, **** sings with aggressive vocals Cease Fire making a plea for peace.
    Makes a rant in Best Of Me, shows his country roots in Just a Fool.
    back to basics but once in Make the World Move, fun and different risks in Red hot kinda Love produced by Lucas Secon.
    Generally Lotus is good pop album, and with very good commercial potential to hit, is well diversified beyond what one can not compare them to previous works of the same.
    Aguilera said as own lotus is its revival, its reflection ..
    Expand
  35. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Lotus is a wonderful album. Christina honestly did a great job in her new comeback, of course! The best song is "Cease Fire". It's a great meaning between war and love. When I heard "Lotus Intro" for the first time, I felt like I was in heaven. No doubt, Lotus is by far the best album of the year.
  36. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Album incredible, strong songs, the best we can offer for Xtina fans who already admire and for new fans that may arise over time. A blend of good compositions combined the powerful voice of the blonde.
  37. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Album incredible, strong songs, the best we can offer for Xtina fans who already admire and for new fans that may arise over time. A blend of good compositions combined the powerful voice of the generation!!!
  38. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Love Let There Be Love, Army Of Me, Just A Fool, Lotus Intro, Your Body, Shut Up, Sing For Me and Make The World Move. Christina Aguilera is amazing.
  39. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Lotus is a strong album of wonderful songs!! Xtina's vocal with more powerful than ever. Lotus is perfectly composed and produced, deserves all the success in the world.
  40. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    What to speak of this album? He is simply amazing!! Xtina always brings quality to your album and Lotus was no different. Army of Me is sensational! Blank Page is sweet and exciting!! Surely one of the best albums of the Year
  41. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lotus describes Aguilera´s feelings. It´s mature and show us why Xtina is the voice of our generation. Talent don´t need to sell millions of opy worldwide, but she deserve everything she had. A gift. #Lotus rise Expand
  42. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Lotus is his best album since Stripped. Ok, Back To Basics was great, but does not have the variety of sounds and songs that express different emotions as does Lotus. Let There Be Love is a perfect song to dance, I think this song is your song more danceable. Blank Page is a masterpiece, I have no words to describe it. Army Of Me is a powerful song with great lyrics. Just a Fool is a very emotional song dedicated to broken hearts. A perfect song when you miss someone. Other songs with great lyrics are Ceaser Fire, Empty Words, Sing For Me and Best Of Me. Make the World Move and Red Hot Kinda Of Love are the most fun songs on the album. Shut Up and Circles are perfect for Haters. For me it is a great album with great songs that could be singles. Expand
  43. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a really good album ! , so the only thing you have to do is go and buy it ! most of the song are really good , specially just a fool , army of me , blank page , cease fire etc. if you hear people who says she oversing in this album , one thing is oversing and other is to sing with passion and thats what christina does in this awesome recording Expand
  44. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    Horrible. I mean Christina kept on praising herself , about how she her music is different and that shes different than other pop stars around , yet she goes ahead and sings songs written by others ,specifically for commercial success.
  45. Dec 4, 2012
    2
    X-tina, X-tina, X-tina... This album is terrible. There is 3 songs that are good. Like who does she think she is? Circles is one example of a true filler. The lyrics are written horrible. I hope she can come up with something actually good next time, or her career is going *plop*.
  46. Dec 7, 2012
    3
    I rated only 3, I don't like her new album as a whole. I love some songs like Just A Fool, Blank Page and Army Of Me....and that's it.
    Where's our great old Christina? What happend to her wonderful voice?
  47. Aug 7, 2013
    4
    No! It's not that good! Christina needs to go back to Bionic! Christina can do so much better than this. And so can the people she features in the album.
  48. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Couldn't be more excited for Lotus. So many gems, this album is amazing and I hope X is in full promo/artist mode because it can do so well. I have been playing it non-stop since it leaked and even more after I bought it!
  49. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    With amazing vocals, this album will make you dance, cry, reflect and inspire!
    Highlight for "Sing for me", "Your Body", "Best Of Me", "Army of Me" and "Blank Page.
  50. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    Well done Christina, one again, you show evolution, change and your never ending voice. For sure, you are the voice of this generation. Thanks for making real and honest music, like you always does.
  51. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great album, of one of the most amazing pop divas, in this album Christina introduce different sounds and music styles, reaching in combination with her amazing voice the creation of one of the best albums of the year. Expand
  52. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The voice might have matured a bit but the sassiness behind it is still there. Listenning to this album is a journey. Wish Empty Words was part of the standard edition.
  53. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    is much better than Bionic and it's soooo smooth,but what i most wish is if ca could loss her weightl lol but i'm still so happy to see XTINA BACK LOL LOTUS RISE!
