• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1360 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This is beyond Hip Hop, this is something more. Kanye West just raised the bar for an entire genre and proved he has a magnificent capacity and knowledge of crafting music that has been unseen by anyone who calls themselves a rapper. I feel sorry for anyone who had a rap album this year, because everything, absolutely everything pales in comparison to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Mr. West has proved himself to be a great musician since the beginning. But my his latest installment will have fans anticipating if he has anything more genius-like up his sleeve. The lyrics on each song are intelligent, but it's also the beats that hold the songs together. 'Runaway" is my favorite off this album. This is just amazing perfection.
  3. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This is an album that deserves the acclaim it is getting through the press. It has some pretty awesome transitions between tracks and some pretty cutting edge stuff for a "mainstream" rap album. I actually think a lot of "mainstream" fans are going to resist this album, and for that, and the risk-taking that Kanye is taking, I give this CD a 10.
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Few artists could get away with this level of genre-bending, norm-shattering composition and hip-hop artistry. West does it completely, convincing audiences to listen closely to his stories and their deep atmospheres. If you are looking for any other Kanye album to compare, you're mistaken. This is a reborn rapper, and with him comes a new era of Kanye-ness. He's smooth-talking, nasty,Few artists could get away with this level of genre-bending, norm-shattering composition and hip-hop artistry. West does it completely, convincing audiences to listen closely to his stories and their deep atmospheres. If you are looking for any other Kanye album to compare, you're mistaken. This is a reborn rapper, and with him comes a new era of Kanye-ness. He's smooth-talking, nasty, and the flows comes much more naturally on this album. He's stopped thinking so much about his listeners, and the result is raw, good raw. Forget cutesy, this album is mean; the kind of beats that make you grimace they're so hard. True hip hop fans finally get something to chew on here, and while I don't know where it stands in the holy 10 of hip hop classics, I can truly say that it is the best hip hop album of this year and perhaps the past 5. It's ambitious, deliberate, and complete. November 22nd is Kanye Day forever. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What a great Album. Comes from Kanye's heart. This album is to everyone who has questioned Kanye West's artistic abilities. Very deep, and a new approach to hip-hop.

    Is this album going to change Hip Hop for good?
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This album is so much different then Kanye's previous albums. His lyrics an punch lines sound more edgier and have more raw flow. Kanye is a genius and brings creativity to the for front with this album. The only downfall is that its only 13 songs long, it keeps me wanting more
  7. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  8. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Whether you love him or hate him, there is no denying that Kanye is a musical genius. If you don't agree, then you have not listened to this album yet, or been keeping up with his G.O.O.D. Fridays' free track releases over the last 3 months. 2010 has been the year of Kanye, and this final album release not only meets all high expectations, but surpasses them. This is quite simply, the bestWhether you love him or hate him, there is no denying that Kanye is a musical genius. If you don't agree, then you have not listened to this album yet, or been keeping up with his G.O.O.D. Fridays' free track releases over the last 3 months. 2010 has been the year of Kanye, and this final album release not only meets all high expectations, but surpasses them. This is quite simply, the best album Kanye has released to this date in his career. And there is no denying the simple fact, that this is clearly the album of the year. Expand
  9. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is an instant classic, for the second i put my headphones on and started to listen to the 1st track on the album, i was assured that this album will be Kanyes best album to date.
    The guy is a genius, a living legend. And he was able to accept the events that happened at the VMAs and the backlash he had after it, and put out one of the best albums OF ALL
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is an instant classic, for the second i put my headphones on and started to listen to the 1st track on the album, i was assured that this album will be Kanyes best album to date.
    The guy is a genius, a living legend. And he was able to accept the events that happened at the VMAs and the backlash he had after it, and put out one of the best albums OF ALL TIME.....OF ALL TIME!
    Expand
  10. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Haters gon' hate. I think the ratio of negative to positive user reviews tells the whole story. This album is amazing and it isn't cool that people are attempting to maliciously bring down the average score. Metacritic should review scores of 0 for validity.
  11. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    When you check the user-reviews, either you find extremely high-ratings or extremely low-rating. That's the way it is with Kanye. It started with the 808's and heartbreak, either you absolutely loved it or you just really thought it was crap. That's what happened between the critics too. But in this album they're unanimously saying that it's a classic and I agree. It's just phenomenal, theWhen you check the user-reviews, either you find extremely high-ratings or extremely low-rating. That's the way it is with Kanye. It started with the 808's and heartbreak, either you absolutely loved it or you just really thought it was crap. That's what happened between the critics too. But in this album they're unanimously saying that it's a classic and I agree. It's just phenomenal, the production and the raps. They might be rude and seem very vulgar but hey, check the album title. It's supposed to be that way, it's just that kanye is one of the very few daring enough to speak his mind and the whole theme of the album was to explore his mind. Either you hate Kanye and therefore hate his music or you just hate him. Or you absolutely love him or hate him and love his music. What sets out kanye from the rest is the emotional reactions he gets everywhere from critics and just plain listeners. All in all, you either hate kanyes album or you love it, just like 808's and Heartbreak. I for one love them both. Just like most music lovers do.

