Love vs Money

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Mar 10, 2009
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 48
  2. Negative: 3 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JessieM
    Mar 20, 2009
    10
    This album is filled with great hooks, solid production all around and epic R&B-Pop songs that will truly grab your attention from start to finish. Love vs. Money is a early candidate for AOTY. It's that good, trust me.
  2. TomD
    Jun 10, 2009
    10
    Simply Great!
  3. fraserH
    Mar 13, 2009
    9
    I'm not normally one for R&B but this album is something special. Its really that good. There's a depth and feeling about it that you dont normally find in this genre.
  4. ChangY
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    I loved the first cd. This was a amusement ride in which you have to hold on because the song writing, production, and singing takes you out of this world. It advances on your senses and makes you re-approach your own relationship with caution. i personally think he's trying to give Ne-yo a run for his money.
  5. Kelly
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    This has to be the greastest album I'v heard in a long time. He has captivated me. I could not only hear, but also feel the hurt from the songs like love vs mone parts 1&2 fancy and Right Side of Your Brain. I am completely subdued by Mr.Yeah. This cd has grammys written all over it.
  6. JayT
    Mar 21, 2009
    10
    he did his thing on shit I LOVE THIS CD i play it from start to finish at least 3 times a day RADIO KILLLLAAAAAA!!!!
  7. JerrodL.
    Mar 12, 2009
    9
    Jarrell C. couldn't be more right! This album is sooooo good. I didn't see The-Dream delivering an album like this either, but there are so many highs on this album that it sounds like hit after hit.
  8. jarvist.
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    I agree this is the best male R&B album since confessions! I believe he has another cd scheduled for release later this year LOVEKING.
  9. Bandeed
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    I was also really surprised with this effort from The-Dream. When his first single hit the airwaves I was not a fan. And I didn't like his first album, but I heard "Sweat it Out" and "Walking on the Moon" weeks ago and wanted to check out this disc. This is the most cohesive, focused R&B disc, conceptually, since Confessions, but The-Dream delivers a much stronger disc than Usher I was also really surprised with this effort from The-Dream. When his first single hit the airwaves I was not a fan. And I didn't like his first album, but I heard "Sweat it Out" and "Walking on the Moon" weeks ago and wanted to check out this disc. This is the most cohesive, focused R&B disc, conceptually, since Confessions, but The-Dream delivers a much stronger disc than Usher did. The album isn't studded with hits, instead, it moves in wonderfully varied, rapid-fire, hook-driven arcs. The album's singles, at times simply serviceable but often splendid, come bundled in together at the beginning of the set, then Dream moves on to move complex, though equally pleasant territory in the album's core. The "Take You Home 2 My Mama/Love Vs Money/Love Vs Money Part 2" suite is one of 2009's top musical accomplishments thus far; I'll definitely have The-Dream on my radar from this point on. Expand
  10. LawrenceC
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    Dis cd is crazy hot like the way he uses the auto tones is outrageous this is like da best r&b cds of the year in ma eyes u cant get tired of the songs good job Dream.
  11. DatK
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    The-Dream did it again...I really like the whole album especially the Take You Home To My Mama/Love vs Money/Love vs Money n my fav songs are Rockin That Shit.Fancy.Right Side of My Brain n more.
  12. ChristianB
    Mar 29, 2009
    9
    Holy babymakin' music! Heavyweight start power collaborations certainly don't hurt. Good album all 'round. The Love vs Money dilemma is an interesting one to begin with. Highly recommended.
  13. PatchM
    Apr 29, 2009
    10
    The-Dream's best album.
  14. ClifC
    Apr 5, 2009
    4
    Well... If I were mean I would give this album a 2 or 3 just for the pleasure to see this album getting a lower average. Were critics paid to give such grades and reviews? Overproduced work. And Rolling Stone is f*c**d up, how on earth there's no bad songs in this album? Best track(s): Walkin' on the Moon.
  15. AnniceN
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    This album is the sh*t!!!! Love it, Love it, Love it! I am not a big R&B fan, but this is one of the best I have heard in a long time. I hope C. Milian's album is just as hot.
  16. BradJ
    May 6, 2009
    10
    This sophomore album is of the chain his first one was a classic hands down this one is awesome he is all I listen to.HOOKS OF AN ANGEL.
  17. Boo
    Sep 20, 2009
    9
    Excellent CD. I love to listen to it. Not better than Love/Hate but a fun CD nonetheless.