  54. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    The only problem with X is that her music shifts to different fan groups. "Christina Aguilera" was for Teen-Pop fans. Stripped was for RnB fans. Back To Basics was soul and Bionic was Electronic fans. So that leaves lotus. This is for pure pop fans. The lyrics are undeniably well thought out. Auto-tune is used for effect, not for vocal help (we only hear auto-tune on "Lotus Intro". No where else!). The reason why reviews were so bad is probably towards "self-help" lyrics. But this is what it's about. She stated it was a Fighter-esque record. Now why do you guys act so surprised?
    Highlights:
    Army of Me
    Light Up the Sky
    Just a Fool
    Red Hot Kinda Love

    Lows:
    Circles
    Empty Words
    Expand
  55. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Album is so good. I missed this Christina. A mix of fun songs, a few deep ones and great vocals. My favorites are Best Of Me, Just A Fool, Army of Me, Around The World and Red Hot Kinda Love.
  56. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Christina Aguilera returns with a solid pop collection every Xtina fan will love. It's also mainstream enough for new fans to come in.

    With the poorly received Bionic, I somewhat disagree the public sentiment because that one had A LOT of gems: Monday Morning, Elastic Love, Birds of Prey, I Am, Lift Me Up, etc. However here, there's less experimentation and more straight up pop
    confections. And a LOT of radio friendly material like Army of Me, Just A Fool, Your Body, Red Hot Kinda Love, Sing For Me, etc. So get this CD, it's amazing. Her single performance is somewhat odd since I believe it's highly personality driven--people find Xtina too harsh and so, wont' request her tracks despite their obvious quality. So personality aside, this is a good album, with true vocals, larger-than-life personality, and you can almost see how it's to be staged when the tour forms. Expand
  57. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Lotus is the latest excellent chapter in Christina's continuing evolution as a vocalist and an icon. It's a challenge for many to separate her music from her complex Pop Cultural impact and difficult still to compare her to her 'peers' in the entertainment industry, something that's often done with female artists, but the truth is that she is ultimately peerless and her career path has never been travelled before...so these attempts to understand her by her career choices and the activities of her 'rivals' is ultimately fruitless. Christina is a great vocalist navigating her way through yet another bizarre set of hurtles placed before her by the state of the music and overall entertainment industry. Like a great diva, the goal is survival. At this point it still makes perfect sense to do the youthful, sexy tracks (Your Body, Let There Be Love, Red Hot Kind of Love), and As the media and audiences have bullied Christina for the past few years, the angsty songs are very much justified (Army of Me, Best of Me, Circles), and Christina continues to create masterpiece ballads that capture her Voice so well (Blank Page, Sing for Me, Just a Fool). To Listen to a Christina album is really to listen to the best of America at any given moment. She's one of our most accomplished and genuinely gifted Artists and actually exhibits in her music itself the struggle America has in finding itself. Christina is of the moment in how her albums are always a kind of melting pot for American pop culture. Her Voice makes these albums timeless because of the immortality of Great Voices. The Voice is our most human aspect, a chord on any other instrument can be recreated but the voice cannot. Dance music belongs to the here and now of each young generation, but singing is timeless and ageless, and Christina continues to finely craft and push her voice into a solid, varied collection of recordings that can wow and inspire singers forever. Expand
  58. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    She's known for changing it up with every record musically and look wise, she did it again. It's a solid pop record full of messages. As she calls herself "a message girl". I liked how cohesive the album is. It's has a lot of up-tempos as well as mid-tempos and a few ballads, which are always the best of Xtina's albums.
    I absolutely love the album. I consider myself a hardcore Xtina fan
    and I'm very picky with her so, she delivered this time. Expand
  59. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Lotus is a new begining for Aguilera and her fans. Songs like "Best Of Me", "Army Of Me", "Blank Page" and "Just A Fool" represents the unbreakable flower that Xtina has become. She will forever be remembered as THE VOICE OF HER GENERATION
  60. Apr 22, 2013
    7
    Christina is one of the best singers ever without any doubt. Her voice is simply stunning and she is so versatile. So this can be not her best album, that's for sure, but she is amazing
  61. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    This album shows of the "old" Xtina and the "new" Xtina. She still have to satisfy her fans and try to win over a newer generation, which she is slowly achieving.
  62. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are some songs that is very slow. But very slow, is very good. There are some club songs like Your body, Let there be love. They are so good. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever. This is the best album ever Expand
  63. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Even if it doesn't include pop pearls, Lotus is Christina Aguilera's best album because most of the songs are great. The other albums are very long and so include bad songs. And even if it is her most pop album, the songs still are in the Aguilera's style so very enjoyable. Refreshing, attractive, seductive.