    10/10 for it's brilliant production and possibly one of the very few classic albums of the 2000's so far.
    Expand
  12. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    I have a tendency to approach any wildly praised album with a degree of skepticism...admittedly, I approached this album looking to be as critical as possible. A part of me was trying to dislike it. That part of me failed miserably, and the rest of me told the contrarian part to shut up and just listen to the awesomeness. It's the best-reviewed new release of 2010 for a reason. You oweI have a tendency to approach any wildly praised album with a degree of skepticism...admittedly, I approached this album looking to be as critical as possible. A part of me was trying to dislike it. That part of me failed miserably, and the rest of me told the contrarian part to shut up and just listen to the awesomeness. It's the best-reviewed new release of 2010 for a reason. You owe it to yourself to own this. I could sit here and analyze the music to try and convince you, but seriously...just get it and listen for yourself. That is all. Expand
  13. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This Album is the best album in the past ten years. He has discovered the fact that people don't buy music anymore and buy releasing tracks online every friday makes him a true legend. He has also included 5 covers and a movie for $3 more on the album. I mean what artist has ever done that. The production is amazing as well, he switches up the vocals on blame game so the listener canThis Album is the best album in the past ten years. He has discovered the fact that people don't buy music anymore and buy releasing tracks online every friday makes him a true legend. He has also included 5 covers and a movie for $3 more on the album. I mean what artist has ever done that. The production is amazing as well, he switches up the vocals on blame game so the listener can recognize that there is two people talking to each other. All of the Lights has to be my personal best. I mean what rap artist has transformed a song by putting Rihanna, Fergie, Elton John, Kid Cudi, La-Roux's Lead Singer, The Dream, John Legend, and Ryan Leslie all on one track. People have criticized this man long enough for his "stealing of moments" ...give me a break. I haven't heard a hip hop album this moving since about the time Nas released Illmatic. This man deserves true respect and loves his job. The least you can do is check out some of the previews then buy it because a true hip hop fan would know that is a good choice. Expand
  14. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Excellently edgy lyrics and a simultaneously raw, yet polished sound. It's one of the best hip hop albums of 2010, along with Big Boi's and Gorillaz' efforts, Sir Lucious Left Foot and Plastic Beach, respectively. And maybe even Janelle Monáe's record, too, if you overlook the heavy soul influences.
  15. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I'm wondering why those Kanye "fans" rated this album poorly claiming it doesn't live up to their expectations or it's not what they expected. If they were fans, they would have known what to expect with G.O.O.D. Fridays posting almost half the album. Anyway, this is a great album. Fantastically produced, and the lyrics are on par with what he did in his first two albums. Just plain good music.
  16. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best album in 2010, (for a little better than Eminem's Recovery). All of the songs are just great. I was expecting this for a long time, and I couldn't imagine so good album. everything less than 10 would be stupid.
  17. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Kanye West's best album. His flow, lyrics, the beats, samples - all top notch. Every song is memorable. This album proves that Kanye's not just a rapper or a producer, but an artist. MBDTF is art. Anyone who calls him untalented, even before this album, but certainly now, is straight up WRONG.
  18. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This is a GREAT album. A sure contender for the album of 2010. People that are hating on the album are basically complaining because of some of the words he says. Lets be serious now, if you are a fan of rap music then this is nothing and if you don't like it then you can go and pick up the clean version and then listen to it and you can appreciate the ammount of effort that he puts intoThis is a GREAT album. A sure contender for the album of 2010. People that are hating on the album are basically complaining because of some of the words he says. Lets be serious now, if you are a fan of rap music then this is nothing and if you don't like it then you can go and pick up the clean version and then listen to it and you can appreciate the ammount of effort that he puts into every song. Add GOOD Fridays and that just adds up to the appreciation of effort.
    I don't care what anybody says because All Of The Lights owns all. It has to be played with the interlude. Its just not the same otherwise!
    Expand
  19. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    I'm still kind of new to Metacritic so if you've noticed some of my other reviews, it appears that I like to hand out great reviews. Eventually I will get around to trashing some stuff, but not before I uplift this album as the best album of 2010. This is such a great album that I wish I could afford to buy 10 copies of it. I've always thought Kanye has made great albums in my opinion, butI'm still kind of new to Metacritic so if you've noticed some of my other reviews, it appears that I like to hand out great reviews. Eventually I will get around to trashing some stuff, but not before I uplift this album as the best album of 2010. This is such a great album that I wish I could afford to buy 10 copies of it. I've always thought Kanye has made great albums in my opinion, but this has to be his best one yet. He definitely sets the bar for the next decade of music. If you ignore this because of the Taylor Swift/VMA incident, then you are stupid and it will be your loss. This is the work of a true artist. Expand
  20. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    I haven't been a Kanye Fan since his first album; but album has revitalized my interest in him. This album is almost a masterpiece; the only track I somewhat dislike is All the Lights ( I find Rihanna's Voice Annoying....but the track as a whole isn't that bad). 9.5/10 ... so I round up
  21. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This has the perfect critic rating , still some people here find a way to give it a 0 ! Try and be a smart hater next time !
    I guess the best way to review this album is by telling you the only way you gonna understand its greatness is by listenning to it no matter what type of music youre accustomed to.It goes beyond any genre or stereotype.Its pure artistry.
    This album is a perfect
    This has the perfect critic rating , still some people here find a way to give it a 0 ! Try and be a smart hater next time !
    I guess the best way to review this album is by telling you the only way you gonna understand its greatness is by listenning to it no matter what type of music youre accustomed to.It goes beyond any genre or stereotype.Its pure artistry.
    This album is a perfect combination of his 4 previous LPs :
    -Soul of College dropout
    -Hip-hop and Instrumentalism of Late Registration
    -Futurism of Graduation
    -Melodies of 808's
    Its not rewieable but i still give it a big 10 ! Thank you very much Mr West
    Expand
  22. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    I think there's enough reviews out there to cover my thoughts.

    All I'm going to say is this album is just a masterpiece in all sense of the word...

    The album itself is a extension of who he is....its too long....too many guest stars...w/e it is....there is a reason for it...

    Hes always been a over the top guy...it only makes sense songs run long and the guest list is filled.

    Brilliant album.
  23. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    His best album!! loving it. Album of the year in my opinion. Truly amazing. I just might listen to hip hop some more. I though i would quit listening to rap music.
  24. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    An absolutely triumphant album. In many ways, this is his Exile On Main Street. These are albums where everything musically, from the artists past, comes together in a darker, louder, more decadent sound. Add in the fact that like EoTM, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy contains lyrics of regret, excess, ego, drugs, religion and hints at psychological despair. And simply put they bothAn absolutely triumphant album. In many ways, this is his Exile On Main Street. These are albums where everything musically, from the artists past, comes together in a darker, louder, more decadent sound. Add in the fact that like EoTM, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy contains lyrics of regret, excess, ego, drugs, religion and hints at psychological despair. And simply put they both rock. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, while probably not the better record, is definitely more personal than EoMS though. Furthermore, when has any rapper, of Kanye's magnitude, been as personal as this on record; putting everything out there on the line for both his many fans and critics to observe? It's a special record, one that will be enjoyed more and more upon repeated listens. The best album of the year, and an immediate early candidate for album of the decade. Expand
  25. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This album has to be the greatest thing I've ever listened to. Every song contains a different story just waiting to be read. Kanye put a lot of work into this album and it shows. It's pretty sad how some people have been reviewing this album based on their personal feelings about Kanye, or about the Taylor Swift incident. If you actually listen to the album you can see the true geniusThis album has to be the greatest thing I've ever listened to. Every song contains a different story just waiting to be read. Kanye put a lot of work into this album and it shows. It's pretty sad how some people have been reviewing this album based on their personal feelings about Kanye, or about the Taylor Swift incident. If you actually listen to the album you can see the true genius that Mr. West is. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy will be album of the year. Expand
  26. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Likely the best album of the year, and arguably the best hip hop album since The Blueprint, if not of all time. Not only is this further proof that Kanye is one of the most creative people (not to mention the best producer) working in music today, but he's finally come into his own as an MC, which is just icing on the cake. This is his masterpiece, and only time will tell if he can topLikely the best album of the year, and arguably the best hip hop album since The Blueprint, if not of all time. Not only is this further proof that Kanye is one of the most creative people (not to mention the best producer) working in music today, but he's finally come into his own as an MC, which is just icing on the cake. This is his masterpiece, and only time will tell if he can top it... but at this point, I wouldn't bet against him.

