Lotus - Christina Aguilera
Lotus Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 253 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Cee Lo Green and Blake Shelton, co-judges on The Voice guest on the pop singer's latest studio release that also includes production from Alex da Kid, Jayson DeZuzio, Max Martin, and Shellback.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 12, 2012
    82
    Lotus largely benefits from all the bombast--Aguilera hasn't sounded so fun and energized in years.
  2. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    It's hard to blame her for playing it safe, particularly because she wound up with such a strong pop album, one that reconfirms her gifts as a singer and savviness as a pop star.
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    70
    This might not be the golden, triumphant comeback Aguilera had hoped for, but it's pretty close and, let's face it, it's better than most Top 40 music right now.
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    60
    By virtue of the fact that Lotus is Aguilera's shortest album since her debut, it boasts less filler, but also fewer obvious standouts.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    50
    This vitriol-tsunami of a record misses a chance to connect Aguilera's music with her warm, empathetic TV presence.
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    50
    Aguilera has always been an unstoppable force when she pours her heart and soul into her music-and not as adept at dumbing down her voice or lyrics for the sake of lightweight tunes or prevailing trends. Unfortunately, by focusing on the latter route, Lotus becomes disappointingly faceless.
  7. Nov 12, 2012
    40
    The anonymity of much of Lotus is its biggest crime, more than its musical unadventurousness or its emphasis on bland self-help lyrics or its reluctance to lean on Ms. Aguilera's voice.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 74
  2. Negative: 10 out of 74
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Lotus is honesty, courage and quality, best pop album of 2012. Aguilera proves that she's the voice of generation and the princess ofLotus is honesty, courage and quality, best pop album of 2012. Aguilera proves that she's the voice of generation and the princess of reinvention. Also one of the greatest artists in music history Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Lotus describes Aguilera´s feelings. It´s mature and show us why Xtina is the voice of our generation. Talent don´t need to sell millions of opy worldwide, but she deserve everything she had. A gift. #Lotus rise Expand
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Lotus is a new begining for Aguilera and her fans. Songs like "Best Of Me", "Army Of Me", "Blank Page" and "Just A Fool" represents theLotus is a new begining for Aguilera and her fans. Songs like "Best Of Me", "Army Of Me", "Blank Page" and "Just A Fool" represents the unbreakable flower that Xtina has become. She will forever be remembered as THE VOICE OF HER GENERATION Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    An incredible, spectacular, fresh, clean disc, what mas do they love? It is an incredible disc for this year as all those that it has beenAn incredible, spectacular, fresh, clean disc, what mas do they love? It is an incredible disc for this year as all those that it has been extracting, I have to say that Christina Aguilera has a prodigious voice and that for my undoubtedly it is the best of the world. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    So i just bought Christina's album, and i might say it's a solid comeback from what might be consider the best voice of the pop generation. ItSo i just bought Christina's album, and i might say it's a solid comeback from what might be consider the best voice of the pop generation. It sounds current, this is, it accompanies well the evolution of pop music, still having maintaining that Aguilera signature, that puts her album on top of every single one of those remaining current pop artists. This is definitely one of christina's best albums and it somehow takes back to "Stripped", where the focal point was conveying a message and all about self empowerment and the idea that we are not alone, and we all go through the same problems. It's relatable, it's musically inspired, and on top of that, it dabbles into country and r & B with 2 incredible duets with fellows "the voice" members Cee-lo Green and Blake Shelton, which are in my personal opinion, two of the best tracks in the album. I say this is one of the best albums i've heard in awhile. Strongly recommend it Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    Lotus is the album Christina wanted to create but failed in Bionic. Stand out tracks include: Army of Me, Blank Page, Make the World Move andLotus is the album Christina wanted to create but failed in Bionic. Stand out tracks include: Army of Me, Blank Page, Make the World Move and Empty Words Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    Horrible. I mean Christina kept on praising herself , about how she her music is different and that shes different than other pop stars aroundHorrible. I mean Christina kept on praising herself , about how she her music is different and that shes different than other pop stars around , yet she goes ahead and sings songs written by others ,specifically for commercial success. Expand

See all 74 User Reviews