Musicology

Musicology Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 45-year-old former squiggle makes a return to form with his first release in three years.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Musicology is a thrilling, electric statement by an artist who just might be building toward another creative peak.
  2. Q Magazine
    80
    His best work in many a long year. [Jun 2004, p.105]
  3. As a whole, it’s a 3 [out of 5], but the first two tracks are worth the extra point.
  4. At least 'Musicology' reunites us with that trademark Prince sound, that regal sparkle that’s influenced many and been matched by none.
  5. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    The retro-leaning Musicology... sounds as if Prince is less interested in fighting Mr. Man than in giving in to him. [30 Apr 2004, p.160]
  6. Mojo
    60
    Brilliantly produced and performed, rather than astoundingly well written. [Jun 2004, p.112]
  7. Not only is the product musically conservative, chocked full of soul ballads and tame funk workouts, there's nary a trace of the devilish sense of risk that has permeated even his worst material.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Mak16Mak
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Icreadibel! Prince Is Back! lwts celabrate!
  2. KerriM
    Jun 18, 2004
    10
    What an album! It's more than an album. It's an experience. It isn't tied down in sexual over indulgence. It lacks the typical What an album! It's more than an album. It's an experience. It isn't tied down in sexual over indulgence. It lacks the typical duality of explicit sexuality and deep spirituality. It really gets to the music. And reaffirms the genius of Prince. Prince has written over 500 songs. If this album is any indication of what's to come, I can't wait. Expand
  3. Dayaw
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    its just great and more you listen more great it sounds or should I say greater,whatever its just great.
  4. markf
    Apr 27, 2004
    8
    Well this dates me, but I have nine Prince albums on vinyl (yes my turntable has been getting a workout lately but mostly by the Undertones, Well this dates me, but I have nine Prince albums on vinyl (yes my turntable has been getting a workout lately but mostly by the Undertones, Pixies and Vibrators.) Anyway, counting my cassettes, this is the twelfth album of the Purple One that I've bought. I'd probably place it somewhere in the middle. "1999", "Purple Rain" and "Sign o' the Times" are undisputed 10s. Once I understood that this was a kinder, gentler, older Prince (kinda like me and my wife), I could settle into the solid, if unspectacular groove of these stripped-down funk jams and sincere (in a good way) love songs. If I was younger kid, I might think the guy needs viagra, but hey, I'm my age so I know this album will get played in the bedroom. As a plus, I appreciate Prince's political stances since they're better than our Holy Emperor's... I mean that guy in the White House who has no grip. Expand
  5. AndrewM
    Oct 6, 2005
    8
    Musicology is pure funk from the soul. I can listen to this CD over and over again, and it still rates up there with anything I listen to. Musicology is pure funk from the soul. I can listen to this CD over and over again, and it still rates up there with anything I listen to. And I listen to a wide variety. True though, its highest point is by far the title track. Now can make songs this immortal anymore, for me its one of the greatest songs there is. True!! Nuff Said!! Expand
  6. StephenS
    May 7, 2004
    7
    I cut my musical teeth on "Dirty Mind" "Controversy", and "1999". Prince taught me to expect the perfectly timed hook in a song and to listen I cut my musical teeth on "Dirty Mind" "Controversy", and "1999". Prince taught me to expect the perfectly timed hook in a song and to listen for ornamental flourishes in even the silliest of circumstances. I still consider him a musical genius. "Musicology" is a refreshing treat, a funked-up throwback to his early sounds. However, none of these songs have me hooked the way "Head" did, or "Uptown", or even "International Lover". The production is spare, the grooves are tight, but I probably won't be listening to this one six months from now. Expand
  7. Princefanfans
    May 2, 2004
    2
    Ok... the people who rate more than 6 are blind DIE-HARD FAN of Prince. Musicology is the crap of the year is a easy and bored album whitout Ok... the people who rate more than 6 are blind DIE-HARD FAN of Prince. Musicology is the crap of the year is a easy and bored album whitout imagination and please!!! the lyrics are so stupid. Musicology is like a Britney or JC chaze (but the albums of Both have more IMAGINATION than Musicology album) albums but the difference are the credits. Ok Prince play all the instrument (by the way he cant play realy relay god... play like a 15 years old amateur) but he loss his small talent, his imagination to do a respectable song. Hey Richard J you loss real musical arguments in your review... this album is NOT a album of funk, rock, soul and jazz is just a Comercial-Pop mainstrean poor album whit just a little touch of the styles that all MTV-preducer use.... he repeat himself. And Prince is NOT a Musical Genius or give me arguments... The Musical genius are people like Fank Zappa, Bob Dylan (melodys), Byrds, Beatles, etc. etc. etc Prince albums (producs) is just like Justin or Ashanti albums. Collapse

See all 17 User Reviews