    Also, to those who appear to be giving negative reviews solely based on their dislike for Kanye as a person, consider that whether or not someone is a jerk has no bearing on the quality of his or her work. And to those who appear to be giving negative reviews based solely on the frequency of bad language in the lyrics, consider that you're probably not in any position to be reviewing the quality of a hip hop album.
    Expand
  27. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Flawless. Absolutely flawless. I never thought I could gain such inspiration and feel so drained from any rap album.
    Kanye defies genre and even music in the goal of being an artist, instead of a musician, and he nails it at a level that...there are no words. The flow is incredible and the songs complement each other, feeding off and referencing to make it clear that they're a true
    Flawless. Absolutely flawless. I never thought I could gain such inspiration and feel so drained from any rap album.
    Kanye defies genre and even music in the goal of being an artist, instead of a musician, and he nails it at a level that...there are no words. The flow is incredible and the songs complement each other, feeding off and referencing to make it clear that they're a true album...and yet, you can still listen to them as individuals and not know that you're missing anything.
    Every single song would earn a 10/10 from me - Monster was a close call, but Minaj killed her part (of all the people...)
    There is no greater hope for our ears than this remarkable Schizoid Man. We may survive in America after all.
    Thank you, Kanye West.
    Thank you.
    Expand
  28. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    One of the most ambitious and engaging albums I have ever heard. Kanye West puts himself at the top of the game with this one, proving that he can do more than just rap about how much bling and **** he has. The way he can examine himself and has the balls to point out his douchebag ways in songs like "Blame Game" and "Runaway" is unheard of in the hip hop genre today. In addition, theOne of the most ambitious and engaging albums I have ever heard. Kanye West puts himself at the top of the game with this one, proving that he can do more than just rap about how much bling and **** he has. The way he can examine himself and has the balls to point out his douchebag ways in songs like "Blame Game" and "Runaway" is unheard of in the hip hop genre today. In addition, the production on the album is about as elegant as it gets. We, as a society, view Kanye as this outspoken, obnoxious guy and the redeeming feature of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the fact that we get an inside look into the psyche of West and ultimately, sympathize with him. Furthermore, the beats and lyrics, two main things I always look for in a hip hop album, are there 100 percent and make most all other rappers stuff look meek. Overall, the way Kanye is able to put his heart and soul into this one while not letting that hold him back from providing 13 amazing hip hop tracks that you could listen to individually and say "Wow!" is something I have never seen before and sets a new standard for the whole genre. Expand
  29. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    this is kanye west best album so far. One of the best hip hop album i ever heard in a long time. I think kanye is brilliant all songs is amazing. This is the best hip hop album of the year and top five album of the year. this is a classic album .If you are a fan of hip hop you should own this album. A true hip hop fan recognize good hip hop albums. So happy kanye came back with a classicthis is kanye west best album so far. One of the best hip hop album i ever heard in a long time. I think kanye is brilliant all songs is amazing. This is the best hip hop album of the year and top five album of the year. this is a classic album .If you are a fan of hip hop you should own this album. A true hip hop fan recognize good hip hop albums. So happy kanye came back with a classic hip hip album 808 was a good album but it wasn't a classic type of album like this one. Good job kanye west Expand
  30. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    ALBUM OF THE YEAR! this is pure "Ye" brilliance here yo! pure genius! the rhymes are pure and flowing, and funny as hell! all the hype that basically built this album really pulled through and has given us something soo amazing i would like to thank yeezy for this 10/10 album... i love it!
  31. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. EPIC!!!! BIZARRE!!! INSANE!!! RAW!!!

    This is, without a doubt, the crowning acheivement of this man's career.

    A towering performance of raw emotion. From the sound of his voice, you can't help but wonder if Kanye has lost his sanity. Yes, the lyrics and emotions are THIS intense.

    This is, of course, a rap album. But it certainly shattered all the boundaries of traditional hip-hop. It borders on many diverse musical styles that reminds me of The Clash's London Calling back in 1980. You'll find almost everything here: violins, cellos, guitar solos, piano solos, greek choruses, pop beats, and soul. But despite the diversity, you will find that the album is whole and consistent, because the lyrical themes are the main drive here, and as far as they go, they are universal.

    However, the review doesn't end here. I've only talked about the music, lyrics and emotion. While that seems like all to some, we mustn't forget what this album represents.

    Not since Pink Floyd's The Wall has an album transcended its medium with such genius. A cover art that looks like a Picasso painting, and a music video that reminds us of Michael Jackson's Thriller. The Wall was the last album of the golden age of Rock 'n' Roll. I see history repeating itself here, i don't see how anybody, even Kanye West himself, can top that album in its artistic quality. I feel that a new era for music is upon us; and who is going to be on top, i have no idea. All i know is that everything rap went through, from Run DMC to The NWA to the Chronic all the way to Eminem, Jay-Z and Lil Wayne, has come down to this, a watershed moment in music history that proves once and for all that Rap like its predecessor (Rock) was the voice of this generation.

    Nothing will ever be the same again.

