User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamieM
    Sep 30, 2005
    6
    Nah. I love 'em I really do, but this just isn't all that strong. There's a tune shortage here. They've covered it up well, but the killer to filler ratio is well below their average. Cloudberries rocks, mind.
  2. JoshK
    Nov 6, 2005
    10
    This album has captured my imagination. Only recently have I even heard of Super Furry Animals, and already they have become one of my favorite groups. Despite the fact that I like ther Guerilla album better, this album is still well deserving of a perfect score, for its grace and perfection. The type of music is just to my liking. A mixture of electronica and pop rock, with a very This album has captured my imagination. Only recently have I even heard of Super Furry Animals, and already they have become one of my favorite groups. Despite the fact that I like ther Guerilla album better, this album is still well deserving of a perfect score, for its grace and perfection. The type of music is just to my liking. A mixture of electronica and pop rock, with a very talented vocalist, who has, in my opinion, an extremely sexy voice. Expand
  3. PatrickK
    Sep 14, 2005
    9
    Is it just me, or does the metascore for this seem way too low? I mean, there are only four reviews under 80... and three 100's. Just saying. In any case, this is one heck of an album from one heck of a band. Seven discs later and they're still going strong. I really don't think there are many other bands so consistently good and inventive.
  4. Alex
    Feb 6, 2006
    10
    Another comment here asks "Are they ever going to make an album that is less than brilliant?" Unlikely.
  5. JimD
    Nov 24, 2005
    9
    Anyone who likes SFA and doesn't think this album is great should listen to it at least 20 times before giving it a rating. I wasn't all that impressed after the first couple of listens, but now I have to say its one of my favourite albums of all time. If it didn't have "The Horn" on it, it would be a perfect album.
  6. MrsCairnsy
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    What's not to like? Beautiful melodies with strange lyrics, multilayered sounds, diverse influences, a bit edgy, typically impeccable SFA quality control all add up to a wonderful album. The best bit? How good these songs sound live. SFA OK
  7. daxp
    Sep 16, 2005
    8
    this is a great album from one of those bands that can just do no wrong.
  8. Diego
    Sep 14, 2005
    7
    Not addictive as previous efforts but still pretty nice.
  9. Gruff
    Sep 15, 2005
    8
    A very good album, although there are 1 or 2 songs that are not great. Having said that, it's definitely a grower.
  10. NiklasP
    Sep 15, 2005
    8
    Very nice one, not at all as experimental as their first ones, but very a very thorough piece of work, filled with puns, hooks, great sound and a fantastic lead man followed by his amazing musical mates.
  11. kinopl
    Sep 17, 2005
    10
    best album of the year so far. Down beat melodies sweet and obscure- most sincere SFA album to date. Definitely their more coherent probably their best. metacsore low, pls revise it!
  12. LawrenceP
    Sep 17, 2005
    9
    A very strong release with some really unforgetable songs from one of the most solid bands of the last 10 years.
  13. ceciliat
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    there's a big research behind this album (expecially in the territory of classic and folk music), melodies u can't forget and lot of luv
  14. SteveW
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    As relaxed as Phantom Power but with enough interesting noises tucked into the mix to make it much more enjoyable. If your audio system can play SACD's seek out the hybrid SACD version (not for sale in the US, but you can order it from amazon co UK). The 5.1 mix is one of the best I've heard. (My favorite multichannel mix, if you need a measuring stick, is the Flaming Lips' As relaxed as Phantom Power but with enough interesting noises tucked into the mix to make it much more enjoyable. If your audio system can play SACD's seek out the hybrid SACD version (not for sale in the US, but you can order it from amazon co UK). The 5.1 mix is one of the best I've heard. (My favorite multichannel mix, if you need a measuring stick, is the Flaming Lips' uber-playful DVD-A of Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots). Expand
  15. JoeyL
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    This is probably the best album they've made. It's mature and absolutely beautiful.
  16. JulianR
    Nov 13, 2005
    6
    This album is merely pleasant. Like on Phantom Power, not much immediately stands out and grabs you. Definitely one of the band's lesser efforts, though still worthwhile. Only the opening track "Zoom!" has me pressing the repeat button. Perhaps their best ever song.
  17. BrianD
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Takes a few listens, but it is certainly worth the effort. Are they ever going to make an album that is less than brilliant?
  18. SamuelL
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    The poor reviews are depressingly short sighted. This is an album I could see persisting for decades to come. It takes a while to sink in, but that just makes the discovery of all the intricate melodies and new territories (for SFA) even more rewarding.
  19. RichardS
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    A work that washes over you rather than attacks you from all sides, but all the more beautiful for it. The perfect record for those late-night hours.
  20. BobX
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    SFA drop the silliness for a serious and beautiful album that really resonates. Those looking for their famous silliness will not like it much. Those who always saw that underneath the gimmicks there were serious and great songs will be dazzled at what is their most honest attempt at straighforward music. A very beautiful album and possibly a career of a very expansive career.
  21. matta
    Sep 14, 2005
    9
    The first couple of times that I went through Love Kraft I was disappointed a little. It sounded okay, but it seemed like the songs were a little underdeveloped and weren't as interesting overall as the Furries last two albums. Subsequent listens have proved that initial reaction wrong by a long shot. While this album is very different from both Phantom and Rings(a maybe just a notch The first couple of times that I went through Love Kraft I was disappointed a little. It sounded okay, but it seemed like the songs were a little underdeveloped and weren't as interesting overall as the Furries last two albums. Subsequent listens have proved that initial reaction wrong by a long shot. While this album is very different from both Phantom and Rings(a maybe just a notch below both), it is a beautiful album and is probably the Furries most personal album to date. Give it a few listens to grow and you won't be disappointed. Expand
  22. Shanus
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    Super Furries can do no wrong! Soon they will take over the world! Mwah-haha!
  23. Tom
    Sep 16, 2005
    9
    A return to form after the relatively boring Phantom Power.
  24. JohnG
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    You just can't predict them. Theres no point in even thinking about it. So don't, accept it. Just magic. Again.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. What could have easily ended up as a boring, stale record -- the sound of a band getting ready for 401(k) land -- is instead the peaceful sound of a goofy band being a little less silly.
  2. Perhaps it's a little disappointing on some level that Love Kraft is merely a very good Super Furry Animals [album], with few surprises outside of its alluring sleekness.
  3. Even by SFA’s lofty standards, the production on Love Kraft is little short of incredible.