Loveless [Reissue] - My Bloody Valentine
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 115
  2. Negative: 13 out of 115

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2012
    10
    It is perfect. It is 100% flawless. It is an idea perfected and left inevitably unbeatable, no matter how many bands have tried. It is a huge world filled with pink haze and almost painfully intense noises. At first it may seem too much, you may feel that it is overdoing the noise aspect. Then you'll slowly start to feel comfortable with the album. Then you'll never want to lose thisIt is perfect. It is 100% flawless. It is an idea perfected and left inevitably unbeatable, no matter how many bands have tried. It is a huge world filled with pink haze and almost painfully intense noises. At first it may seem too much, you may feel that it is overdoing the noise aspect. Then you'll slowly start to feel comfortable with the album. Then you'll never want to lose this album, you'll always want it there when loud, sweeping but an inevitably warm music experience is what you need. Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    The first time I listened to loveless, I was confused and a little angry at all the praise it had received when it was just an average alternative album. Then i listened to it again, and holy ****
  3. May 23, 2012
    10
    Have to agree with mazky. It is perfect. Behind the noise - maybe because of the noise -- it is one of the most beautiful recordings I've ever heard. I also don't find it a particularly harsh sound, after the initial shock of it wears off. In a way, this is the Velvet Underground of the 1990s -- in temrs of its musical radicalism and influence.
  4. TAE
    Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Ok to Mr. Elastic man don't even mention Hermin's Hermits in the same sentence as Lush. Hell Lush is right up there with the Beatles as a matter of fact and in my opinion even better than the Fab 4. Über hipsters are NOT Lush fans. Everyone knows hipsters beat off to this very record, a record not only inferior to Lush's early EPs but yes I'll even take Britpop era Lush over MBV.Ok to Mr. Elastic man don't even mention Hermin's Hermits in the same sentence as Lush. Hell Lush is right up there with the Beatles as a matter of fact and in my opinion even better than the Fab 4. Über hipsters are NOT Lush fans. Everyone knows hipsters beat off to this very record, a record not only inferior to Lush's early EPs but yes I'll even take Britpop era Lush over MBV. Yup I said it. Now accuse ME of being a hipster. Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2012
    3
    Having grown up in the 90's, loving 90's music, and then years later seeing "Best of the90's" lists with this album on it. I never heard of it before. Never listened to it before. I wanted to like it. And didn't like it all. I can see how this album may have inspired others. But it doesn't inspire me.
  6. May 18, 2012
    9
    One of the most influential albums of the 90's. It's a great album and one that everyone should hear. Don't think it's quite flawless though. You have to appreciate what Kevin Shields achieved here but the album could have done with another one or two more structured tracks like "When You Sleep". The sound on the resissue is amazing although I find it very hard to distinguish between theOne of the most influential albums of the 90's. It's a great album and one that everyone should hear. Don't think it's quite flawless though. You have to appreciate what Kevin Shields achieved here but the album could have done with another one or two more structured tracks like "When You Sleep". The sound on the resissue is amazing although I find it very hard to distinguish between the two discs included. They both sound the same to my untrained ear. Collapse
  7. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    The best album of all time??, sometimes I believe it so. I've listened to tons of bands, albums, and songs but in the end it all comes back to Loveless.
  8. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    Loveless is not for the faint of heart as based on the reviews it seems to be one of the most polarizing albums of all time. The album is an absolute classic, easily one of the top 10 alternative records of all time as there is not a bad song on the album. Additionally, it is album that I continue to listen to frequently and it has not lost its charm. The band defined the shoegazerLoveless is not for the faint of heart as based on the reviews it seems to be one of the most polarizing albums of all time. The album is an absolute classic, easily one of the top 10 alternative records of all time as there is not a bad song on the album. Additionally, it is album that I continue to listen to frequently and it has not lost its charm. The band defined the shoegazer movement along with Jesus and Mary Chain, Lush and Slowdive. Expand
  9. Aug 6, 2012
    0
    Pretentious hipster garbage. And that's all that can really be said about this album (unfortunately there's a onehundredfifty character minimum). **** **** AND DICKS
  10. Jun 14, 2012
    3
    There were better "shoe gazer" bands out there such as the early Lush EPs and more recently the intriguing neo-shoe gaze band Serena-Maneesh. For me this was one of the most overrated albums of the 90s' saturated with saccharine melodies and arrangement whose creative edginess only rarely surfaced.
  11. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    What else can you say about Loveless? It is a perfect album, and only one album (OK Computer) can ever compare. Every song on Loveless is beautiful and mesmerizing, and none of the songs ever get old. It demands multiple listens to truly appreciate it's beauty. You have to listen to this album, it is a must, do not miss this, you will regret.
  12. May 31, 2012
    9
    A Perfect Bland Of Rock!
    Amazing Vocals And A Amazing Album
    Perfect Combo Of Vocals And Music..