    Thank you, Kanye West, for this album of biblical proportions. Like Pink Floyd, you took this music genre to the height of its power. I hope, unlike Pink Floyd, you don't break down like them. However, i think you will.
    Expand
  32. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Since his debut album, Kanye West has strived to bring the soul and music side back to the forefront of mainstream hip-hop, and with every release Mr. West has claimed that he's going to evolve the music by himself whether the genre likes it or not.The real brilliance of this album comes from how well it truly improves upon his previous work. With every album that has come out his celebrity has encompased his artistry a little more and a little more. The boiling point being 808's where the artist finally had enough and created what could've been career suicide had any other hip-hop artist tried it. With this album the artist and the celebrity have come to a beautiful compromise. The celebrity is more self-consious and critical of himself and the world around him (the "Kanye-isms" are humbled), and the artist is more determined and inspired (The production challenges all pop music to be better than it is in epic fashion). Colledge Dropout USED to be his most honest album. Late Registration USED to be his most well rounded. Graduation USED to be his most celebratorial. 808's USED to be his most vulnerable. They all play like peices to a puzzle now. Fantasy compliments the strength of the previous albums so well, and mixes what he's learned from each album so well, that it could act as a direct follow up to any one of them. The guests and samples he brings in show Kanye's reach knows no boundaries. This album plays like an art showing of a tormented artist and as you walk through the gallery you run into the likes of Bon Iver, Kid Cudi, King Crimson, Nicki Minaj, Elton John, Rick Ross, Chris Rock, Smokey Robinson, Rhianna, and the Backyard Heavies. With this album Kanye has grown beyond just a hip-hop artist he's officially achieved the legend status he's been bragging about for the past 4 albums. Simply put, the music invades your mind. When I finally took the CD out of my laptop, the album had already played through 5 times. Expand
  33. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Heat for the street! This cd has the arrogance of LL's Bigger and Deffer, the with of Slick Ricks Adventure of....,the boldness of Ice Cubes Amerikkka's most and the conscienceness of PE's It takes of million..
    Definitely a masterpiece!!!!!!!!!!
  34. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Didn't expect anything less from Kanye. He just doesn't know how to put out a wack album. No other Hip-Hop Artist can do what he does. it's a definate 10/10 for me...20/10 if possible.
  35. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    I can't get over how great this album is. I've been playing it nonstop since I bought it and I still have the same feeling of amazement each and every time I listen to it. Never have I heard a song that brought on so many different emotions as Blame Game did. It's a sad song, but the addition of the Chris Rock spoken word at the end adds some humor. After a while I realized that the ChrisI can't get over how great this album is. I've been playing it nonstop since I bought it and I still have the same feeling of amazement each and every time I listen to it. Never have I heard a song that brought on so many different emotions as Blame Game did. It's a sad song, but the addition of the Chris Rock spoken word at the end adds some humor. After a while I realized that the Chris Rock bit was what Kanye was hearing on the phone and that made it even more sad, but strangely it was still funny. Too many great points in this album to go into detail. I just suggest you give it a try and decide for yourself. Expand
  36. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Makes every album this year feel lightweight
  37. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kanye has been changing his sound with every album but this time its the biggest and best change to date, Every song is a lot different from the last and with guest spots from Jigga, Kid Cudi and Bon Iver it is truly his best piece of work yet Expand
  38. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    Kanye shows the deepest side of him in My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. He tried to exploit it on 808's And Heartbreak, but really succeeded on his fifth album. I personally bought the Deluxe edition with the Runaway movie, and I have to admit that I had to listen to the movie to really love My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I'll say that the movie and the album really complete thisKanye shows the deepest side of him in My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. He tried to exploit it on 808's And Heartbreak, but really succeeded on his fifth album. I personally bought the Deluxe edition with the Runaway movie, and I have to admit that I had to listen to the movie to really love My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I'll say that the movie and the album really complete this masterpiece. The original art-cover is simply amazing, but sadly banished. For a radio success, I really can't find a single song that could be a success on Billboard's Hot 100, and that's perfect for people like me who prefers albums to singles. As a whole artistic entity, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is awesome, not as much to my eyes than 808's and Heartbreak (even if 808's And Heartbreak sounded more for the radio). The use of auto-tune is clearly reduced on this new opus. I recommend this album to any Kanye fan, any quality rap fan (this means no 50 Cents fans). Good job Mr. West, keep up the good work. Expand
  39. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    I generally have no feelings towards Kanye (and don't own any of his music), I usually listen to Radiohead as my staple music listening diet. This CD so far is AWESOME... it actually has interesting things to say and is decent to listen to.. I think this music really is inspiring and perfect for so many different moods.. I think i've heard about 80% of it on the radio and youtube. Going toI generally have no feelings towards Kanye (and don't own any of his music), I usually listen to Radiohead as my staple music listening diet. This CD so far is AWESOME... it actually has interesting things to say and is decent to listen to.. I think this music really is inspiring and perfect for so many different moods.. I think i've heard about 80% of it on the radio and youtube. Going to buy it tomorrow. The Bon Iver track is GOLD! Bon Iver rocks. Glad it's not just ripping it up and he actually dragged the guy in to lay down some vocals. Expand
  40. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great album, close to perfection. Every song is a masterpiece and a milestone in hip hop music. nas wasnt right mourning -hip hop is dead-, kanye flipped over the genre. Expand
  41. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    Great songs, I enjoy nearly every single one and have four special ones already. This album is different in a way, feeling even more creative, out there and original. I'm not a huge Kanye supporter but I did want to check out this album, the lyrics are great and strike straight to their points while flowing incredibly well. the beats on quite a few of the songs are heavy and intense,Great songs, I enjoy nearly every single one and have four special ones already. This album is different in a way, feeling even more creative, out there and original. I'm not a huge Kanye supporter but I did want to check out this album, the lyrics are great and strike straight to their points while flowing incredibly well. the beats on quite a few of the songs are heavy and intense, great stuff. Expand
  42. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    This is an excellent album. I would hesitate to call this Kanye's best album, but I do believe it is the realization of all his talents and many persona's. The album begins and ends brilliantly. Many of the songs on this album were released on his website far before the release and this has in a weird way made me skip the middle portion. "Gorgeous" is one of my favorites and featuresThis is an excellent album. I would hesitate to call this Kanye's best album, but I do believe it is the realization of all his talents and many persona's. The album begins and ends brilliantly. Many of the songs on this album were released on his website far before the release and this has in a weird way made me skip the middle portion. "Gorgeous" is one of my favorites and features Kanye at his rapping best alongside Kid Cudi who has a knack for hooks and working well with West. Who is doing this better right now? Nobody comes close and Kanye knows it. Expand
  43. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    Excerpt from http://green--typewriters.blogspot.com/ .........................................................I personally relate the excellence of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy to the fact that this album could, and probably should, have been awful. There was so much pressure stacked against this album and it is jaw dropping that this is what was produced out of all that hate. KanyeExcerpt from http://green--typewriters.blogspot.com/ .........................................................I personally relate the excellence of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy to the fact that this album could, and probably should, have been awful. There was so much pressure stacked against this album and it is jaw dropping that this is what was produced out of all that hate. Kanye is the epitomist of pop culture and the most self-righteous voice that it has created in a while. He reinsures this fact by producing his best piece of work that is not confined by traditional pop culture models placed on mainstream music. He wonderfully attacks and withholds the glorified level that he is, in all rights, living on. Kanye contextualizes his life into a lived fantasy and he accepts that this life is obviously not defined as normal. More importantly, he is self-aware enough to view it from an outside source, thus purposely naming it his Fantasy. It is his masterpiece as far as we're concerned. It is beautiful. It is utterly personal.. sometimes tragic.. but refreshingly honest. Expand
  44. Nov 22, 2010
    9
    I signed up to Metacritic purely to point out the following pattern in the negative reviews of Kanye West's brilliant masterpiece, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.

    At this writing, five of the six "1" and "0" scores that were accompanied by written reviews were written by first time reviewers; they have not entered another review on Metacritic, calling their credibility into question.
    I signed up to Metacritic purely to point out the following pattern in the negative reviews of Kanye West's brilliant masterpiece, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.

    At this writing, five of the six "1" and "0" scores that were accompanied by written reviews were written by first time reviewers; they have not entered another review on Metacritic, calling their credibility into question. And the one reviewer who wrote more than one review, "Drag," is a fan of -- surprise, surprise -- Taylor Swift's album, as evidenced by the "9" score given to her album, Speak Now.

    Draw your own conclusions and, for the sincere users among you, enjoy listening to the most inventive, creative and downright entertaining album of the year. I know I did.
    Expand
  45. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    Really really loved this album. Kanye really steps his sampling level up a notch. I loved the sampling on this thing. Also his raps are vary tight and original. And he featured the right people, they all contributed just the right thing to the album. The only reason this album didn't get a perfect score from me is that beginning section of the song All of the lights. It just soundedReally really loved this album. Kanye really steps his sampling level up a notch. I loved the sampling on this thing. Also his raps are vary tight and original. And he featured the right people, they all contributed just the right thing to the album. The only reason this album didn't get a perfect score from me is that beginning section of the song All of the lights. It just sounded generic, but I was very happy when Kanye and Rhianna Started to rap on it. It ended up being a good song. Expand
  46. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    As much as I dislike the man in the spotlight for his arrogance, after a couple listens through this album I couldn't help but dig on some of the beats and relate to some of the descriptive lyrics.
  47. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    All in all this album is great to say the least. Kanye deserves a lot of respect for taking a chance on something so unfamiliar and unique. It seems as though the more I listen to it the more it grows on me and the more I become acclaimed to this new sound. The only concerns I have deal with the overly done music solos and the speaking sections of some songs. Besides those 5 minutes of theAll in all this album is great to say the least. Kanye deserves a lot of respect for taking a chance on something so unfamiliar and unique. It seems as though the more I listen to it the more it grows on me and the more I become acclaimed to this new sound. The only concerns I have deal with the overly done music solos and the speaking sections of some songs. Besides those 5 minutes of the 70 minute long album, Kanye's work is gold. Expand
  48. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    By far the best album kanye has ever made. Features 8 fantastic songs plus a few b sides. This is worth it and people with mean comments must be crazy.
  49. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    The BEST album of 2010. It's art, Hip-Hop, a masterpiece, creative, genius, and unique. It's hard for me to explain about this album. Great Production. This album was well though of and Kanye West took his time on the album and it has paid off. This album and Janelle Monae's album, The ArchAndroid, was the best albums of 2010!
  50. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    The greatest album of the decade. The greatest hip-hop album of this era, the era post Biggie and Tupac. Production-masterful, beautiful, stunning. Lyrics-incredible, smart. Plethora of guest stars, including Jay-Z, Kid Cudi, Rihanna, etc. Check. Kanye's true masterpiece with which he shows that not only did he reach his mentor Jay-Z, but he surpassed him. The album with which he shows heThe greatest album of the decade. The greatest hip-hop album of this era, the era post Biggie and Tupac. Production-masterful, beautiful, stunning. Lyrics-incredible, smart. Plethora of guest stars, including Jay-Z, Kid Cudi, Rihanna, etc. Check. Kanye's true masterpiece with which he shows that not only did he reach his mentor Jay-Z, but he surpassed him. The album with which he shows he is the leading force of not only hip-hop, but the leading artist of the music scene today. When you are able to spill your heart and soul like he is in an album, you know you are truly great. 11/10! Expand
  51. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    This album totally changed my mind about Kanye West. Before the release of this album, I thought he was just another rapper trying to get fame and money and wasn't a true artist. However, one day I was on YouTube and I saw the Runaway video (the longest one, which features all the songs in the album) on the recommendation bar, and I decided to give it a chance. I was extremely shocked atThis album totally changed my mind about Kanye West. Before the release of this album, I thought he was just another rapper trying to get fame and money and wasn't a true artist. However, one day I was on YouTube and I saw the Runaway video (the longest one, which features all the songs in the album) on the recommendation bar, and I decided to give it a chance. I was extremely shocked at how good he was. After that, I bought MBDTF. This album is truly one the best I've heard. It is perfectly produced, the lyrics are deep and it really reinvents the term Hip-Hop. It's a shame that this album wasn't nominated by the Grammys for Album Of The Year. Expand
  52. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest albums of the millenium. Every song is different, yet still great. Kanye's rapping, the guest verses, production... it's all great. I really like the aggressively exciting feeling the album gives off. Lost in the World is the best song I've ever heard.
  53. Dec 15, 2010
    9
    Probably Kanye's best album since The College Dropout. Superb production quality, varying and eclectic styles of music mixed with self loathing, searching for the answer lyrical themes. In this album, he is more regretful but realistic about his egomaniac attitude. He doesn't really celebrate his ego but rather saying that this is how he works but is trying hard to understand why. KudosProbably Kanye's best album since The College Dropout. Superb production quality, varying and eclectic styles of music mixed with self loathing, searching for the answer lyrical themes. In this album, he is more regretful but realistic about his egomaniac attitude. He doesn't really celebrate his ego but rather saying that this is how he works but is trying hard to understand why. Kudos to West, RZA and others for putting together a collection of near flawlessly produced songs and I commend this album for being a completely different hip-hop album itself. Expand
  54. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Kanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best hip hop album in years. It is the best so far this new decade of the 10's. My opinion of Kanye is he is the most talented rapper alive. This album sh***** on the haters. Kanye crafted a masterpiece and it needs to be bought this holiday season!!! From the RZA crafted Dark Fantasy to the mind blowing Lost In The World, this album isKanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best hip hop album in years. It is the best so far this new decade of the 10's. My opinion of Kanye is he is the most talented rapper alive. This album sh***** on the haters. Kanye crafted a masterpiece and it needs to be bought this holiday season!!! From the RZA crafted Dark Fantasy to the mind blowing Lost In The World, this album is pure fire, chaos, love and redemption. A beautiful dark twisted fantasy Kanye, you did hip hop proud!!! Expand
  55. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    All great artists need inspiration. And there isn't much stronger inspiration like becoming a social pariah and consistently being deemed a problem, even if your intentions are good. The positive side of such drama is it makes for fuel to an artist's fire. Being one of the most talented hip-hop icons of the last decade, Kanye allowed that fuel to generate an inferno in his new CD, MyAll great artists need inspiration. And there isn't much stronger inspiration like becoming a social pariah and consistently being deemed a problem, even if your intentions are good. The positive side of such drama is it makes for fuel to an artist's fire. Being one of the most talented hip-hop icons of the last decade, Kanye allowed that fuel to generate an inferno in his new CD, My Beautiful, Dark, Twisted Fantasy. Unlike 808s and Heartbreaks where his inspiration was more of a personal loss, Kanye's new inspiration is anger, hurt, embarrassment and redemption, if not socially, then at least personally. The production is grand, just like Kanye's ego, but also representative of the message he wants to send. Anyone who is in tune with Kanye's work could always separate his public **** from his artistic genius. It's impossible to be able hate this work without allowing personal feelings about Kanye or hip-hop to make its way into your criticism. Empirically, hip-hop very rarely gets this good. Kanye has done the best job anyone could ever hope to do when conveying intense feelings via their chosen artistic conduit. Lyrically, of course there are elements of the hip-hop culture that those who are not fans of choose to point to and hate, such as cursing and the dreaded N word. This is unique music, though. From the sampling, layers of music, themes, singing and, yes, rapping, Kanye has the right ingredients to cook the tastiest stew. Expand
  56. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    Loved this album and I'm glad Kayne west made another rap album. the auto tune just drove me crazy when you know Kayne can come out with something like this and i hope he keeps it coming
  57. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best album of the year..and maybe the best album of Decade!!great and fantastic lyrics and excellent beats!!So Kanye,You are the Best!!!!! Expand
  58. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    superbe album de kanye west .really a great work and it gives a new version of hip-hop c'est comme tout une revolucion dans le genre we needed it something new. c'est incontestablement The Best Album Of The Year & one of The GREATEST hip-hop album ever.thank you Kanye
