• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1351 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This is beyond Hip Hop, this is something more. Kanye West just raised the bar for an entire genre and proved he has a magnificent capacity and knowledge of crafting music that has been unseen by anyone who calls themselves a rapper. I feel sorry for anyone who had a rap album this year, because everything, absolutely everything pales in comparison to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Mr. West has proved himself to be a great musician since the beginning. But my his latest installment will have fans anticipating if he has anything more genius-like up his sleeve. The lyrics on each song are intelligent, but it's also the beats that hold the songs together. 'Runaway" is my favorite off this album. This is just amazing perfection.
  3. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This is an album that deserves the acclaim it is getting through the press. It has some pretty awesome transitions between tracks and some pretty cutting edge stuff for a "mainstream" rap album. I actually think a lot of "mainstream" fans are going to resist this album, and for that, and the risk-taking that Kanye is taking, I give this CD a 10.
  4. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Few artists could get away with this level of genre-bending, norm-shattering composition and hip-hop artistry. West does it completely, convincing audiences to listen closely to his stories and their deep atmospheres. If you are looking for any other Kanye album to compare, you're mistaken. This is a reborn rapper, and with him comes a new era of Kanye-ness. He's smooth-talking, nasty,Few artists could get away with this level of genre-bending, norm-shattering composition and hip-hop artistry. West does it completely, convincing audiences to listen closely to his stories and their deep atmospheres. If you are looking for any other Kanye album to compare, you're mistaken. This is a reborn rapper, and with him comes a new era of Kanye-ness. He's smooth-talking, nasty, and the flows comes much more naturally on this album. He's stopped thinking so much about his listeners, and the result is raw, good raw. Forget cutesy, this album is mean; the kind of beats that make you grimace they're so hard. True hip hop fans finally get something to chew on here, and while I don't know where it stands in the holy 10 of hip hop classics, I can truly say that it is the best hip hop album of this year and perhaps the past 5. It's ambitious, deliberate, and complete. November 22nd is Kanye Day forever. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What a great Album. Comes from Kanye's heart. This album is to everyone who has questioned Kanye West's artistic abilities. Very deep, and a new approach to hip-hop.

    Is this album going to change Hip Hop for good?
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This album is so much different then Kanye's previous albums. His lyrics an punch lines sound more edgier and have more raw flow. Kanye is a genius and brings creativity to the for front with this album. The only downfall is that its only 13 songs long, it keeps me wanting more
  7. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  8. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Whether you love him or hate him, there is no denying that Kanye is a musical genius. If you don't agree, then you have not listened to this album yet, or been keeping up with his G.O.O.D. Fridays' free track releases over the last 3 months. 2010 has been the year of Kanye, and this final album release not only meets all high expectations, but surpasses them. This is quite simply, the bestWhether you love him or hate him, there is no denying that Kanye is a musical genius. If you don't agree, then you have not listened to this album yet, or been keeping up with his G.O.O.D. Fridays' free track releases over the last 3 months. 2010 has been the year of Kanye, and this final album release not only meets all high expectations, but surpasses them. This is quite simply, the best album Kanye has released to this date in his career. And there is no denying the simple fact, that this is clearly the album of the year. Expand
  9. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is an instant classic, for the second i put my headphones on and started to listen to the 1st track on the album, i was assured that this album will be Kanyes best album to date.
    The guy is a genius, a living legend. And he was able to accept the events that happened at the VMAs and the backlash he had after it, and put out one of the best albums OF ALL
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is an instant classic, for the second i put my headphones on and started to listen to the 1st track on the album, i was assured that this album will be Kanyes best album to date.
    The guy is a genius, a living legend. And he was able to accept the events that happened at the VMAs and the backlash he had after it, and put out one of the best albums OF ALL TIME.....OF ALL TIME!
    Expand
  10. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Haters gon' hate. I think the ratio of negative to positive user reviews tells the whole story. This album is amazing and it isn't cool that people are attempting to maliciously bring down the average score. Metacritic should review scores of 0 for validity.
  11. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    When you check the user-reviews, either you find extremely high-ratings or extremely low-rating. That's the way it is with Kanye. It started with the 808's and heartbreak, either you absolutely loved it or you just really thought it was crap. That's what happened between the critics too. But in this album they're unanimously saying that it's a classic and I agree. It's just phenomenal, theWhen you check the user-reviews, either you find extremely high-ratings or extremely low-rating. That's the way it is with Kanye. It started with the 808's and heartbreak, either you absolutely loved it or you just really thought it was crap. That's what happened between the critics too. But in this album they're unanimously saying that it's a classic and I agree. It's just phenomenal, the production and the raps. They might be rude and seem very vulgar but hey, check the album title. It's supposed to be that way, it's just that kanye is one of the very few daring enough to speak his mind and the whole theme of the album was to explore his mind. Either you hate Kanye and therefore hate his music or you just hate him. Or you absolutely love him or hate him and love his music. What sets out kanye from the rest is the emotional reactions he gets everywhere from critics and just plain listeners. All in all, you either hate kanyes album or you love it, just like 808's and Heartbreak. I for one love them both. Just like most music lovers do.

