Music

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 235 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 235

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 12, 2015
    9
    I think the Ray of Light, Music, American Life progression is the highlight of Madonna's musical career, as it features some of her most innovative music ever. This album especially is fantastic, but in a more subtle way than Ray of Light. There are a few standouts (Impressive Instant, What It Feels Like For a Girl), but for the most part the songs work together so well that it's reallyI think the Ray of Light, Music, American Life progression is the highlight of Madonna's musical career, as it features some of her most innovative music ever. This album especially is fantastic, but in a more subtle way than Ray of Light. There are a few standouts (Impressive Instant, What It Feels Like For a Girl), but for the most part the songs work together so well that it's really just 45 minutes of pop bliss. Expand
  2. Einar1J
    Apr 13, 2008
    5
    Merely okay, and in my eyes, disturbingly overrated. 'Ameircan Life' was excessively better, and to think 'Music' could 'par' against 'Ray Of Light', one of those rare masterpieces, is horrifying. 'What It Feels Like For A Girl' remains charming and very clever.
  3. JoshP
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    My favourite madonna album,Music is empowering and blessed with fantastic producers, lyrics and shows madonna at the top of her game-along with Like A Prayer and Confessions this is madonna's greatest album ever.
  4. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    The follow-up to the widespread success of Ray of Light, Music is Madonna's most musically impressive since Like a Prayer. A welcome embrace for the new millennium.
  5. MattM.
    Jul 28, 2001
    10
    This is the best album I own! "Music" is fantastic. All 10 tracks are breathtakingly original. Some are haunting, others are striking, but they're all some of the best songs I know of. Madonna reigns as the Queen of Pop!
  6. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    I will never understand why some fans dislike this album: MUSIC is in my opinion even better than RAY OF LIGHT.
    I guess that too many fans were expecting a RAY OF LIGHT PART 2...
    Granted, there may not be a FROZEN and a THE POWER OF GOODBYE, but overall the album is by far more pleasant than RAY OF LIGHT (which has too many weak songs). Not only the title track and DON'T TELL ME are
    I will never understand why some fans dislike this album: MUSIC is in my opinion even better than RAY OF LIGHT.
    I guess that too many fans were expecting a RAY OF LIGHT PART 2...
    Granted, there may not be a FROZEN and a THE POWER OF GOODBYE, but overall the album is by far more pleasant than RAY OF LIGHT (which has too many weak songs).
    Not only the title track and DON'T TELL ME are some of her best songs, also MUSIC is an album full of hidden gems such as NOBODY PERFECT, GONE, I DESERVE IT, PARADISE and WHAT IT FEELS LIKE FOR A GIRL, her most underrated single.
    The only weak songs are AMAZING and RUNAWAY LOVER: they aren't bad per se, they simply don't fit in the album. Unfortunately William Orbit's sound sounds dated compared to Mirwais' one.
    Expand
  7. JensO
    Aug 1, 2009
    8
    I have to say I loved the album when it came out, and I still love some tracks on it, but almost ten years on I'm less impressed by it now.
  8. [Anonymous]
    Nov 4, 2001
    10
    Love Music...My Favorite tracks are Don't Tell Me, Impressive Instant, Paradise Not For Me, Gone, What it Feels Like for a Girl, I Deserve It, Runaway Lover, Amazing, Nobody's Perfect, Music, and ... oh my thats all of them!
  9. nielsm
    Aug 12, 2004
    9
    great songs and madonna proves herself more than worthy to listen at.
  10. AldoM
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    fantastic!!!! the best!!!!
  11. ZaneS
    May 6, 2008
    9
    I personally think this is her best album since the late 80s, and still hasn't made a record of equal or better value. "Confessions," "Hard Candy" and "American Life" were all mediocre, while "Music," "Ray Of Light" and "Like A Prayer" were all absolutely amazing. Stand-out tracks are the title track, "Impressive Instant," "What It Feels Like For A Girl" and "Don't Tell Me."
  12. VictorC
    Apr 5, 2009
    10
    Not exactly AS good as "Ray of Light," but it still is extremely good. It contains great tracks, such as "I Deserve It," "Amazing," and "Impressive Instant." Madonna also shows off some other types of music with the tracks "What It Feels Like For a Girl" and "Paradise (Not For Me)."
  13. MikeL.
    Nov 11, 2001
    10
    A real piece of art as only the QUEEN can deliver.
  14. RuanH
    Aug 12, 2007
    9
    Excellent follow up to Ray Of Light, moving into new musical directions and sounds. "Music" is easily one of her best singles of all time.
  15. Sep 17, 2010
    10
    "Music" was definitely music to my ears. My favorite song ever is the title track and the whole album is simply amazing. She has not fallen short of a great album yet and i doubt that she will ever! Definitely check it out Key Tracks; "Music" "Gone" Don't Tell Me"
  16. May 3, 2012
    10
    Amazing! Madonna's album "Music" is just like a perfect mix of "Confessions" and "Ray of Light". It has that more spiritual and experimental work like "Ray of Light", while its grounded and amazingly blended with "Confessions".... Her most notified work through a more mixture of pop music, with dance, techno, eurodance, eurodisco and electronica.... Overall, Madonna makes this album a top notch.
  17. Mar 2, 2011
    9
