Me & Mr Johnson - Eric Clapton
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. No matter the song, from the stumbling “Me And The Devil Blues” to the murmuring “Come On In My Kitchen,” Me And Mr. Johnson sounds rehearsed and controlled.
  2. A heartfelt tribute that's among Clapton's most purely enjoyable albums.
  3. Clapton pays broad tribute to Johnson as a composer and public-domain synthesist.
  4. In its reverential tone and the sheer joy expressed by Clapton and the all-star collection of session men joining him, the album proves utterly incongruous with the form it champions.
  5. The originals are still the best, but this is pretty fly for a white guy.
  6. Instead of the traditional bluesman, we're given the much less exciting elder statesman. Instead of worrying about his soul, his next drink, or his next lay, Clapton sounds like he's wondering if his Lexus is parked in an okay area.
  7. 80
    He doesn't have that doomed, hellhound-on-my-trail intensity that makes Johnson's recordings so spooky. But, at 58, he sounds like a man who has faced down more than a few canine devils of his own. [Apr 2004, p.102]
  8. 70
    Innovative? No. Impeccable? Yes. [Apr 2004, p.114]
  9. 60
    His guitar reinvigorates age-old lines on neat and tidy arrangements, but he's even busier exploring the limited expressive range of his singing voice. [May 2004, p.119]
  10. Instead of the darkness and foreboding that infects Johnson's original '30s recordings, we get a thoroughly gentrified version of the blues. [May 2004, p.100]
  11. Clapton sounds reinvigorated in these 14 songs. [2 Apr 2004, p.65]
  12. [He] attacks these songs with passion, intelligence, and a refreshing lack of blues-rock pretense.
  13. It comes across as unnecessarily tame.
User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 4 out of 6
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    Largement sous-noté, cet album est un must si vous aimez le blues. Clapton rend hommage à son modèle Robert Johnson, la légende du blues. Eric Clapton nous démontre qu'il est aussi un God à la guitare accoustique. Remarquables interpretations de Me and the devil, Red hot, et tant d'autres Full Review »
  2. JonH
    Jun 5, 2004
    2
    I'm so tired of these blues tributes that take out all the soul of the originals, pass on this.
  3. DonS
    Jun 3, 2004
    2
    In a word: Disappointing. E.C. is an artist in his own right. But once again, as with his Muddy Waters numbers in "From the Cradle," his reverance for the original artist seems to leave his own creativity mute and for that the music suffers. Me & Mr Johnson might be fine as a museum recital. But Robert Johnson just isn't at home there. Hey E.C., how about doin' a bit of a boozer and trying these songs one more time! Full Review »