    10/10 for it's brilliant production and possibly one of the very few classic albums of the 2000's so far.
    Expand
  12. Dec 1, 2010
    8
    One of the best mainstream hip hop albums of the year.. I personally like the fact that he acknowledge his faults but at the same time gives the middle finger to his haters and critics...
  13. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    I have a tendency to approach any wildly praised album with a degree of skepticism...admittedly, I approached this album looking to be as critical as possible. A part of me was trying to dislike it. That part of me failed miserably, and the rest of me told the contrarian part to shut up and just listen to the awesomeness. It's the best-reviewed new release of 2010 for a reason. You oweI have a tendency to approach any wildly praised album with a degree of skepticism...admittedly, I approached this album looking to be as critical as possible. A part of me was trying to dislike it. That part of me failed miserably, and the rest of me told the contrarian part to shut up and just listen to the awesomeness. It's the best-reviewed new release of 2010 for a reason. You owe it to yourself to own this. I could sit here and analyze the music to try and convince you, but seriously...just get it and listen for yourself. That is all. Expand
  14. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This Album is the best album in the past ten years. He has discovered the fact that people don't buy music anymore and buy releasing tracks online every friday makes him a true legend. He has also included 5 covers and a movie for $3 more on the album. I mean what artist has ever done that. The production is amazing as well, he switches up the vocals on blame game so the listener canThis Album is the best album in the past ten years. He has discovered the fact that people don't buy music anymore and buy releasing tracks online every friday makes him a true legend. He has also included 5 covers and a movie for $3 more on the album. I mean what artist has ever done that. The production is amazing as well, he switches up the vocals on blame game so the listener can recognize that there is two people talking to each other. All of the Lights has to be my personal best. I mean what rap artist has transformed a song by putting Rihanna, Fergie, Elton John, Kid Cudi, La-Roux's Lead Singer, The Dream, John Legend, and Ryan Leslie all on one track. People have criticized this man long enough for his "stealing of moments" ...give me a break. I haven't heard a hip hop album this moving since about the time Nas released Illmatic. This man deserves true respect and loves his job. The least you can do is check out some of the previews then buy it because a true hip hop fan would know that is a good choice. Expand
  15. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Excellently edgy lyrics and a simultaneously raw, yet polished sound. It's one of the best hip hop albums of 2010, along with Big Boi's and Gorillaz' efforts, Sir Lucious Left Foot and Plastic Beach, respectively. And maybe even Janelle Monáe's record, too, if you overlook the heavy soul influences.
  16. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I'm wondering why those Kanye "fans" rated this album poorly claiming it doesn't live up to their expectations or it's not what they expected. If they were fans, they would have known what to expect with G.O.O.D. Fridays posting almost half the album. Anyway, this is a great album. Fantastically produced, and the lyrics are on par with what he did in his first two albums. Just plain good music.
  17. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best album in 2010, (for a little better than Eminem's Recovery). All of the songs are just great. I was expecting this for a long time, and I couldn't imagine so good album. everything less than 10 would be stupid.
  18. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Kanye West's best album. His flow, lyrics, the beats, samples - all top notch. Every song is memorable. This album proves that Kanye's not just a rapper or a producer, but an artist. MBDTF is art. Anyone who calls him untalented, even before this album, but certainly now, is straight up WRONG.
  19. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This is a GREAT album. A sure contender for the album of 2010. People that are hating on the album are basically complaining because of some of the words he says. Lets be serious now, if you are a fan of rap music then this is nothing and if you don't like it then you can go and pick up the clean version and then listen to it and you can appreciate the ammount of effort that he puts intoThis is a GREAT album. A sure contender for the album of 2010. People that are hating on the album are basically complaining because of some of the words he says. Lets be serious now, if you are a fan of rap music then this is nothing and if you don't like it then you can go and pick up the clean version and then listen to it and you can appreciate the ammount of effort that he puts into every song. Add GOOD Fridays and that just adds up to the appreciation of effort.
    I don't care what anybody says because All Of The Lights owns all. It has to be played with the interlude. Its just not the same otherwise!
    Expand
  20. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    I'm still kind of new to Metacritic so if you've noticed some of my other reviews, it appears that I like to hand out great reviews. Eventually I will get around to trashing some stuff, but not before I uplift this album as the best album of 2010. This is such a great album that I wish I could afford to buy 10 copies of it. I've always thought Kanye has made great albums in my opinion, butI'm still kind of new to Metacritic so if you've noticed some of my other reviews, it appears that I like to hand out great reviews. Eventually I will get around to trashing some stuff, but not before I uplift this album as the best album of 2010. This is such a great album that I wish I could afford to buy 10 copies of it. I've always thought Kanye has made great albums in my opinion, but this has to be his best one yet. He definitely sets the bar for the next decade of music. If you ignore this because of the Taylor Swift/VMA incident, then you are stupid and it will be your loss. This is the work of a true artist. Expand
  21. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    I haven't been a Kanye Fan since his first album; but album has revitalized my interest in him. This album is almost a masterpiece; the only track I somewhat dislike is All the Lights ( I find Rihanna's Voice Annoying....but the track as a whole isn't that bad). 9.5/10 ... so I round up
  22. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This has the perfect critic rating , still some people here find a way to give it a 0 ! Try and be a smart hater next time !
    I guess the best way to review this album is by telling you the only way you gonna understand its greatness is by listenning to it no matter what type of music youre accustomed to.It goes beyond any genre or stereotype.Its pure artistry.
    This album is a perfect
    This has the perfect critic rating , still some people here find a way to give it a 0 ! Try and be a smart hater next time !
    I guess the best way to review this album is by telling you the only way you gonna understand its greatness is by listenning to it no matter what type of music youre accustomed to.It goes beyond any genre or stereotype.Its pure artistry.
    This album is a perfect combination of his 4 previous LPs :
    -Soul of College dropout
    -Hip-hop and Instrumentalism of Late Registration
    -Futurism of Graduation
    -Melodies of 808's
    Its not rewieable but i still give it a big 10 ! Thank you very much Mr West
    Expand
  23. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    I think there's enough reviews out there to cover my thoughts.

