Make Up The Breakdown

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Oct 8, 2002
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 2 out of 24

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EdwardC
    Apr 29, 2003
    8
    Nothing shocking or new about it but an excellent album. Music from the good end of the 'emo' spectrum.
  2. AshlieW.
    Aug 3, 2007
    10
    I rate this album a 10 because it never gets old and I can listen to it over and over without ever getting tired of it. It is catchy and melodic, with fun tunes so no matter who you are, you'll want to sing along and maybe even dance some. I cannot even pick a favorite from this album, mostly because every song is so fun and unique and has a different reason for being well-liked. I rate this album a 10 because it never gets old and I can listen to it over and over without ever getting tired of it. It is catchy and melodic, with fun tunes so no matter who you are, you'll want to sing along and maybe even dance some. I cannot even pick a favorite from this album, mostly because every song is so fun and unique and has a different reason for being well-liked. Talk to me, Dance with me will have you dancing and smiling with great instrumental solos and everything. Oh Goddamnit is a fun song that is many fans' favorite song. All in alll the album is great, I would recommend it to all over my friends and peers and it makes me happy to hear that someone new is listening to it! Expand
  3. patw
    Nov 14, 2002
    1
    Glass Tiger and J Geils Band did boring music so much better than this, spend less time on the hair and more time at your cashier jobs.
  4. jao
    Feb 26, 2005
    9
    this album consumed me for 2 months.
  5. briana.
    May 29, 2005
    0
    it sucked so bad i threw it out the window
  6. MeganS
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    Make Up The Breakdown is amazing. Every song is dangerously catchy, and the lyrics are so witty. Each song is very different, and many have several different parts, so the listener is never bored. I can't say what the highlights of this album are, because every song is equally incredible. You'll want to dance when listening to this. This is definently worth your money, and if Make Up The Breakdown is amazing. Every song is dangerously catchy, and the lyrics are so witty. Each song is very different, and many have several different parts, so the listener is never bored. I can't say what the highlights of this album are, because every song is equally incredible. You'll want to dance when listening to this. This is definently worth your money, and if you like it, also check out Hot Hot Heat's EP Knock Knock Knock. Expand
  7. DingBat
    Nov 15, 2002
    7
    Second worst band name ever.
  8. BrandonB
    Nov 29, 2002
    9
    Sure it's not sex, drugs or violence; but would you honestly use that as your judgement call for a "great album". Great lyrics, original guitar, and wonderfully constructed or rather deconstructed songs; more than fun, it's really- well done fun.
  9. Chris
    Oct 27, 2002
    10
    Perfect!
  10. SalC.
    Oct 28, 2002
    10
    get this fucking album... it's really fun.
  11. nono
    Oct 28, 2002
    10
    the best.
  12. shannonh
    Dec 9, 2002
    10
    how much energy do you want the same four guys to put forth with in five months. I like this album even more than the EP.
  13. [Anonymoous]
    May 14, 2003
    8
    right, so it's a horrible name and cover. but the music itself is quite probably most beautiful summer pop album you'll hear this year. enjoy "make up the breakdown", it's worth it.
  14. TimB
    Jul 16, 2003
    6
    There's nothing wrong with this album, but I can't shake the feeling that I'm listening to a slightly cooler version of Sugar Ray. I can't verbalize any complaints other than that it doesn't leave me with anything I didn't have before I heard it -- it's a vague combination of "I've heard this before" and "I haven't quite heard this before, but There's nothing wrong with this album, but I can't shake the feeling that I'm listening to a slightly cooler version of Sugar Ray. I can't verbalize any complaints other than that it doesn't leave me with anything I didn't have before I heard it -- it's a vague combination of "I've heard this before" and "I haven't quite heard this before, but who cares?". It's fun listening but (to me) largely uninspired and bound for only a few repeat visits to the CD player in the coming years. Is it bad music? Absolutely not. I just haven't yet made it through the entire album without turning to something a bit more substantial. Expand
  15. MichaelD
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    Very well done. Can't wait for their next album.
  16. KessT
    Mar 26, 2005
    8
    This was a very entertaining and overall happy album. It is a major change from all of the dark and depressing music that has been popular these days. If you are looking for something to have fun with check it out. It is definitly worth it.
  17. benb
    Nov 18, 2002
    8
    Its a great record, but I was slightly let down it didnt have the edge from the "knock, knock, knock EP. I recommend getting both records. The EP for Edge and the LP for pop fun
  18. MandyM
    Dec 29, 2002
    10
    Um, I havent bought the album yet, but the video for "Bandaages" is great. One question seems to be n my mind lately- what the hell is he saying? lol, i like it. he is pretty hot, whoever he is...
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Breakdown is gleeful, digestible, and eminently enjoyable.
  2. 60
    When on their game -- about two-thirds of this to-the-point-set -- Hot Hot Heat are too breathlessly enjoyable to refuse. [Apr 2003, p.98]
  3. It's a great way to start off a career.