User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1219 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What the hell is this? This music is just swearing mixed with **** at his fans with a few good songs inside. Also, based on the 16 reviews it has, it should be at a 94, not 100, although that is still much too high for this stupid album. I really cannot stand this, and I hold nothing against Kanye West. Dark Fantast, Power and All Of The Lights are very good, and most of the other songs are annoyingly repetitive, especially So Appalled and Monster. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    10
    I have a tendency to approach any wildly praised album with a degree of skepticism...admittedly, I approached this album looking to be as critical as possible. A part of me was trying to dislike it. That part of me failed miserably, and the rest of me told the contrarian part to shut up and just listen to the awesomeness. It's the best-reviewed new release of 2010 for a reason. You owe it to yourself to own this. I could sit here and analyze the music to try and convince you, but seriously...just get it and listen for yourself. That is all. Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This Album is the best album in the past ten years. He has discovered the fact that people don't buy music anymore and buy releasing tracks online every friday makes him a true legend. He has also included 5 covers and a movie for $3 more on the album. I mean what artist has ever done that. The production is amazing as well, he switches up the vocals on blame game so the listener can recognize that there is two people talking to each other. All of the Lights has to be my personal best. I mean what rap artist has transformed a song by putting Rihanna, Fergie, Elton John, Kid Cudi, La-Roux's Lead Singer, The Dream, John Legend, and Ryan Leslie all on one track. People have criticized this man long enough for his "stealing of moments" ...give me a break. I haven't heard a hip hop album this moving since about the time Nas released Illmatic. This man deserves true respect and loves his job. The least you can do is check out some of the previews then buy it because a true hip hop fan would know that is a good choice. Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Excellently edgy lyrics and a simultaneously raw, yet polished sound. It's one of the best hip hop albums of 2010, along with Big Boi's and Gorillaz' efforts, Sir Lucious Left Foot and Plastic Beach, respectively. And maybe even Janelle Monáe's record, too, if you overlook the heavy soul influences.
  5. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    I'm wondering why those Kanye "fans" rated this album poorly claiming it doesn't live up to their expectations or it's not what they expected. If they were fans, they would have known what to expect with G.O.O.D. Fridays posting almost half the album. Anyway, this is a great album. Fantastically produced, and the lyrics are on par with what he did in his first two albums. Just plain good music.
  6. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    Is he the best rapper alive? Maybe. Is he the best producer right now? You bet. (sorry Dre, you gotta put out more stuff) But the question is... Is he really and truly the voice of this generation? Well.... no.
    Kanye is somewhat outlandish to be a representative of a generation. Sure, he spits some truth but musically he is on a different level. He is on level infinity (aka the Kanye
    level). But the fact that he isn't a voice of a generation does not diminish the significance of his role in pop music today. He is the freshest, most innovative, and most daring of all pop stars. And MBDTF is yet another testament to his genius.

    While it does seem like a culmination of his first four albums in terms of sound, lyrically it is a pumped up Kanye taking on various victims like the government, South Park, and SNL. But MBDTF also features the more vulnerable side of Kanye while also promoting the man through brilliant braggadocio. The thumping POWER features Kanye spitting "I guess every superhero needs his theme music" at the same time saying "No one man should have all that power" as if he is aware of both sides to the argument.

    The production is Kanye at his killer best. A song that could be another multiple guest bloated collabo turns out to be a truly majestic track (All Of the Lights) that retains ambition while also feeling fit without any corny elements. There is the buzzy Hell Of A Life featuring Kanye proudly saying, "I think I just fell in love with a porn star". But the real apex of Kanye's career is Runaway. It is a simple piano plinkering beat accompanied by bass and later some violins, all supporting a chorus that gives toast to the **** douchebags, scumbags, and jerk-offs in the world. The song gets even weirder when an auto-tuned Kanye sings unintelligible lines as the song's coda. Yet it all magically works.

    If you are one of those Kanye fans who simply loved College Dropout so much that they could not feel the same for his other albums, then you are not a Kanye fan and chances are you won't appreciate this album like the crackheads at Dot Music and Guardian (though the website surprisingly also gave a 80 to this same album). MBDTF is definitely the album of the year (even if it didn't make it into 2010 Grammy season). It's a dark fantasy. It's a twisted fantasy. It's a beautiful fantasy. But best of all, it's Kanye's beautiful dark twisted fantasy.
    Expand
  8. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best albums of all time. Of all time!