  59. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    This is really the best album that exists. It has incredible songs, like: Dark Fantasy, Power, So Apalled, Runaway, Blame Game and Lost in the World. The lyrics are awesome. They are funny and emotional. I have only compliments for "My beautiful dark twisted fantasy"!!!. Kanye West is the best Raper in the world!
  60. Feb 20, 2011
    10
    This is truly my favourite album of this year. My favourite song would be Monster with Bon Iver, Jay-Z and Nicki Minaj. This is my favourite album of all-time and I would 110% recommend this to any rap fan.
  61. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    Kanye brings his best with this album from the beats to the lyrics he couldn't be more on point. The album gives an experience you definitely won't find listening to someone else.From beginning to end every songs a hit. You feel that the album is perfected and not rushed in any way.A truly original album that doesn't get boring.My Beautiful Dark Fantasy is different and stands out as oneKanye brings his best with this album from the beats to the lyrics he couldn't be more on point. The album gives an experience you definitely won't find listening to someone else.From beginning to end every songs a hit. You feel that the album is perfected and not rushed in any way.A truly original album that doesn't get boring.My Beautiful Dark Fantasy is different and stands out as one of the best and most unique hip hop albums of all time, even if you don't like him you gotta love his music and hand it to him for such a great release. Expand
  62. Jan 16, 2011
    9
    Without a doubt the best album to be released this year. It's good from start to finish and it's a shining example of what current rap music should sound like. It's bold and daring, using sounds that other hiphop/rap artists would be afraid to touch. But Kanye is, and always has been ahead of the pack.
  63. Jan 15, 2011
    10
    Kanye Wests new album My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is one of the greatest albums ever. Especially for the hip-hop genre this album is important. 14 fantastic songs, i dont know which is best, impossible to say. Kanye really shows hes a fantastic artist. If you miss this album, youre missing the 00s best one!
  64. Feb 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mr. West is surely taking his music to the next level. He is clearly developing as an artist and after his latest album ( that confused a lot of his fans I admit) he has stepped up og grew a pair of balls! MASTERPIECE Expand
  65. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    Brilliance, insanity, & virtuosity condensed in 13 gripping tracks.. By far the best rap / hip hop album of the past decade. The lyrics are clever, the production is off the charts. If you love music you'll fall in love with this album.
  66. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    Kanye shows is true genius here -- more than just displaying a mastery of a genre, this album is full of innovation and surprises. He's absolutely at the peak of his game, and I hope he can continue to produce at this level for years to come.
  67. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    to the people saying this cd has "rude lyrics" or is offensive, shut the hell up. next time kanye starts writing a cd, email him and maybe he'll make a cd that solely fits your beliefs and fit your acceptable standards. on this album he does not give a **** about anything and anyone, which is what makes this cd awesome. by far one the greatest rap albums ever. he isnt trying create anto the people saying this cd has "rude lyrics" or is offensive, shut the hell up. next time kanye starts writing a cd, email him and maybe he'll make a cd that solely fits your beliefs and fit your acceptable standards. on this album he does not give a **** about anything and anyone, which is what makes this cd awesome. by far one the greatest rap albums ever. he isnt trying create an album that has complete universally, he once again writes what he wants. his lyrics are incredible and so are his beats. this is one of the most in your face records ever and if you dont like that then you can go buy a justin bieber cd that fits the simple blueprint of a cd that contains cookie cutter lyrics that have absolutely no meaning Expand
  68. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    It's rare to hear an album with such diversity such as My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. I think that's why I respect Mr. West so much, he has the guts to make an album the way he wants without any concern for how others will react. This album gets better with each track from the soft start of Dark Fantasy to the powerful end of Who Will Survive in America.
  69. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    This album is a perfect balance between the musical Kanye and the lyrical Kanye, MBDTF is Kanye's best work to date. It is not my favorite album of his, and over the years many have wondered whether he would release an album that could easily be considered as 'better than College Dropout', but I believe he has done it. I've spent almost a year with this album, and my opinions have varied,This album is a perfect balance between the musical Kanye and the lyrical Kanye, MBDTF is Kanye's best work to date. It is not my favorite album of his, and over the years many have wondered whether he would release an album that could easily be considered as 'better than College Dropout', but I believe he has done it. I've spent almost a year with this album, and my opinions have varied, but the genius behind these songs cannot be overlooked, please ignore other negative reviews, because it is obvious when they are flawed by hate (what albums actually get 1's and 2's?). Songs such as Gorgeous and So Appalled are filled with some of his smartest and hardest verses since Dropout. Appearances by several artists, as well as some of his best sampling, and hard hitting singles such as Power and Monster make this album a must buy for anyone who is not a close-minded music listener. There are two gems in this album however, which stand out to me the most, Runaway and Lost in the World. At first, they were not my favorite, but as I continued to listen to the album, those two songs came out and really spoke to me. I think anyone can love this album. Expand
  70. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    Quite simply put : This is Kanye's greatest work, his masterpiece. The amazing detail he put into production and the amazing lyrics, this album quite deservedly won the love of critics all over the world. One of the greatest albums of hip-hop and the greatest album of this decade. From "Runaway", the incredibly simple, yet incredibly deep song, in which Kanye warns his love of his faultsQuite simply put : This is Kanye's greatest work, his masterpiece. The amazing detail he put into production and the amazing lyrics, this album quite deservedly won the love of critics all over the world. One of the greatest albums of hip-hop and the greatest album of this decade. From "Runaway", the incredibly simple, yet incredibly deep song, in which Kanye warns his love of his faults and in which he spills his soul, all the way to "Gorgeous" where he shows his great talent of making those incredible lines, that incredible lyrical talent, making it sound so easy. All in all, one of the greatest albums of hip-hop and in my opinion the greatest album of this decade. Expand
  71. Aug 30, 2011
    10
    One of the best all around albums I have ever heard! Lots of creativity going on here!! The album has a great concept that will make it hard for other rap artist to compete with!
  72. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Kanye West is a musicall genious, every thing this man touches turns to gold every song he gets on is a musicall masterpiece. he is deffenitlly one of my favorite rappers of all time. This album is his latest solo installment and has that sound that blows the radio in your car up.
  73. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Best album of the decade, too soon? Absolutely not! All tracks are given such work and passion. The one problem though with this album is that it is always sad, will we ever hear any of the hilarious tracks from Yeezy like Gold Digger or the skits that he has done in the past? Hopefully no, but we'll never know until we see a new album on his facebook or wikipedia. Rating the tracks: 1.Best album of the decade, too soon? Absolutely not! All tracks are given such work and passion. The one problem though with this album is that it is always sad, will we ever hear any of the hilarious tracks from Yeezy like Gold Digger or the skits that he has done in the past? Hopefully no, but we'll never know until we see a new album on his facebook or wikipedia. Rating the tracks: 1. Dark Fantasy 9/10 2. Gorgeous 8/10 3. POWER 8/10 4. All of the Lights (Interlude) 8/10 5. All of the Lights 7.5/10 6. Monster 10/10 7. So Appalled 8.5/10 8. Devil in a New Dress 8/10 9. Runaway 10/10 (Best Track of the Album) 10. Hell of a Life 8/10 11. Blame Game 9.5/10 12. Lost in this World 10/10 (Tied with Runaway for me) 13. Who Will Survive in America 9.5/10 No one will Yeezy, no one will Expand
  74. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Easily the best album of 2010, definitely in my top 5 best albums of the decade and over time has become one of my favorite albums of all time. You have to listen to it to understand.
  75. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    The best album of the past decade. Mr. West always comes through with music that will make you think intricately about what runs through his Beautiful, Dark, and Twisted fantasy.
  76. Jan 28, 2012
    10
    Epic! West was able to incorporate your wounded soul in each one of these songs. Recovery really fancy, after all this pretentious Rapper lived. Unmissable and engaging!
  77. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    A truly remarkable album that in the long run will change the game as Dr. Dre's Chronic and as Marshall's LP. The album has an insanely catchy intro and finishes off with raw power and soul. Kanye's latest may have some ****ing ridiculous; ****ing ridiculous repetitions, but even with Fantasy's few flaws, it remains the best new album of 2010.