  18. JarrellC
    Mar 11, 2009
    9
    I did not think that The-Dream was capable of delivering an album this good, but he has. It is the best male R&B record since Usher's Confession. Definitely check out "Take You Home 2 My Mama," "Right Side of My Brain," "Fancy," and "Rockin that si**".
  19. Octo
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    Love Vs. Money is an amazing sophomore effort from The-Dream. I expect this album to be one of the biggest of 2009.
  20. MarkL
    Mar 14, 2009
    10
    hese are mostly commits from people who didn't truely listen to the first album. The first album was a perfect 10. But now since no one wanted to pay any attention ,(namely the grammys) The Dream is here to fight. If you liked this ablum you willl love the first one. Sadly he was so undercredited last year, but not this one. He brings back that melidoc sound to music that will have hese are mostly commits from people who didn't truely listen to the first album. The first album was a perfect 10. But now since no one wanted to pay any attention ,(namely the grammys) The Dream is here to fight. If you liked this ablum you willl love the first one. Sadly he was so undercredited last year, but not this one. He brings back that melidoc sound to music that will have you singing along before you know it. Expand
  21. AlexT.
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    Great CD can basically play it from start to finish his word play is amazing
  22. TomR
    Mar 17, 2009
    10
    Mark, I don't agree. I would think most of the people commenting listened to his first album. The-Dream isn't a popular artist; I'm sure they just didn't stumble on this album. With that said, I did listen to his first album and loved it, and I think it didn't get the attention it deserved. But Love vs. Money is much better than his first album. It's much Mark, I don't agree. I would think most of the people commenting listened to his first album. The-Dream isn't a popular artist; I'm sure they just didn't stumble on this album. With that said, I did listen to his first album and loved it, and I think it didn't get the attention it deserved. But Love vs. Money is much better than his first album. It's much more cohesive, his voice has gotten better, the productions are amazing...I could seriously go on for forever. I've grown to really appreciate "Fancy." I think that song may be his best work yet. Please listen to this album! Expand
  23. PabloL
    Mar 19, 2009
    6
    Obviously Entertainment Weekly was the only smart review.
  24. Ollie
    Mar 19, 2009
    10
    A strong candidate for album of the year. R&B hasn't been this good in ages.
  25. AlfredoA
    Mar 27, 2009
    10
    Album is breathtaking away love the beats and the hooks
  26. MaxV
    Apr 12, 2009
    9
    Phenomenal album, must admit i'm usually not the one to write a review, but i have since, this album is a must for r&b lovers both new and old.
  27. TimW.
    May 27, 2009
    5
    Wow, we have another mediocre and bland addition to the R&B scene. There's nothing original here. Step 1: Take some heavy synth-based backbeats. Step 2: Add some cliché lyrical concepts. Step 3: Throw in some vocals that have been run through all sorts of ridiculous production tricks. Step 4: Add some cameos by pop musicians we've heard way too much in the past decade. Wow, we have another mediocre and bland addition to the R&B scene. There's nothing original here. Step 1: Take some heavy synth-based backbeats. Step 2: Add some cliché lyrical concepts. Step 3: Throw in some vocals that have been run through all sorts of ridiculous production tricks. Step 4: Add some cameos by pop musicians we've heard way too much in the past decade. Step 5: Release album. These songs aren't particularly catchy or memorable. I'm disappointed. Expand
  28. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    Its a great album its actually not better than the first which I wonder why it is not on here the cd is so great with superb melodies and great storytelling cause his first cd was about love with a hint of hate but mostly just sex, love and having fun I rate this a 8 would have been excellent if he would not have had a bad ending to a good cd hint hint "Let Me See Your Booty"
  29. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    WOW Great music seriously brilliant masterpiece The-Dream never ever disappoints its a must BUY all his albums are good never released a bad album ever
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Ultimately, Love vs Money is Love/Hate's equal, stuffed with hooks, ceaselessly absorptive productions, and clever and often funny wordplay.
  2. The-Dream has definitely bypassed the sophomore slump with "Love Vs. Money." The songwriter-cum-singer pushes the envelope production-wise (incorporating more of his Prince influences, among others) as well as lyrically.
  3. Unlike his spotty debut, this is a seamless, brilliantly produced affair featuring his unmatched contemporary pop technique and songwriting craftsmanship.