    Seriously though. Can't believe how good he is. His 4th masterpiece. The beat on 'All of the Lights' is insane.
  9. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    I can't believe this.This is the definition of music.This isn't just an awesome hip hop artist that can flow like no other,this is the best music I have ever heard in my life!I can see why it's one of the best rated albums ever.It's mind blowing,artistic,deep,intelligent,just The best hip hop album ever created and probably the best one that will ever be made unless he makes a better album which he probably will.Forget how eminem can flow some artists have great dance music,Kanye west has it all and he is the best lyrical genius ever.Most rap artists are just good on the surface but Kanye West has a deep lyrical nature to him that can't be touched by anyone.10, 10 ,10.If there was an 11 rating he would deserve it for this album! Expand
  10. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best album in 2010, (for a little better than Eminem's Recovery). All of the songs are just great. I was expecting this for a long time, and I couldn't imagine so good album. everything less than 10 would be stupid.
  11. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Kanye West's best album. His flow, lyrics, the beats, samples - all top notch. Every song is memorable. This album proves that Kanye's not just a rapper or a producer, but an artist. MBDTF is art. Anyone who calls him untalented, even before this album, but certainly now, is straight up WRONG.
  12. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    If there was ever a definition of a "modern day classic" this would be it. If you don't own this album then you must buy it now. Kanye West bares his soul in an album so bold it will never get old. I come from a guitar based background but this album is extraordinary.
  13. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This is a GREAT album. A sure contender for the album of 2010. People that are hating on the album are basically complaining because of some of the words he says. Lets be serious now, if you are a fan of rap music then this is nothing and if you don't like it then you can go and pick up the clean version and then listen to it and you can appreciate the ammount of effort that he puts into every song. Add GOOD Fridays and that just adds up to the appreciation of effort.
    I don't care what anybody says because All Of The Lights owns all. It has to be played with the interlude. Its just not the same otherwise!
    Expand
  14. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    I wrote my initial review the day this album came out... i did not give it enough time to sink in... now that i have listened to the entire album 20 or more times i can comfortably say this... This is one of the best rap albums to ever come out and one of the best albums ever in popular culture. Kanye from beginning to finish delivers song after song of unique, deep and emotion. The beats are unique and rivaled by few, The direction of the songs themselves, filled with tangents of audio awe and the crisp, clean, and much of the time dirty lyrics make this album a sensation. We have never seen this side of Kanye West before. Sure in the past he has slowed down and made heartfelt and emotional songs but never like this. Because this album is focused on one thing, not his dead mother (rip) not his love that left him and not about child slaves who harvest diamonds. This album is 68 minutes and 42 seconds spent on Kayne, specifically his Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasies of his mind. What is in the mind of this self absorbed notoriously inconsiderate a**hole of a man? Well it is in the title. A Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Expand
  15. May 5, 2013
    10
    It's hard to know where to start talking about a record like this in all honesty. Never before have I heard an album that combines so much ambition, creativity, genius, hubris and darkness with so much skill, restraint and care to prevent it from collapsing under its own weight. Albums like this should implode, become disasters, and exist as nothing but unfinished, shelved projects that live among public myths as rubble, wreckage and hopes of what might have been. But this is Kanye West, and this is My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.

    Kanye never loses control of the ambition, or the creation or the experimentation. He creates a level all of his own in this respect despite having so many guest producers, collaborators, range of song styles and song writers. To putt it simply, Kanye’s ability to be so incredibly introspective and self-aware keeps his 2010 release interesting right up until the last note. In this case, Kanye is the man stood on the side of the street juggling knives, bowling balls and pieces of fruit while others stand and wait for him to drop everything. But his character, ego and personality shine through and manifest themselves through sampling artistry, a grasp of a range of atmosphere that hasn't been mirrored since its 2010 release and an effective ear for pop and hip-hop's most positive traits.

