Mine Is Yours - Cold War Kids
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 4 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 16, 2011
    6
    As a huge fan of Loyalty and their debut, I was very disappointed by this album. I don't mind the Kings of Leon big sound...but that's the Kings of Leon of sound. The producer of this album is the same one who gave the Kings their new sound...and for some reason, he's trying to force it on the CWK. And that's how the album sounds...forced. After multiple listens, I've learned to not mind it...but I don't love it. Expand
  2. Feb 13, 2011
    7
    I've never been that fond of CWK but their new single off this album, "Louder Than Ever," has been playing on the local radio quite a lot and I just really like the sound of that single song. The whole CD doesn't sound like it but it's not a bad album, just not something I'm going to obsess over - I would see them live though. It's a very low key, indie sound that would probably sound best on vinyl or in concert. Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2011
    9
    Loving this album. I miss the harder songs of the earlier days but I still hear it back there a little. Nice to hear a little change. Bands must evolve. Seems to me the critics are judging this album way too much on the past and not on the content alone.
  4. Feb 3, 2011
    2
    If you have enjoyed the last 2 albums by Kings of Leon, then you'll probably find pleasure in this as well. Cold War Kids are not a bad band and that's why this album is so disappointing.
  5. Feb 2, 2011
    0
    If you're going to have your producer recreate all the same sounds as the last record he produced, you should probably write some killer hooks to set you apart. Instead, this album just wreaks of KoL's new arena / beach frat stench, leaving behind the sonic magic of Cold War Kids' past records. Horribly boring sounds. God awful lyrics. Maybe they can all buy a big house and a hummer now- I'll rent a bulldozer to destroy this record. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What´s the matter with media? Mine is Yours is a good album, with a good songs. The others Cold War Kids album are great too. But this album is better than others. Purchase offsets... Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2011
    2
    What the hell happened?!?! I mean.......seriously, what the hell just happened?!?!? This can't be the Cold War Kids. This is the freaking Kings of Leon with a better singer. Awful. Pantently, mesmerizingly, stupefyingly awful. Someone ship this producer off to the south Pacific or something. He's ruining perfectly good bands.
  8. Jan 28, 2011
    9
    This was the most anticipated album to start 2011 and it didn't disappoint me at all. I wouldn't say that this album is necessarily perfect, but they have polished their angst on this record. It is very reminiscent of their previous albums and that's exactly what I was looking for. If you love the Cold War Kids, I'm sure you'll love this album.
  9. Jan 27, 2011
    6
    Ok. First off, when I was first listening to this album, I could hardly believe it was the Cold War Kids. It sounded too clean, too refined. I was used to their characteristic clutter and bluesy feel. It sounds too mainstream. It's not growing on me either. Royal Blue, Bulldozer, Out of the Wilderness, Cold Toes on the Cold Floor, and Don't Look Down at Me....are all ok, but it doesn't sound like the right sound that this band should be making. This is the sound of a band that is trying too hard. I am really disappointed. Still, it's a solid listen, just true fans should not imagine the Cold War Kids as the artist to these mediocre songs. Expand
  10. Jan 27, 2011
    7
    Really think the critics are being a little harsh on the CWK's latest. It's actually really good in my opinion. I mean, it's not nearly as good as Robbers & Cowards or Loyalty to Loyalty, but definitely a solid listen and should not be dismissed so fast. The opening track (title track) is a little soft and the following "Louder Than Ever" is not promising, but on tracks 3 & 4 "Royal Blue" and "Finally Begin", the album really opens up. "Finally Begin" is actually pretty humorously titled in the sense that the album can finally start, almost as if the band is dismissing the first couple tracks (I'm probably reading way too much into that). Anyhow, the remainder of the album is really great! Classic CWK's. Done. It's new music from a very talented band, who in no way deserve such poor ratings. Have you seen these guys live? If not, please do. One of the most interesting displays of musicianship I have been privileged to see. Would have gotten an 8 or 9 from me if it had not been for the first two tracks. I will buy this album, and I will see them when they come to Brooklyn. Ignore the pro's and go with your gut on this one! - Stevo Expand
  11. Jan 27, 2011
    10
    Awesome album! I LOVED Loyalty To Loyalty and Robbers & Cowards and I thought this one was just as amazing. I'm not sure why they're getting such low reviews, but I couldn't care less. Music is purely subjective anyway.
  12. Jan 26, 2011
    9
    Best Cold War Kids Album Yet


    i don't understand why this album is getting so many bad reviews. I was not a huge fan of their previous albums, but listened to this and was pleasantly surprised. 4.5 stars
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Dec 6, 2011
    60
    For better or worse, this album is polished and mature -- words that never would have described Cold War Kids' music before.
  2. Apr 12, 2011
    60
    Former soul-punks return with rough edges removed and hearts on sleeves. [Feb. 2011, p. 99]
  3. Mar 4, 2011
    82
    After uniting with Kings of Leon/Modest Mouse vet Jacquire King, the band has emerged with a set that's more inviting than its first but just as catchy.