Mic Tyson - Sean Price
Mic Tyson Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third full-length studio release from the Brooklyn rapper includes such guests and producers as Pharoahe Monch, The Alchemist, 9th Wonder, and Khrysis.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    Young rappers take notice: you want to sound like this when you get older.
  2. Nov 15, 2012
    You won't find much in the way of a message on Mic Tyson (closest thing might be on the driving "Pyrex": "wake up, all that crack and the street talk/is made up like Jack & The Beanstalk"), but you will find a raw rap sound seldom heard in these calloused days
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    Sean Price has rarely if ever lost a step and Mic Tyson is not going to be the time that he did.
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    It's a matter of execution, and in that regard, fans will have little to complain about.
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    Price's material-starved fans are craving his words more than beats, so don't call it a comeback but a wicked, wordy return.
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    These verses could've fit on any of his past records or mixtapes. But the production on Mic Tyson ties them together nicely.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    Witty, gritty punchlines abound, maintaining the energy level even on those tracks where the beats are somewhat routine. [Feb 2013, p.103]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    This gets a perfect score from me me because this is a classic album by a classic emcee. One of the best emcees in the game, with a 20 year career ranging with Boot Camp Clik, Heltak Skeltah, and Super group Random Axe, Sean Price is pushing the limits as always. In a good way! Not a weak Moment on this element. Excellent delivery, excellent lyrical flow, excellent production. Its a flawless album and a must have. This is an example of what Hip Hop Should Be! Collapse