Lotus

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Lotus Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 297 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Cee Lo Green and Blake Shelton, co-judges on The Voice guest on the pop singer's latest studio release that also includes production from Alex da Kid, Jayson DeZuzio, Max Martin, and Shellback.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    82
    Lotus largely benefits from all the bombast--Aguilera hasn't sounded so fun and energized in years.
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    It's hard to blame her for playing it safe, particularly because she wound up with such a strong pop album, one that reconfirms her gifts as a singer and savviness as a pop star.
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    This might not be the golden, triumphant comeback Aguilera had hoped for, but it's pretty close and, let's face it, it's better than most Top 40 music right now.
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    By virtue of the fact that Lotus is Aguilera's shortest album since her debut, it boasts less filler, but also fewer obvious standouts.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    50
    This vitriol-tsunami of a record misses a chance to connect Aguilera's music with her warm, empathetic TV presence.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    50
    Aguilera has always been an unstoppable force when she pours her heart and soul into her music-and not as adept at dumbing down her voice or lyrics for the sake of lightweight tunes or prevailing trends. Unfortunately, by focusing on the latter route, Lotus becomes disappointingly faceless.
  7. Nov 12, 2012
    40
    The anonymity of much of Lotus is its biggest crime, more than its musical unadventurousness or its emphasis on bland self-help lyrics or its reluctance to lean on Ms. Aguilera's voice.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 77
  2. Negative: 10 out of 77
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is honesty, courage and quality, best pop album of 2012. Aguilera proves that she's the voice of generation and the princess ofLotus is honesty, courage and quality, best pop album of 2012. Aguilera proves that she's the voice of generation and the princess of reinvention. Also one of the greatest artists in music history Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Lotus es un album multifacetico tal y como lo es Christina Aguilera, por lo mismo es un album que entretiene, podemos encontrar desde baladasLotus es un album multifacetico tal y como lo es Christina Aguilera, por lo mismo es un album que entretiene, podemos encontrar desde baladas hasta pop/rock, para cuando estes sentimental o tengas mucha energia... sin duda es un album que lo puedes escuchar y disfrutar sin importar tu estado de animo, hay una cancion para cada momento! Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Lotus is the latest excellent chapter in Christina's continuing evolution as a vocalist and an icon. It's a challenge for many to separate herLotus is the latest excellent chapter in Christina's continuing evolution as a vocalist and an icon. It's a challenge for many to separate her music from her complex Pop Cultural impact and difficult still to compare her to her 'peers' in the entertainment industry, something that's often done with female artists, but the truth is that she is ultimately peerless and her career path has never been travelled before...so these attempts to understand her by her career choices and the activities of her 'rivals' is ultimately fruitless. Christina is a great vocalist navigating her way through yet another bizarre set of hurtles placed before her by the state of the music and overall entertainment industry. Like a great diva, the goal is survival. At this point it still makes perfect sense to do the youthful, sexy tracks (Your Body, Let There Be Love, Red Hot Kind of Love), and As the media and audiences have bullied Christina for the past few years, the angsty songs are very much justified (Army of Me, Best of Me, Circles), and Christina continues to create masterpiece ballads that capture her Voice so well (Blank Page, Sing for Me, Just a Fool). To Listen to a Christina album is really to listen to the best of America at any given moment. She's one of our most accomplished and genuinely gifted Artists and actually exhibits in her music itself the struggle America has in finding itself. Christina is of the moment in how her albums are always a kind of melting pot for American pop culture. Her Voice makes these albums timeless because of the immortality of Great Voices. The Voice is our most human aspect, a chord on any other instrument can be recreated but the voice cannot. Dance music belongs to the here and now of each young generation, but singing is timeless and ageless, and Christina continues to finely craft and push her voice into a solid, varied collection of recordings that can wow and inspire singers forever. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is a phenomenal album by Legend X. Vocally, she is above all artists from her generation incl. Beyoncpé, Belly Clarkson &Lotus is a phenomenal album by Legend X. Vocally, she is above all artists from her generation incl. Beyoncpé, Belly Clarkson & Studlicia. Justin is still king bye. Collapse
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    So i just bought Christina's album, and i might say it's a solid comeback from what might be consider the best voice of the pop generation. ItSo i just bought Christina's album, and i might say it's a solid comeback from what might be consider the best voice of the pop generation. It sounds current, this is, it accompanies well the evolution of pop music, still having maintaining that Aguilera signature, that puts her album on top of every single one of those remaining current pop artists. This is definitely one of christina's best albums and it somehow takes back to "Stripped", where the focal point was conveying a message and all about self empowerment and the idea that we are not alone, and we all go through the same problems. It's relatable, it's musically inspired, and on top of that, it dabbles into country and r & B with 2 incredible duets with fellows "the voice" members Cee-lo Green and Blake Shelton, which are in my personal opinion, two of the best tracks in the album. I say this is one of the best albums i've heard in awhile. Strongly recommend it Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    Lotus is the album Christina wanted to create but failed in Bionic. Stand out tracks include: Army of Me, Blank Page, Make the World Move andLotus is the album Christina wanted to create but failed in Bionic. Stand out tracks include: Army of Me, Blank Page, Make the World Move and Empty Words Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    Horrible. I mean Christina kept on praising herself , about how she her music is different and that shes different than other pop stars aroundHorrible. I mean Christina kept on praising herself , about how she her music is different and that shes different than other pop stars around , yet she goes ahead and sings songs written by others ,specifically for commercial success. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews