More Than Just a Dream - Fitz & the Tantrums
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 1 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 13, 2013
    7
    It's pretty good. Fitz and The Tantrums maintain the style they had in their previous album while still staying fresh. A good thing is that they ditched the organ from the last album and stuck to something more electronic; that's fine. The only thing I didn't enjoy from this were the few filler songs it had. Some of it sounded the same. Overall, it's a decent album I recommend for Fitz andIt's pretty good. Fitz and The Tantrums maintain the style they had in their previous album while still staying fresh. A good thing is that they ditched the organ from the last album and stuck to something more electronic; that's fine. The only thing I didn't enjoy from this were the few filler songs it had. Some of it sounded the same. Overall, it's a decent album I recommend for Fitz and The Tantrums fans. Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    Awesome song by Fitz and The Tantrums with a kind of 'Men At Work/Pet Shop Boys' -good ol' days, kind of feel to it! Stumbled upon this song on the radio and had to find out the artist right away. Refreshing!
  3. Mar 12, 2014
    8
    An interesting direction to go in for this second album. The first half of the album is filled with undeniably great pop hooks, and the second half brings back the soul vibe. For all the hate this album received, it is certainly worth listening to.
  4. Jul 8, 2014
    7
    I thought that the musixc was very alternate and they did a good job of doing that which makes the music very thriving. Some of the songs are very melodic and not dark-themed in my opinion. And they also liketo incorperate some R&B themes in their music and mix it with some jazz and moder music which they influence as shown in "The Walker".
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    3
    I definitely miss the black suits and saxophone that Fitz and the Tantrums used to be about. It feels like they traded all of their inspired soul and style for pop and synthesized music. I guess I'll have to look forward to their next album, since they've shown that their sound can change drastically, but I'm afraid this album wont be getting much playtime for me. I fell in love with theI definitely miss the black suits and saxophone that Fitz and the Tantrums used to be about. It feels like they traded all of their inspired soul and style for pop and synthesized music. I guess I'll have to look forward to their next album, since they've shown that their sound can change drastically, but I'm afraid this album wont be getting much playtime for me. I fell in love with the style of their first album, but this is just too much of a departure for my taste. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Jun 26, 2013
    40
    More Than Just a Dream is a perfectly ok record that can even boast one or two above-average songs, but ultimately the result is pretty underwhelming.
  2. May 28, 2013
    60
    It’s an album that’s hard to love, yet easy to like.
  3. 75
    There's still a great band with a knack for jangly shout-along choruses somewhere in there. [17 May 2013, p.71]