  64. Mar 26, 2013
    9
    álbum muito bom, com uma gentileza incomparável e uma beleza exuberante, Christina Aguilera mostra todo seu potencial com agudos e batidas que podem não agradar muito a critica, mas vão fazer todos ficarem loucos por essa obra prima da RCA.
  65. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    During one of her interviews Christina said, that "Lotus" is "fun, exciting, introspective, it's going to be great". Yes, it's definitely Christina's poppiest album since her debut in 1999. Tracks like "Your Body", "Red Hot Kinda Love", "Let There Be Love" and "Around The World" are the perfect club bangers. There are also some personal, beautiful ballads like "Sing For Me", "Blank Page" and "Best Of Me". But "Lotus" is not only pop and R&B album. There's a country heart-breaking ballad "Just A Fool" featuring Blake Shelton, alternative "middle-finger to haters" song "Circles" and (finally) ragga/electronica/R&B/dubstep multigenre masterpiece "Cease Fire". There's a few misfires including chaotic "Make The World Move" and excessively vulgar "Shut Up". Besides that "Lotus" is another solid album in Christina's career.

    8 out of 10
    Expand
  66. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    It's a good album, just not her best. It's definitely not like i taught it will be, when i heard "Blank Page" wich is the first song i heard from the album. I taught it will be so emotional just like "Stripped" while it's full of rowdy dance-pop songs. It's one of her first electro-pop album and it's amazing but i've seen better.
    Album's Highlights: "Blank Page", "Your Body", "Let There
    Be Love", "Army of Me" and Just a Fool"
    Album's Bad songs: "Circles", "Cease Fire" and "All Around the World".
    Expand
  67. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    Segundo álbum mais honesto da carreira da Aguilera, desde as suas tristezas, alegrias até os deboches a aqueles que tentam a destruir, (sem exito) melhor álbum de 2012.
  68. Nov 4, 2013
    7
    Lotus is honestly a good record. It's not very commercial but it's a big improvement after the disastrous Bionic. Standout tracks include: let there be love, empty words, lotus and blank page. If some songs were cut it would be more cohesive but overall it's a good work.
  69. Dec 12, 2013
    8
    I think the best way to start this review is to say that I personally enjoyed Christina's 2010 release 'Bionic', despite the fact it's critical and chart receptions were so-so to not good at all. I thought the Sia ballads were flawless, and the departure from Christina's norm was a nice change in my opinion. That being said, that was then and this is now... And here on 'Lotus', Aguilera re-emerges... A much stronger force than before.

    'Lotus' isn't the pop masterpiece I hoped for... But on top 40 standards, Christina certainly delivered. There's powerhouse radio cuts like 'Let There Be Love' and 'Just a Fool', and flawless soulful takes like 'Make the World Move' and 'Sing for Me'. There's also a lot of playful cuts like 'Cease Fire' and 'Circles'. Plus, perhaps the strongest moment on 'Lotus', Sia returns on 'Blank Page'. All of these cuts remind us what a powerhouse of a vocalist Christina Aguilera really is, and her iconic status as one of the best voices of this generation. What stops this record from being a masterpiece though is it's lack of flow. Unlike Christina's mammoth releases 'Stripped' and 'Back to Basics', this album still feels Inconcise and a little all over the place sonically. That being said it's a decent step in the right direction!
    Expand
  70. Dec 4, 2013
    7
    Lotus is a great divide in the career of Christina, unlike previous albums he has no set theme, sounds just like it was another album released, however the album opens with an interesting intro, despite being just a intro, ''Lotus Intro'' is one of the best songs on the album, the highlights are also ''Blank Page'', ''Army of Me'', ''Best of Me'' and ''Just A Fool'', the rest is not very surprising, Lotus sounds like something slacker who had no proper job, after all Aguilera can still develop a good job. Expand
  71. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    When a singer release a new album never knows what to expect. Many will like it, others do not, others will not matter and will hate to hear the simple fact of not liking the artist, the clothes she wears, the voice, the hair ... Criticism is constructed with a reference basis and being impartial. Nobody can avalir an album listening 1 time each song. The quality goes beyond that.
    Lotus
    is proof of growth Aguilera as a person, as the voice as an artist and as the greatest singer of this generation. She has her own style, recreated on each CD, never repeats anything and is therefore underestimated by simply not be understood. If everyone had your CDs at home and hear the world would have a better taste in music. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    40
    Nothing really stands out like the best thing here, Make The World Move, featuring fellow Voice Judge, Cee-Lo Green. [Jan 2013, p.101]
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    This might not be the golden, triumphant comeback Aguilera had hoped for, but it's pretty close and, let's face it, it's better than most Top 40 music right now.
  3. Nov 20, 2012
    50
    This vitriol-tsunami of a record misses a chance to connect Aguilera's music with her warm, empathetic TV presence.