• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jul 3, 2007
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 46
  2. Negative: 6 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. dianap.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    very hot!!! cool
  2. NickI
    Jul 10, 2007
    7
    Typical R&B album. Kelly manages to put out music within Beyonce's shadow and is unable to create her own unique niche in the music industry, instead she comes off bland and generic.
  3. Monique
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    Love it! This album says it all, Ms. Kelly is a supastar!
  4. AndreaS.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    Great beats and lyrics.
  5. JarrellC.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Best R & B album of the year by far! It is definitely in my top 5 albums of the year!
  6. MikeyD
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    I'm feeling this album! It would be a crime if she doesn't get the credit that is do her for putting out a really hot sophomore album.
  7. kimc.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    Kelly is the best! I hope she continues to come hard and let them know, she got skills. If she keeps playing her cards right look out Beyonce, she is coming!!!!!!!
  8. tonye.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    i love it
  9. Yolandaw.
    Jul 12, 2007
    8
    This is a good album & my girl, Kelly, is growing. She doesn't need rappers or hooks, just sing!. You'lI love her ballad, This is Love, where her voice is beautiful. Kelly, Don't Hold Back!
  10. tonye.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    i love it
  11. ElaineT.
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    This album is great. Her voice is beautiful. I love it when I buy a CD that I can actually listen to from start to finish. Check it baby, get it baby get it baby, do it baby do it. "WORK"
  12. OmizzleDizzle
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    I really think that Kelly did a very good job on this album she definitaly has a strong voice and has proved to be better then most artists in this industry... her songs are her own and you have to judge this album from that perspective...
  13. DSelf
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Kelly has delivered a great album. It is far better than Simply Deep
  14. terryl.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    Kelly has stepped out of the Beyonce shadow and into her own defining sound and style. Her voice is strong and beautiful, and her CD is really good. I love it already after just one day of lessoning.
  15. JannyD.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    The best R&B album of this year so far.
  16. DanielleW.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    Very Hot!!!!!!
  17. DemetriusS.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    kelly is amazing she truly has become her own and the album 1-12 is amazing i really luv better without u ,this is a album u bump when your driving it puts u in the mood.
  18. TImW.
    Jul 8, 2007
    7
    Her voice is strong and many of the songs are captivating, but some of the lyrics in the later songs lose my attention with repitition.
  19. HelenF.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Kelly... No we Didnt know you could Bump Like This!!! Love it Gurl!!!!
  20. Merthyf.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    superb album which shows off Kelly's vocal range and that she can sing anything. I love the various vocal styles on this cd. I can only hope that this cd will be marketed it well. I want to see her everywhere. This girl can sing!
  21. ToyaS.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    Ms Kelly definitely impressed me with this album.. it has me grooving straight through at some points deep in thought... Kelly rocks!!!!
  22. MIkeD.
    Jul 17, 2007
    9
    Great, dool an drefreshing vocals
  23. LorindaL
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    This is a solid performance from Ms. Kelly. I was impressed to see that there were several hott tracks on this album. Unlike some of the other reviews I have seen online I think that In love with my Ex is actually the weakest track on this album. I'm much more impressed with "Work" "Flashback" and Comeback" these are super hot tracks that show Kelly's musical diversity and This is a solid performance from Ms. Kelly. I was impressed to see that there were several hott tracks on this album. Unlike some of the other reviews I have seen online I think that In love with my Ex is actually the weakest track on this album. I'm much more impressed with "Work" "Flashback" and Comeback" these are super hot tracks that show Kelly's musical diversity and talent independent Destiny's child! Expand
  24. KR
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    Ms. Kelly has definitely come into her own! The sound is disticntly hers, and I actually think Beyonce should listen to this album and take some notes (note #1..."I don't need to yell on every song to get my point across!) Kelly shows us her versatility, and that she can croon about love lost while still having fun (Work!)...Get it Ms.Kelly!!!
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Though still short of career-defining, "Ms. Kelly" finds its author opening up more while welcoming the possibility that destiny may just find another star.
  2. The material tends to be kind of insidious, rather than hitting you immediately or going through one ear and out the other, and it's significantly more R&B-oriented.
  3. Ms. Kelly, though, has some points to prove, foremost among them that this songbird can rock.