    Thanks, Kanye. I'll let you finish.
    Expand
  16. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    One of the best albums of the year and a modern classic in this decade. Kanye has officially become the king of rap as his hero MJ became the king of pop. Amazing.
  17. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This is an album that deserves the acclaim it is getting through the press. It has some pretty awesome transitions between tracks and some pretty cutting edge stuff for a "mainstream" rap album. I actually think a lot of "mainstream" fans are going to resist this album, and for that, and the risk-taking that Kanye is taking, I give this CD a 10.
  18. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Imma let you finish, but this is an awesome album. Every track is boldly produced and perfectly. And it has a certain flame within each song.
  19. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Kanye West My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is the best hip hop album in years. It is the best so far this new decade of the 10's. My opinion of Kanye is he is the most talented rapper alive. This album sh***** on the haters. Kanye crafted a masterpiece and it needs to be bought this holiday season!!! From the RZA crafted Dark Fantasy to the mind blowing Lost In The World, this album is pure fire, chaos, love and redemption. A beautiful dark twisted fantasy Kanye, you did hip hop proud!!! Expand
  20. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    All great artists need inspiration. And there isn't much stronger inspiration like becoming a social pariah and consistently being deemed a problem, even if your intentions are good. The positive side of such drama is it makes for fuel to an artist's fire. Being one of the most talented hip-hop icons of the last decade, Kanye allowed that fuel to generate an inferno in his new CD, My Beautiful, Dark, Twisted Fantasy. Unlike 808s and Heartbreaks where his inspiration was more of a personal loss, Kanye's new inspiration is anger, hurt, embarrassment and redemption, if not socially, then at least personally. The production is grand, just like Kanye's ego, but also representative of the message he wants to send. Anyone who is in tune with Kanye's work could always separate his public **** from his artistic genius. It's impossible to be able hate this work without allowing personal feelings about Kanye or hip-hop to make its way into your criticism. Empirically, hip-hop very rarely gets this good. Kanye has done the best job anyone could ever hope to do when conveying intense feelings via their chosen artistic conduit. Lyrically, of course there are elements of the hip-hop culture that those who are not fans of choose to point to and hate, such as cursing and the dreaded N word. This is unique music, though. From the sampling, layers of music, themes, singing and, yes, rapping, Kanye has the right ingredients to cook the tastiest stew. Expand
  21. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    WOW, MASTERPIECE, that's the only accurate way of defining this album, it is sick twisted and on that next level, Kanye West is a mad genius, who leads us into the realm of this inner most thoughts on an album, and has an album that you can simply enjoy, if you have 12$ you want to spend on music, spend it on this album!
  22. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Holy **** And I mean holy **** Every track from Dark Fantasy to Who Will Survive In America is **** genius. Especially the song Runaway. Holy **** **** I think I shat my pants around the 5 minute part and then almost came when the song was over. This album sure is dark, twisted but unbelievably beautiful. LISTEN
  23. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Only time will tell if this surpasses The College Dropout as Kanye's best album. Taken in total with the G.O.O.D. Fridays 'Ye has been releasing since August, Fall 2010 has proven that Mr. West is undoubtably one of the most ambitious and talented artists of our time. If only his personality would match the strength of his records... 10/10.
  24. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This may well be one of hip-hop's greatest triumphs. With the gifted Kanye West, who remains one of the most of the 21st century, My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy begins with "Dark Fantasy", with a narration & introduction by Nicki Minaj. The album is very creative & diverse, with strings as interludes & powerful speeches. Not to mention the Auto-Tune breakdown in the full-length nine-minute-epic "Runaway". Now that's how you use Auto-Tune. The album goes from old-school rap to soaring ballads with tribal drums & sing-along choruses. This sounds nothing like any other music out today. This is the Graceland of 2010. Expand
  25. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    Yup, K did it again. Another superb record full of original, stand-out numbers. Say what you want about his character, but he seems to be growing and growing as a musician, which is nice to see as most start off good and then get worse and worse. Also good to seem him return toi rap after after his last album, which although good, wasn't what I wanted to hear from him personally.
  26. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    I'm still kind of new to Metacritic so if you've noticed some of my other reviews, it appears that I like to hand out great reviews. Eventually I will get around to trashing some stuff, but not before I uplift this album as the best album of 2010. This is such a great album that I wish I could afford to buy 10 copies of it. I've always thought Kanye has made great albums in my opinion, but this has to be his best one yet. He definitely sets the bar for the next decade of music. If you ignore this because of the Taylor Swift/VMA incident, then you are stupid and it will be your loss. This is the work of a true artist. Expand
  27. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Kanye West is officially back. One of his best pieces of work ever. No one is currently in his league. The album is well crafted and it is ART. Art, like only Kanye can do it. The production is superb and on point. The masterpiece, classic and Kanye's Thriller!!!! Well done!
  28. Jul 14, 2011
    10
    Many people that reviewed this album seemed to have bias opinions when honestly this album was amazing. there's a reason why critics gave it such good reviews. THE SOUND!! putting the lyrics aside as they were good, but nothing to special. the sound and production of this album was perfect. he absolutely perfected the production, and the sampling was awesome. Pretty much every song had an amazing hook and chorus that draws the listener in to listen to more. The album also had some elements of his last album "808's and Heartbreak" which i thought was awesome. The lyrics were really good too, but the production is what sent this album to amazing status. easily the best album of that year. Kanye once again did not disappoint. He may have a huge ego, but he makes up for it with his musical talent. Can't wait to hear more from him. Expand
  29. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This album is unadulterated perfection. I thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. This is definitely his best album, and it may be the best album of the year, it's just that good. After the VMA incident, he really buckled down to create a masterpiece, it was damaging to his reputation, but it was the best thing that could have happened to improve his art. He produced a true testament to his skill and creativity. This is one of the first albums that I can listen to from the first track to the last track multiple times in a row. If this album doesn't debut #1 on Billboard 200, that would be a real tragedy, because this album trumps Taylor Swift's and Rihanna's latest offerings convincingly. Expand
  30. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This is probably the best album Kanye West has ever put out. Rather than trying to put out another crappy, Autotune infested album like 808s and Heartbreak, he uses classical instrumental and & covers and creates tracks that turns this album into a superb work of art.
    This album is also one of the most hilarious he's ever done. In some tracks, particularly Runaway, Kanye West starts
    dissing himself, toasting to "douche bags, **** scumbags, and jerk-offs". Even in the Bonus track, See Me Now, he mocks his VMA's interrupting of Taylor Swift, even featuring Beyonce.
    All in all, this is probably the best album of the year.
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    West is far from rap's deftest lyricist but his neurotic grandstanding is compelling and often pretty funny to boot. [Feb 2011, p.84]
  2. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  3. Apr 20, 2011
    100
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is genuinely a great record. [Feb. 2011, p. 108]