    I feel strange giving this a nine out of ten; it's hardly iconic or revolutionary and it's not an album you must hear before you die. With that said, Music has so few faults. It's merely a near-perfect pop record. All of the songs are good yet none of them individually make or break the album. So, what you have here is a thoroughly enjoyable listen from start to finish. More consistent andI feel strange giving this a nine out of ten; it's hardly iconic or revolutionary and it's not an album you must hear before you die. With that said, Music has so few faults. It's merely a near-perfect pop record. All of the songs are good yet none of them individually make or break the album. So, what you have here is a thoroughly enjoyable listen from start to finish. More consistent and pleasing to the ears than Madonna's previous Ray of Light, the arty-farty concept of which predictably garnered more critical acclaim than this CD ever will. Expand
  18. Nov 27, 2010
    8
    A wonderful album. It will remain one of her best, easily. Rolling Stones has even included it in their "500 Greatest Albums of All Time" and it truly deserves it. Is it better than Ray of Light? I don't think so, but just barely. Her sound is calming, relaxing and then there are songs like "Music" that remind us how diverse Madonna is. My favourites are "Music" and "What It Feels Like ForA wonderful album. It will remain one of her best, easily. Rolling Stones has even included it in their "500 Greatest Albums of All Time" and it truly deserves it. Is it better than Ray of Light? I don't think so, but just barely. Her sound is calming, relaxing and then there are songs like "Music" that remind us how diverse Madonna is. My favourites are "Music" and "What It Feels Like For a Girl" though they are all enjoyable. Expand
  19. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    One of Madonna's best and most innovative albums ever. Easily her best one released in the 00s. Confessions On a Dance Floor is great but it's a little bit overrated.
  20. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    "Music" is the second part of "Ray of Light".Equally confessing and outspoken.Madonna's enlightence remains the same...Also,a brilliant prophet to "American Life" somehow....
  21. TomP.
    Jun 17, 2001
    7
    This album has a lot of good songs, but some songs are too slow and boring.
  22. christians
    Oct 16, 2003
    7
    music is madonna's best album since "Like a Prayer". Filled with an ambitious electronic production and some acoustic guitars, the album is mostly a dance recording with only few moments of seriousness, and that's not a bad thing at all. Impressive instant, Runaway lover, Don't tell me and Gone are the album's good tracks. the bad here is nobody's perfect and the music is madonna's best album since "Like a Prayer". Filled with an ambitious electronic production and some acoustic guitars, the album is mostly a dance recording with only few moments of seriousness, and that's not a bad thing at all. Impressive instant, Runaway lover, Don't tell me and Gone are the album's good tracks. the bad here is nobody's perfect and the worst is Paradise (not for me). The compelling thing here are the funky - electronic Music and the soft electronic ballad What it feels like for a girl Expand
  23. Dec 7, 2016
    5
    'Ray of Light' was effortless. It was gorgeous. Now, I don't expect any artist to try and repeat an album, but I do expect them to work to their strengths. Madonna somewhat does that with Music as production is stunning. The issue here is that it's a little over-produced. It's confusing. It takes over on too many tracks, making them neither dance songs, pop songs or mid-tempo. There's just'Ray of Light' was effortless. It was gorgeous. Now, I don't expect any artist to try and repeat an album, but I do expect them to work to their strengths. Madonna somewhat does that with Music as production is stunning. The issue here is that it's a little over-produced. It's confusing. It takes over on too many tracks, making them neither dance songs, pop songs or mid-tempo. There's just something about the album that feels a little over-experimental. Sometimes, less really is more. Expand
  24. Mar 26, 2012
    8
    Music is slightly overrated in my opinion. American Life is better, and so was Ray of Light before it. I cannot think of a weak track on the album, but the general feeling of it is slightly boring, and tracks are forgettable. Nonetheless, as I said, it's difficult to pin-point flaws or weak tracks on the album, it's just that it might not be music to everyone's ears. My favourite tracksMusic is slightly overrated in my opinion. American Life is better, and so was Ray of Light before it. I cannot think of a weak track on the album, but the general feeling of it is slightly boring, and tracks are forgettable. Nonetheless, as I said, it's difficult to pin-point flaws or weak tracks on the album, it's just that it might not be music to everyone's ears. My favourite tracks are Music, Amazing and Paradise. I'd still recommend it to all Madonna fans, but probably not first-time listeners, as the music is harder to get into like most of her other albums. Expand
  25. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    A strong follow up to her smash hit album "Ray of Light". This album is fun and not deep and has some catchy tracks, however lacks anything groundbreaking. Download: Don't Tell Me, Music, I Deserve It
  26. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    O melhor álbum da rainha da década de 2000, o álbum que popularizou o electropop, algo totalmente experimental para sua época e atemporal, sua maior obra prima depois de Like a Prayer e Ray of Light.
  27. Mar 13, 2015
    8
    "Music" is truly one of Madonna's more underrated album. For experimentation alone, this should be noted as one of her greatest.

