Love, Pain & the whole crazy thing

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Nov 7, 2006
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CarolynG
    Apr 24, 2007
    10
    I love this CD, this is the very first time i have ever liked every single song on an album. It has everything u could look for in an album. I truly believe that this is Keith Urban finest piece of work. People who don't even like country have found this enjoyable. I hope that this album will win many awards, I'm not saying this because im a HUGE Keith Urban fan, I'm saying I love this CD, this is the very first time i have ever liked every single song on an album. It has everything u could look for in an album. I truly believe that this is Keith Urban finest piece of work. People who don't even like country have found this enjoyable. I hope that this album will win many awards, I'm not saying this because im a HUGE Keith Urban fan, I'm saying this because it truly is a work of art. Expand
  2. NikkiR
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    I think he is a wonderful singer/sonwriter/guitarist. I don't think it sounds pop at all...if anything rock mixed with country...I give it 10+
  3. JulieM
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    Keith just never stops reaching and coming up with gold!
  4. NickM
    Dec 9, 2006
    0
    He markets himself as country, but I fail to hear it on the album. There is not a hint of country left in keith urban. This album reminds me of that old Hanson group, except with slightly more sophisticated lyrics. If I wanted pop I would turn on the pop stations, I want it out of my country stations!!!!!!
  5. KatyD
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    Fabulous!!!! He is the most creative talented HOT artist ever!
  6. CandaceC
    Dec 3, 2006
    10
    I am a huge keith urban fan and I have been for 7 years. I love this CD and I love everyone of his CD's. I love every song on this CD.
  7. PamH
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    Love hearing Keith sing but....what happened to the country sound????? I agree that this sounded more like a love album for Nicole. Love you as an actress Nicole but leave the music to Keith please!!! He sounded so much better before you!!!!!
  8. KatyJ
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    Great album! Faster Car, Used to the Pain, and I Told You So are all really rhymic and interesting to listen to again and again. Raise the Barn is a classic country duet with Ronnie Dunn. Yes, Keith really got it right this time.
  9. AmyO
    Nov 27, 2006
    6
    I am a huge Keith fan and have been since he first appeared on the Country music scene. I have ever album he has done including The Ranch. I must say I was slightly disappointed by this CD. While the musicianship is still stellar I was very disappointed by the lyrics. They were too sickeningly sweet and lacking in the reality and depth displayed in Keith's previous albums. My I am a huge Keith fan and have been since he first appeared on the Country music scene. I have ever album he has done including The Ranch. I must say I was slightly disappointed by this CD. While the musicianship is still stellar I was very disappointed by the lyrics. They were too sickeningly sweet and lacking in the reality and depth displayed in Keith's previous albums. My favorite songs on the album were the ones not written by him which is completely the opposite of his previous albums. The duet with Ronnie Dunn is, however, amazing. I really loved that song. It was amazing. All in all I just got the feeling that this was a love album to Nicole and as sweet as that is, I think he overdid the sweetness. Expand
  10. TrishG
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    This CD is FANTASTIC. There is not one track that I don't love!!
  11. [Anonymous]
    Nov 22, 2006
    3
    Worst album to date...
  12. ToddW
    Nov 16, 2006
    3
    This guy is right in there with the Alan Jackson's and Toby Keith's of the world. Except at least this guy married Miss Right in Nicole Kidman. That being said, Urban's a marginal talent at best who is symptomatic of how terrible "country" music truly has become in our popular Sewerstream. But at least he's got the whole 21st Century Look going on - the scraggly beard, This guy is right in there with the Alan Jackson's and Toby Keith's of the world. Except at least this guy married Miss Right in Nicole Kidman. That being said, Urban's a marginal talent at best who is symptomatic of how terrible "country" music truly has become in our popular Sewerstream. But at least he's got the whole 21st Century Look going on - the scraggly beard, the unkempt hair, and the earring. Nicole, do us all a favor and find the nearest barber for your hubby. You're immaculate; he's just a no-talent slob. Expand
  13. ShawnH
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Amazing!!!
  14. RiddleB
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Awesome!!
  15. AngelH
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    This CD is quite possibly his best. I'm listening to it right now and I'm loving it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  16. MattD.
    Nov 14, 2006
    6
    By expanding his horizons a bit, he actually ends up sounding more middle-of-the-road than before. But there are a few standouts in the middle of the CD that make it worth purchasing if you have extra money.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. As a country album, a pop album, or something in between, Love, Pain, & The Whole Thing is simply bad.
  2. His lyrics may be doggedly unspecific, but ear-worming hooks and top-shelf instrumentation largely rectify that shortcoming.
  3. Love, Pain & the Whole Crazy Thing, will certainly gain Urban new fans with its safety net of sweet ballads and radio-friendly songs, yet the album still affords him the ability to have a little fun and take a few risks on a number of the tracks.