  13. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    Trying to give a fresh perspective on an ubiquitous album such as "Loveless" is as futile as trying to win the lottery. Basically everything that can be written about this album has. It has had twenty-one years to fester in conversations and mythos, and at the end of the day your not really listening to the album, but the hyperbole people have heaped upon this object. As someone who isTrying to give a fresh perspective on an ubiquitous album such as "Loveless" is as futile as trying to win the lottery. Basically everything that can be written about this album has. It has had twenty-one years to fester in conversations and mythos, and at the end of the day your not really listening to the album, but the hyperbole people have heaped upon this object. As someone who is joining the party over twenty years late I can assure people with doubts of the products quality that this album not only lives up to the hype, but exceeds it. It really is a sound like I have never heard before. It is so loud and obnoxious that throughout the first listen it taxes and repulses you, but I implore you not to give up. If you take your time and listen to it repeatedly the sound will slowly unravel and you'll see the genius of this album. It has been described by critics as a battle between sound and noise, but the album is not unruly or effusive; it's production is as tight as any Radiohead album, and the music's quality easily exceeds their many legendary peers in the nineties. It's rare to find something, let alone an album, that can live up to it's extraordinary hype, but Loveless is one of the rare things that can. I don't want to spoil the album because as a virgin listener you will want to try and go in blank and through the whole thing in one listen. This is easily one of the best albums of the nineties, not only for the amazing music, but for its legendary status and indie appeal that has not faltered yet. If you haven't listened to this album yet you owe it to yourself to give it a try. This will capture your attention just as much as it did mine. Expand
  14. Jun 18, 2012
    0
    This is a great album, not quite one of my favorites though, it did inspire much of what I listen to, but does it hold up? sort of... I guess? I prefer the stuff that it inspired really... 8/10 A classic from the 90's, along with Aeroplane, OK Computer, and Slanted and Enchanted, but I think I like those albums better.
  15. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Just reacquainted myself with this album and have to agree with others that it is perfect. The swirling ebb and flow of the distorted guitars with the haunting vocals is timeless and beautiful. There is a subtlety and parsimony that is brave and not heard on similar ventures at the time such as the Cocteau Twins. Truly magnificent.
  16. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Loveless is the apex of music created in the indie scene from the early - mid 80s through to the early 90s. It combined the noise of JAMC with the Cocteau Twins and created something totally new. It is actually beyond criticism since it is so important. It astonishes me that someone say that the early Lush EPs were better than this. That is like saying that Heman's Hermits were better thanLoveless is the apex of music created in the indie scene from the early - mid 80s through to the early 90s. It combined the noise of JAMC with the Cocteau Twins and created something totally new. It is actually beyond criticism since it is so important. It astonishes me that someone say that the early Lush EPs were better than this. That is like saying that Heman's Hermits were better than The Beatles. To me that statement is either just being contrarian to appear uber cool or just ignorant. My Bloody Valentine probably created the Shoegazing scene with Isn't Anything and ended it with Loveless. After all, where do you go after Loveless? Expand
  17. Oct 27, 2012
    10
    Probably the best album in music history after Revolver. There are no words to say about this. Brainless people, go listen to Nirvana and stay away.
  18. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Loveless is the best record to come out of 1991. Better than Nevermind, better than Screamadelica, better than Blue Lines. It's languid, creamy, fluid and dreamy sound is simply gorgeous and the song-writing is beautiful. The guitar playing dabbles in weird tunings, and a sound slathered in distortion and reverb. It sounds like honey tastes. Overall, it's one of the best records ever.
  19. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    Inspiring. Listened to this 20 years after its release, and it sounds fresher than most albums released nowadays. A truly well-preserved sound that will last generations.
  20. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    Perfection! its the kind of music that gets you in your Guts! you can't explain. its a band with the same influence as Joy Division, Or The Rolling Stones...
  21. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    Loveless is one of the best records of the 1990s and the crowning achievement of the shoegazing genre. For those unfamiliar with My Bloody Valentine's sound, think Sonic Youth distorted guitars and solos and Cocteau Twins ethereality and transience both mixed into one package. The tremolo guitars cake these beautiful songs into a bizarrely soothing, all-enveloping layer of vibratingLoveless is one of the best records of the 1990s and the crowning achievement of the shoegazing genre. For those unfamiliar with My Bloody Valentine's sound, think Sonic Youth distorted guitars and solos and Cocteau Twins ethereality and transience both mixed into one package. The tremolo guitars cake these beautiful songs into a bizarrely soothing, all-enveloping layer of vibrating sound, such that the voices of Butcher and Shields become but murmurs in the mix, and only a few of the drummer's beats rise out from the mist. But when they do, they create something truly captivating, "Sometimes" is a bewitching 5-minute trance that combines a gentle acoustic strum with the heavier bed of distorted melody, "Blown a Wish" is a sonic seduction, "Soon" is a glorious closer, and "Only Shallow" was a game-changing rock song whose guitar surge in the chorus changed rock music forever. The only flaw is "Touched" a short experiment that feels out of place and serves no purpose. Also, the two reissue discs sound pretty much the same the first one is a touch louder so put that one in your MP3 player. Expand
  22. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    Loveless is My Bloody Valentine at their most narcotic and seductive, being less physical and aggressive than their previous album Isn't Anything. At times it is hard to believe actual people were responsible for the sounds produced on Loveless, there's a bloodless almost ghostly quality to it. This would be My Bloody Valentine's final album until the release of m b v on an unsuspectingLoveless is My Bloody Valentine at their most narcotic and seductive, being less physical and aggressive than their previous album Isn't Anything. At times it is hard to believe actual people were responsible for the sounds produced on Loveless, there's a bloodless almost ghostly quality to it. This would be My Bloody Valentine's final album until the release of m b v on an unsuspecting music scene in 2013 to much acclaim. While m b v is a fine album I can't escape the feeling that it's more of the same and although I love Loveless I don't want Loveless part two. I love it too much. Expand
  23. Feb 26, 2014
    10
    Absolute Adoration; a sound that will forever be imitated but never surpassed. Butcher's blending of vocals with Shields perfectionist compositions walk a fine line between sound and music only to kick it down for aural transcendence. This is what music should be about.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 22, 2012
    80
    How, exactly, do you follow an album like Loveless? It's a question that pop has yet to answer. [Jun 2012, p.119]
  2. May 31, 2012
    100
    Loveless holds it own as one of the great rock albums, period. [Jun 2012, p.90]
  3. 60
    This 1991 album is the best of three reissues of their work – also available are their debut, Isn't Anything, and a 2CD compilation of outtakes and EPs.