    All I'm going to say is this album is just a masterpiece in all sense of the word...

    The album itself is a extension of who he is....its too long....too many guest stars...w/e it is....there is a reason for it...

    Hes always been a over the top guy...it only makes sense songs run long and the guest list is filled.

    Brilliant album.
  24. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    His best album!! loving it. Album of the year in my opinion. Truly amazing. I just might listen to hip hop some more. I though i would quit listening to rap music.
  25. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    An absolutely triumphant album. In many ways, this is his Exile On Main Street. These are albums where everything musically, from the artists past, comes together in a darker, louder, more decadent sound. Add in the fact that like EoTM, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy contains lyrics of regret, excess, ego, drugs, religion and hints at psychological despair. And simply put they bothAn absolutely triumphant album. In many ways, this is his Exile On Main Street. These are albums where everything musically, from the artists past, comes together in a darker, louder, more decadent sound. Add in the fact that like EoTM, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy contains lyrics of regret, excess, ego, drugs, religion and hints at psychological despair. And simply put they both rock. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, while probably not the better record, is definitely more personal than EoMS though. Furthermore, when has any rapper, of Kanye's magnitude, been as personal as this on record; putting everything out there on the line for both his many fans and critics to observe? It's a special record, one that will be enjoyed more and more upon repeated listens. The best album of the year, and an immediate early candidate for album of the decade. Expand
  26. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This album has to be the greatest thing I've ever listened to. Every song contains a different story just waiting to be read. Kanye put a lot of work into this album and it shows. It's pretty sad how some people have been reviewing this album based on their personal feelings about Kanye, or about the Taylor Swift incident. If you actually listen to the album you can see the true geniusThis album has to be the greatest thing I've ever listened to. Every song contains a different story just waiting to be read. Kanye put a lot of work into this album and it shows. It's pretty sad how some people have been reviewing this album based on their personal feelings about Kanye, or about the Taylor Swift incident. If you actually listen to the album you can see the true genius that Mr. West is. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy will be album of the year. Expand
  27. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Likely the best album of the year, and arguably the best hip hop album since The Blueprint, if not of all time. Not only is this further proof that Kanye is one of the most creative people (not to mention the best producer) working in music today, but he's finally come into his own as an MC, which is just icing on the cake. This is his masterpiece, and only time will tell if he can topLikely the best album of the year, and arguably the best hip hop album since The Blueprint, if not of all time. Not only is this further proof that Kanye is one of the most creative people (not to mention the best producer) working in music today, but he's finally come into his own as an MC, which is just icing on the cake. This is his masterpiece, and only time will tell if he can top it... but at this point, I wouldn't bet against him.

