Lynn Teeter Flower

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MattD.
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    Um, what is NOW Magazine talking about? If you can't be fair, don't review the CD. This CD is lighter on the electronics than 11:11 is, but that works in its favor, because it doesn't overwhelm her folk, pop, and blues stylings. And her voice sounds as seductive as ever.
  2. HaraldurG
    Apr 14, 2007
    8
    I had never heard of this girl!...I was shopping in Waterloo Records in Austin, Texas when I heard her album, they were playing it in the store and I had only heard one song when I thought I just had to buy this album! This is a wonderful album!
  3. JimmyT
    Mar 15, 2007
    1
    we've finally reached the point where 90s indie rockers have gone completely MOR.
  4. jw
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    (8.5) High points include "Good Start," "Smile and Wave," and the inexplicable but excellent "Irish Goodbye." But the absolute show-stopper is the unadorned "Clean Getaway," one of my favorite songs of the year.
  5. JasonO
    Mar 17, 2007
    8
    Another great melancholic indie-pop album, topped by Maria Taylor's gorgeous husky voice!
  6. JamesG.
    Mar 22, 2007
    6
    Pretty weak. There are some nice moments but it seems thrown together. Disappointing. And what's up with the rap on "Irish Goodbye"? I almost crashed my car when I heard it first.
  7. ChristineR
    Mar 29, 2007
    6
    The album's got its moments but I'm afraid it's not as good as her first effort. It has great songs but you don't want to listen to it from start to finish. A couple of tracks could have been left on the cutting board and the album would have been stronger. And is it me or did her voice change a lot? Like, easy does it.
  8. KLee
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    Really quite good, a bit more focused and coherent than her debut.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Alternative Press
    70
    Lynn Teeter Flower finds Taylor shaving away some of the layers from her solo debut 11:11 for more subtle ornamentation and experimentation. [Apr 2007, p.182]
  2. Rolling Stone
    60
    It'd be nice if Taylor went easier on the introspection. [8 Mar 2007, p.86]
  3. Taylor's attraction lies in her ability to switch herself effortlessly between vastly different styles.