Loyalty To Loyalty

  • Record Label: Downtown
  • Release Date: Sep 23, 2008
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonB.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    Their first album had several good songs. But this one has an overall structural and artistic integrity that the first one lacked. It's heavier on the drums and bass and generally has a more melancholly feel. This is a really compelling, really excellent album. These guys are artists in the truest sense.
  2. SpencerC.
    Oct 8, 2008
    10
    solid follow up. sure, it's a bit hard to listen to at first but it grows on you if you were a fan of robbers and cowards, check it out.
  3. ChrisS.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    This year has been full of very promising albums. First there was Death Cab's Narrow Stairs, and then there was Coldplay's Viva La Vida, among many others. I really liked both of those album's, especially Narrow Stairs, but they did not live up to their hype. At least not to their fullest. I have been waiting for this album for two years. Robbers and Cowards was amazing, This year has been full of very promising albums. First there was Death Cab's Narrow Stairs, and then there was Coldplay's Viva La Vida, among many others. I really liked both of those album's, especially Narrow Stairs, but they did not live up to their hype. At least not to their fullest. I have been waiting for this album for two years. Robbers and Cowards was amazing, and definatley had a unique sound. Loyalty to Loyalty has that same unique sound, but at something little extra. I love the bluesy roots in the album, and their lyrics have evolved into something worth talking about. The Cold War Kids are one album away from an instant classic with Loyalty to Loyalty. Don't judge the album by Something is Not Right With Me. Expand
  4. KevinM.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    Attention to lyrics and detail. They bring meaning back to music. Like Robbers and Cowards, a perfect 10 in my book.
  5. jeffj
    May 9, 2009
    9
    At first this album struck me as not as catchy and hook-heavy as their previous album but, I like that. A few listens allows the album to soak into you. Granted, there are a couple low points but, overall, this is an original album among the common cookie cutter albums that are abound. Also, Chris H. can I borrow your dictionary? Does it contain the words "verbose" or "pretentious?"
  6. NikolasP.
    Sep 27, 2008
    9
    I usually tend to agree when an album gets largely unfavorably or mediocre reviews, but I find myself a bit confused at the lower spectrum reviews for this one. I realize I'm going out on a ledge saying this so soon, but I really believe the album will be considered underrated in the future. The band shows great advancement in musicianship and a welcome sense of risk in their I usually tend to agree when an album gets largely unfavorably or mediocre reviews, but I find myself a bit confused at the lower spectrum reviews for this one. I realize I'm going out on a ledge saying this so soon, but I really believe the album will be considered underrated in the future. The band shows great advancement in musicianship and a welcome sense of risk in their songs' structures. It is not as immediate as "Robbers," obviously, but there's something to be said for albums that take their time to invade you. I thoroughly enjoy this album, I am very pleased with the band, and I hope the critics' mostly lukewarm reception to the new album doesn't effect you from giving it a chance. Expand
  7. MarkP
    Dec 18, 2008
    9
    Not as appealing as Robbers and Cowards at first but after a few listens, Loyalty to Loyalty defines Cold War Kids as the great Soul Rockers that they are.
  8. MatthewA.
    Oct 1, 2008
    8
    It took me about a week to get past the production, but once I adjusted, this album has been in my earphones nonstop. It is a different in sound from last album; less sparce, cleaner, less obvious hooks even. But the songwriting is solid, and while I wouldn't classify it as a pop album, the songs have been in my head when I wake every morning. Love it.
  9. JakeM.
    Oct 23, 2008
    8
    Took me a while to to get into it; but after quite a few listens I hear the simple beauty and fun of these songs. No great songs, many good ones, and maybe only one bad one (Welcome to the Occupation)
  10. LukeJ.
    Sep 25, 2008
    7
    The vocals can hang a bit, and the instrumentation isn't anything compared to Robbers and Cowards, but the it passes the sophomore album hurdle.
  11. Jul 4, 2011
    7
    The album follows that great texture from the first record, as well as their crude sound adjacent to a good songwriting. But the pro is also a con; It is like they took all the songs that they did not put into Robbers and Cowards and made an album out of them. While it is simply neat - and fairly better than their successor - Loyalty to Loyalty should have shown signs of maturity of theThe album follows that great texture from the first record, as well as their crude sound adjacent to a good songwriting. But the pro is also a con; It is like they took all the songs that they did not put into Robbers and Cowards and made an album out of them. While it is simply neat - and fairly better than their successor - Loyalty to Loyalty should have shown signs of maturity of the band's genuine sound. The uniqueness that makes them stand above other indie quartets of our time. Expand
  12. Aaron
    Sep 23, 2008
    4
    The only songs I can stand to listen to on this album are Revelry and I've Seen Enough. CWK were supposedly over-hyped in '06, and I guess it's true - they've pretty much fallen flat on their faces with this second release.
  13. ChrisH.
    Oct 2, 2008
    2
    I normally don't make hyperbolic statements such as this, but the reviewers above aren't going far enough to warn the listener how egregious this album is and how much distance you should put between yourself and it. Loyalty to Loyalty barely passes as music. It is completely unfocused, amateur, underdone, half-baked schlock! The singing is amelodic and the songwriting is I normally don't make hyperbolic statements such as this, but the reviewers above aren't going far enough to warn the listener how egregious this album is and how much distance you should put between yourself and it. Loyalty to Loyalty barely passes as music. It is completely unfocused, amateur, underdone, half-baked schlock! The singing is amelodic and the songwriting is completely lacking any discernible structure. I honestly cannot believe that this abysmal, shameful, unforgivable, reprehensible pile of sounds was actually recorded, mixed, mastered, and released. In total sincerity: this insulting piece of detritus must be buried under the earth and never be spoken of again if we believe at all in humanity. Absolutely wretched! Expand
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Almost in defiance of poor sales and cult following, CWK and their charming second album embody everything you hoped music might be.
  2. Cold War Kids attack their songs with unusual intensity, infusing even the most noirish, unsettling songs--fractured narratives about hipster bohemia and suicide--with a feeling of enchantment.
  3. Nathan Willett remains a technically proficient singer, with hints of Jeff Buckley, but much like his band's music, his voice is too drearily clean-cut to deliver a true emotional punch.