• Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: May 6, 2014
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 6, 2014
    8
    Even if the new horror's album is not their best and bring nothing new, unlike Primary Colours or skying, it is a great album. It won't change music but it will be a pleasure to listen to it.
    buy it ? Only if you are a Horrors's fan, otherwise listen to it online before buying it.
  2. May 6, 2014
    7
    I think they took a step back with this album. However, this is a pretty good album and nice addition to their catalog. There are some nice dreamy, electronic based songs on here. The Horrors expand on the dreamy, sonic textures that they displayed in Skying. This album reminds me of something that would've been huge in the end of the 90's or early 00's. Good album with a few great tracks,I think they took a step back with this album. However, this is a pretty good album and nice addition to their catalog. There are some nice dreamy, electronic based songs on here. The Horrors expand on the dreamy, sonic textures that they displayed in Skying. This album reminds me of something that would've been huge in the end of the 90's or early 00's. Good album with a few great tracks, if you're a fan of the Horrors, pick it up, you'll like it. Expand
  3. May 6, 2014
    5
    Well I don't hate it but I don't think it's their best effort. I think they peaked with 'Primary Colours' in terms of a consolidating their influences into one cohesive sound. 'Skying' was an experimental foray into synths and dream layers and now 'Luminous' is more of the same. I mean it's well produced and alright. But there's not much here. No conviction or energy or urgency. Just kinWell I don't hate it but I don't think it's their best effort. I think they peaked with 'Primary Colours' in terms of a consolidating their influences into one cohesive sound. 'Skying' was an experimental foray into synths and dream layers and now 'Luminous' is more of the same. I mean it's well produced and alright. But there's not much here. No conviction or energy or urgency. Just kin of rambles along glumly. Expand
  4. May 6, 2014
    3
    As a fan of this bands output since 2006 I have to say that their most recent output is conservative and dull at best and mind numbingly overrated at worst. We get it - the psych thing is hot right now and you can do it. Move one now. What happened to the punk aggression and suave English energy? 'Luminous' finds a track and sticks to it for 10 tracks that all sound exactly the same. WorseAs a fan of this bands output since 2006 I have to say that their most recent output is conservative and dull at best and mind numbingly overrated at worst. We get it - the psych thing is hot right now and you can do it. Move one now. What happened to the punk aggression and suave English energy? 'Luminous' finds a track and sticks to it for 10 tracks that all sound exactly the same. Worse thank 'Skying' (which was mildly interesting) this band should either find a new groove or give up. Expand
  5. May 6, 2014
    8
    This is a more expansive and stretching effort than 2011's 'Skying'. The direction that was hinted at on their previous album has been developed further with synthesisers very much to the fore. The songs are longer, with the introductions more leading and grandiose. The mid 80s Simple Minds that the band had previously explored on 'Still Life' is taken further on a number of tracks mostThis is a more expansive and stretching effort than 2011's 'Skying'. The direction that was hinted at on their previous album has been developed further with synthesisers very much to the fore. The songs are longer, with the introductions more leading and grandiose. The mid 80s Simple Minds that the band had previously explored on 'Still Life' is taken further on a number of tracks most clearly on 'So now you know'. This album has substance and depth and will stand strong in the arenas around the country they are surely soon to fill. Expand
  6. May 6, 2014
    1
    WTF happened to The Horrors??? This is the worst crap I've heard since people were raving about Washed Out's Paracosm! ENOUGH WITH THE PSYCHEDELIC STUFF ALREADY!!!! ITS ALL SOUNDS THE F****NG SAME!?! It's like Zoolander's pose that everyone loves - it's all the same!!! I feel like I'm taking crazy pills here!?
  7. May 9, 2014
    10
    I love the dreamy synth-goth/pop of this Horror's new album. I especially love "So Now You Know," "I See You" and "Change Your Mind." The rest of the album is so good and fun - music I can either chill to or play at one of my parties! The Horrors are still at the top of their game; and yes, despite what some other negative critiques or opinions are of this album, I am a fan so it's allI love the dreamy synth-goth/pop of this Horror's new album. I especially love "So Now You Know," "I See You" and "Change Your Mind." The rest of the album is so good and fun - music I can either chill to or play at one of my parties! The Horrors are still at the top of their game; and yes, despite what some other negative critiques or opinions are of this album, I am a fan so it's all good by me. No one sounds like them. This album provides some nice variety from their previous excellent album Skying. Totally belongs in every goth-pop fan's collection, and go see The Horrors live when they come to a stage near you! It's a very cool and fun experience, and their great music will provide a unique and fun sound/visual experience for you! Expand
  8. May 10, 2014
    10
    This album is fantastic, although on first listen, I was a bit puzzled, I am now on my 4th play through, and it's my favourite album since Skying. They have taken further the Simple Minds vibes, but added some MBV effects, what sound like sequenced drum beats and really gone to town with the tune within a tune thing they do so well.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. May 20, 2014
    80
    It's genuinely exciting to think where The Horrors might go from here. [Jun 2014, p.105]
  2. May 19, 2014
    75
    The Horrors seem to have found themselves yet another niche writing the sorts of delectable psychedelic pop jams that are destined to see them crowd festival stages for decades to come. [No. 109, p.57]
  3. May 15, 2014
    60
    Though songs including the shimmering So Now You Know and the Manuel Gottsching-like In And Out Of Sight maintain a stirring balance of shimmying pop appeal and experimentation, elsewhere the momentum is compromised and peaks are obscured. [Jun 2014, p.88]