  78. Nov 30, 2010
    9
    This album is dope- Sooooo good. Lush with sound. Beats that shake your chest. Turns of verse that make you laugh and shed a tear at the same time. It's all here if you like like the enormous sound to go along with the enormous ego/star power Kanye possesses. He's the next MJ- don't deny it haters. Yeah I'm talking to you clowns that scored this album a zero just because you don'tThis album is dope- Sooooo good. Lush with sound. Beats that shake your chest. Turns of verse that make you laugh and shed a tear at the same time. It's all here if you like like the enormous sound to go along with the enormous ego/star power Kanye possesses. He's the next MJ- don't deny it haters. Yeah I'm talking to you clowns that scored this album a zero just because you don't like Kanye and/or his type of music. Then why are you going out of your way to push your negativity on people? Silly hatin' clowns. Expand
  79. Dec 10, 2010
    9
    I'm not the biggest Kanye West fan but this album is the best thing I've heard in ages. It's very complex and creative with the lyrics and the music and it kept me fully engrossed from start to finish on a long train journey. Sometimes artists are just on fire and ooze creativity and for some reason this has happened to Kanye West when he made this album. There are no club bangers orI'm not the biggest Kanye West fan but this album is the best thing I've heard in ages. It's very complex and creative with the lyrics and the music and it kept me fully engrossed from start to finish on a long train journey. Sometimes artists are just on fire and ooze creativity and for some reason this has happened to Kanye West when he made this album. There are no club bangers or breakfast radio tunes on here, its deeper than that and I commend him for not taking the lazy route. Expand
  80. Dec 5, 2010
    9
    Even though I hate Kanye as a person and dislike rap in general, I can't give this album any worse a score just because it's such interesting, well-made and compelling music. Contrasting the most breathtaking highs with the most crushing lows, exploring the limits of his mind and soul, with My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye shows how powerful and thoughtful music can be - and it'sEven though I hate Kanye as a person and dislike rap in general, I can't give this album any worse a score just because it's such interesting, well-made and compelling music. Contrasting the most breathtaking highs with the most crushing lows, exploring the limits of his mind and soul, with My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Kanye shows how powerful and thoughtful music can be - and it's very difficult to not love him for it. Collapse
  81. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Amazing. KanYes 5th studio album is near perfection. Once again he has evolved as an artist, keeping his songs fresh and new compared to his previous work. This is a classic, and definitely one of the greatest rap albums created.
  82. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Beautiful, the perfect mix of Kanye's rapping and his exquisite taste in music. Absolutely the best album he's made to date, the perfect recovery from 808s and his recent history. Kanye's back, and he's rewritten the rules of rap once again!
  83. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    Talyor Swift fans out in full force.Kanye Snatches mics and still gets 90+ metacritic scores
  84. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    I'm sure I don't have much to say that hasn't already been said. This album is a fantastic voyage, I love getting lost in it every day on my way to work. Particularly the first 7 tracks. The only thing that urkt me is Jay-Z didn't exactly attempt to bring his A game but hey, he's **** Jay-Z so he doesn't have to. Nikki was incredible on Monster and if you haven't seen the short filmI'm sure I don't have much to say that hasn't already been said. This album is a fantastic voyage, I love getting lost in it every day on my way to work. Particularly the first 7 tracks. The only thing that urkt me is Jay-Z didn't exactly attempt to bring his A game but hey, he's **** Jay-Z so he doesn't have to. Nikki was incredible on Monster and if you haven't seen the short film that accompanies the album, stop what you're doing and go watch it. It's an accomplishment. Congrats Mr. West. Instant Classic. You can do whatever the hell you want now, this is your Sgt. Pepper. Expand
  85. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    Simply put, in 2010, no one did pop music better than Kanye West. This record, along with the Gorillaz "Plastic Beach", pushed collaborative and pop music as a whole forward. which is really what you want. Nothing is more boring and off-putting than complacency. Justin Vernon's contributions, while subtle on tracks not named "Lost in the World", are great. Nicki Minaj murders tracks, andSimply put, in 2010, no one did pop music better than Kanye West. This record, along with the Gorillaz "Plastic Beach", pushed collaborative and pop music as a whole forward. which is really what you want. Nothing is more boring and off-putting than complacency. Justin Vernon's contributions, while subtle on tracks not named "Lost in the World", are great. Nicki Minaj murders tracks, and does exactly that on "Monster". The album is fantastic front to back. Kanye goes for it all on this album, and it works in the best way possible. Expand
  86. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    I would give this album lower than a 10 if it weren't worth the grade. The impressive production and the ability Kanye uses is uncanny and almost too real to not receive the grade. The people who fret on the vulgar language and the ego should not judge the album based on those things as they are. Judge the album based on what those words are used with to create the album. This album looksI would give this album lower than a 10 if it weren't worth the grade. The impressive production and the ability Kanye uses is uncanny and almost too real to not receive the grade. The people who fret on the vulgar language and the ego should not judge the album based on those things as they are. Judge the album based on what those words are used with to create the album. This album looks into the psyche that comprises the most egotistical and bizarre pop culture figures in years. Kanye pushes boundaries with his proper use of autotune and his impressive list of back up vocalists and guest stars. He uses everything perfectly, granted a little too much, but that's Kanye, he is exuberant to another level. He defines a generation on his own with this material. If you don't believe me, just give the album a listen; it might not seem like much, but after its over you'll want more. Expand
  87. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    Magnum Opus. I've been following Kanye West before he released his first album. Every one of his last four albums has been phenomenal but this album has taken things to the next level. Gonna be difficult to top this one. ALBUM OF THE YEAR
  88. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    The more I want to hate Kanye (and as a person, I do), the more I'm disappointed that I actually liked "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy." Not sure all the hype is warranted, but track after track, the album is nothing if not solid. Any of these tracks would do well on the radio but hold their own with music snobs alike. Not surprising, really, this album is a natural progression for meThe more I want to hate Kanye (and as a person, I do), the more I'm disappointed that I actually liked "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy." Not sure all the hype is warranted, but track after track, the album is nothing if not solid. Any of these tracks would do well on the radio but hold their own with music snobs alike. Not surprising, really, this album is a natural progression for me from his previous works - albeit bigger, and more exciting. Expand
  89. Jan 5, 2011
    9
    Kanye is a completely unapologetic a-hole. Let us get that out of the way first. This is admittedly a somewhat reactionary review directed at those who claim that the album is revolutionary because Kanye admits he is at fault and loathes himself. Well, that's quite a misleading summation by many reviewers who wanted to find a concrete reason to give it a perfect score, and really notKanye is a completely unapologetic a-hole. Let us get that out of the way first. This is admittedly a somewhat reactionary review directed at those who claim that the album is revolutionary because Kanye admits he is at fault and loathes himself. Well, that's quite a misleading summation by many reviewers who wanted to find a concrete reason to give it a perfect score, and really not suited at all to this album, only one element of the song Runaway. The rest of the album is a dark, unapologetically twisted fantasy, as far removed from the tone of Eminem's more therapeutic Recovery as possible because, while Eminem tried to work through everything that was going down in his life, Kanye does nothing to attempt to mitigate his gargantuan ego. Instead, he celebrates it and directs his uniquely self-centered but honest personality at various aspects of what is, well, his fantasy. God only knows how you can shrink-wrap Kanye's mind into one You can try to toss various intelligent phrases into the blogosphere to sum up the album if you really feel like it, but you won't find one because it's quite sprawling in every way. It is a discussion of the excesses of being a celebrity, sure. It's also Kanye just doing what he does best, bragging. It's also Kanye making such outlandish claims and statements that nothing he says could be taken as anything but fantasy. So really, it can be summed up as Kanye spitting out his creative music visions of what goes on in his head, and, knowing him, it's probably an honest vision.