    While it's not as perfectly cohesive as "Ray of Light", "Music" is sonically adventurous and genuinely ground-breaking. Vocally and experimentally, this was Madonna at her peak. It's not her greatest album, but it finds her basking in all her well-earned
    "Music" is truly one of Madonna's more underrated album. For experimentation alone, this should be noted as one of her greatest.

    While it's not as perfectly cohesive as "Ray of Light", "Music" is sonically adventurous and genuinely ground-breaking. Vocally and experimentally, this was Madonna at her peak.

    It's not her greatest album, but it finds her basking in all her well-earned glory and just wanting to boogie woogie.
    Expand
  28. May 23, 2017
    10
    Amazing album. She mixed country and electro pop nicely, Feels like you are an alien dancing to Mexico! Nobody's Perfect, Don't Tell me, Impressive Instast and Gone are my favorites
  29. Apr 30, 2016
    10
    With the songs like "Don't Tell Me" and "Music", Madonna pulled it off and showed her fellow **** how it is done.
    Just to keep you informed she says - "Don't tell me to stop"
  30. Nov 21, 2016
    7
    Music is slightly overrated in my opinion. I cannot think of a weak track on the album, but the general feeling of it is slightly boring, and tracks are forgettable. Nonetheless, as I said, it's difficult to pin-point flaws or weak tracks on the album, it's just that it might not be music to everyone's ears. My favourite tracks are Music, Amazing and Paradise. I'd still recommend it to allMusic is slightly overrated in my opinion. I cannot think of a weak track on the album, but the general feeling of it is slightly boring, and tracks are forgettable. Nonetheless, as I said, it's difficult to pin-point flaws or weak tracks on the album, it's just that it might not be music to everyone's ears. My favourite tracks are Music, Amazing and Paradise. I'd still recommend it to all Madonna fans, but probably not first-time listeners, as the music is harder to get into like most of her other albums. Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 90
    An absolutely amazing mainstream pop album.
  2. Unlike Ray of Light's pristine inner-ear landscapes, Music is dirty, casually urgent, as if Madonna walked into the studio, got on the mike and let the machines bump.
  3. The real standouts here, though, are the ballads. With "I Deserve It" and "Gone," the legacy of the corporeal and spiritual Madonna lays down amid the simplicity of basic percussive beats and acoustic guitar.