    Also, to those who appear to be giving negative reviews solely based on their dislike for Kanye as a person, consider that whether or not someone is a jerk has no bearing on the quality of his or her work. And to those who appear to be giving negative reviews based solely on the frequency of bad language in the lyrics, consider that you're probably not in any position to be reviewing the quality of a hip hop album.
    Expand
  28. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Flawless. Absolutely flawless. I never thought I could gain such inspiration and feel so drained from any rap album.
    Kanye defies genre and even music in the goal of being an artist, instead of a musician, and he nails it at a level that...there are no words. The flow is incredible and the songs complement each other, feeding off and referencing to make it clear that they're a true
    Flawless. Absolutely flawless. I never thought I could gain such inspiration and feel so drained from any rap album.
    Kanye defies genre and even music in the goal of being an artist, instead of a musician, and he nails it at a level that...there are no words. The flow is incredible and the songs complement each other, feeding off and referencing to make it clear that they're a true album...and yet, you can still listen to them as individuals and not know that you're missing anything.
    Every single song would earn a 10/10 from me - Monster was a close call, but Minaj killed her part (of all the people...)
    There is no greater hope for our ears than this remarkable Schizoid Man. We may survive in America after all.
    Thank you, Kanye West.
    Thank you.
    Expand
  29. Nov 23, 2010
    9
    One of the most ambitious and engaging albums I have ever heard. Kanye West puts himself at the top of the game with this one, proving that he can do more than just rap about how much bling and **** he has. The way he can examine himself and has the balls to point out his douchebag ways in songs like "Blame Game" and "Runaway" is unheard of in the hip hop genre today. In addition, theOne of the most ambitious and engaging albums I have ever heard. Kanye West puts himself at the top of the game with this one, proving that he can do more than just rap about how much bling and **** he has. The way he can examine himself and has the balls to point out his douchebag ways in songs like "Blame Game" and "Runaway" is unheard of in the hip hop genre today. In addition, the production on the album is about as elegant as it gets. We, as a society, view Kanye as this outspoken, obnoxious guy and the redeeming feature of My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the fact that we get an inside look into the psyche of West and ultimately, sympathize with him. Furthermore, the beats and lyrics, two main things I always look for in a hip hop album, are there 100 percent and make most all other rappers stuff look meek. Overall, the way Kanye is able to put his heart and soul into this one while not letting that hold him back from providing 13 amazing hip hop tracks that you could listen to individually and say "Wow!" is something I have never seen before and sets a new standard for the whole genre. Expand
  30. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    this is kanye west best album so far. One of the best hip hop album i ever heard in a long time. I think kanye is brilliant all songs is amazing. This is the best hip hop album of the year and top five album of the year. this is a classic album .If you are a fan of hip hop you should own this album. A true hip hop fan recognize good hip hop albums. So happy kanye came back with a classicthis is kanye west best album so far. One of the best hip hop album i ever heard in a long time. I think kanye is brilliant all songs is amazing. This is the best hip hop album of the year and top five album of the year. this is a classic album .If you are a fan of hip hop you should own this album. A true hip hop fan recognize good hip hop albums. So happy kanye came back with a classic hip hip album 808 was a good album but it wasn't a classic type of album like this one. Good job kanye west Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]