    You've heard enough about the music, but it is important to address anyway. The beats get repetitive because of the song lengths, but this isn't too much of a problem because different twists are thrown in to make it interesting. The quality of the music is unbelievable, as full orchestras are wrangled together to make a boisterous, complex, and flamboyant sound that really does transcend genres of music.

    Love him or hate him, his music is more carefully crafted and thought-provoking than most. I think he's a fascinatingly distasteful man, as are most images projected by this album. But whatever other distastefulness goes on in his life, this album harnesses the distastefulness into great music, and oddly 50 years after Bob Dylan came on the scene introspective music is still underappreciated and under-represented on the pop scene. Well, Kanye's oblique method of introspection consists of projecting every image of debauchery, excess, and egoism running through his mind's picture reel. And at the risk of inflating his ego too much, I do believe he has 21st century pop stardom pretty well pegged. God knows we've heard enough linguistically creative but utterly negative, nihilistic, "realistic" rap and hip hop to want something more creative, different, and INTERESTING. Well, hip hop fans, here it is. Pop fans, you might want to check it out too if you don't mind cussing.
    Expand
  90. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    A revolutionary Album, maybe his 808s & Heartbreak Album wasn't great but it only shows that it was practice for "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy."

    -This will be an album to remember.
  91. Apr 25, 2011
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the greatest album ever, no joke, this is a work of pure genius, except for a couple songs this is a great album. truly genius
  92. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    This album is the climax of Kayne's production career at this point. The beautiful use of samples without heavy dependence is what lacked in his previous works. Kayne's emotions are well at work in most of the tracks giving them a sense of relate ability. Gorgeous and So Appalled are standout tracks lyrically, with All of the Lights and Lost in the World being the best productions and showThis album is the climax of Kayne's production career at this point. The beautiful use of samples without heavy dependence is what lacked in his previous works. Kayne's emotions are well at work in most of the tracks giving them a sense of relate ability. Gorgeous and So Appalled are standout tracks lyrically, with All of the Lights and Lost in the World being the best productions and show great creativity. Expand
  93. Mar 19, 2011
    10
    What can I say... my masterpiece. I worked hard and gave you this classic. Thanks for the respect... I deserve it!!! HATERS: RUNAWAY FAST AS YOUUU CANNN
  94. May 2, 2011
    10
    In a musical landscape full of repetition, silence behind smiles because you don't really feel it...the best thing I can say about this album is that you FEEL it. Kanye sounds possessed on this album--very close to a live show. Some "compliment" a band or artist when they play live by saying they sound like they do on record. In my opinion, it's the opposite--artists should strive toIn a musical landscape full of repetition, silence behind smiles because you don't really feel it...the best thing I can say about this album is that you FEEL it. Kanye sounds possessed on this album--very close to a live show. Some "compliment" a band or artist when they play live by saying they sound like they do on record. In my opinion, it's the opposite--artists should strive to sound on record like they do live. On a record, you miss the emotion--the raw power that drives the song. Very few artists have that power, and even fewer albums do. This is one of those albums, and it's present on nearly every track. It is...indescribably good. Buy this album. Expand
  95. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    This album is just amazing! Each and every song is great and only downside in my opinion is that Runaway has a long part at the end were nothing much is happening but slightly annoying noise.
  96. May 11, 2011
    10
    As a fan of mainly punk, hardcore, and modern rock, I am always open minded to listen to all types of music and see the creativity that is unique to each artist. The past decade I have been unhappy with most rap/hip-hop releases, and I have never found a rap album before this one that could equal the excellence of LL Cool J's "Mama Said Knock You Out". I am not even a real big fan ofAs a fan of mainly punk, hardcore, and modern rock, I am always open minded to listen to all types of music and see the creativity that is unique to each artist. The past decade I have been unhappy with most rap/hip-hop releases, and I have never found a rap album before this one that could equal the excellence of LL Cool J's "Mama Said Knock You Out". I am not even a real big fan of Kanye, but I am mesmerized by the beauty and excellence he has created on this album. The various styles that make each song unique, and the collection of guest artists were planned perfectly, and fit well with the messages he conveys in each song. The first time I listened to this I could just feel how much of his heart he put into this collection of songs, and I was not really even paying close attention to the lyrics. Some people may find much of the language graphic, but I feel that it actually enhances the feel and character, and is necessary to get his emotions released to the listeners. I personally think "Hell Of a Life" is my favorite song, followed by "Runaway"; however, the most passionate song that demonstrates the hurt Kanye has felt at one time or another in his life as well as many listeners is "Blame Game" - by far one of the most powerful ballads of any music genre released in the last decade. Chris Rock is excellent in his end-of-the-song diatribe phone call, and even with that humor added, it is blended well enough to not tarnish the best song Kanye has probably ever written. I feel this should be one of the 10 albums every music fan needs to hear before they die - even if you are not a fan of Kanye, this album deserves to be listened to because it will be a long time before another album with this type of perfection will be produced by anyone in the music industry. Thank you so much, Kanye - you have definitely won me over into being one of your fans. Expand
  97. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    A fantastic album! Kanye shows his skills lyrically, emotionally, and shows where he is mentally. Luckily, he is in a good place. Even after a year of being out, I still play this often. Truly well done!
  98. May 18, 2011
    10
    Album of the year 2010 and Kanye's masterpiece. All the 0/10s and the likes are all from the Taylor Swift defence force who still haven't got over Kanye giving her the best publicity she's ever had.
  99. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    A staggering work of musical genius. A 75-plus minute jaunt through the inner thoughts and passions of a man ravaged by (much-publicized) tragedy. West does not pander to anyone's taste but his own, and the result is something so grandiose, gaudy and good that it practically demands to be identified as a masterpiece. A magnum opus that lives up to its title as West's "Beautiful DarkA staggering work of musical genius. A 75-plus minute jaunt through the inner thoughts and passions of a man ravaged by (much-publicized) tragedy. West does not pander to anyone's taste but his own, and the result is something so grandiose, gaudy and good that it practically demands to be identified as a masterpiece. A magnum opus that lives up to its title as West's "Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy". Expand
  100. May 23, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece, no doubt. And while Kanye may be a little screwy in his public life, the album is not a mess. Music is Yeezy's reflection and hearing Fantasy makes you see what a whirlwind of emotions 2009-2010 had been towards him.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]