My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 1518 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Breaking traditional mainstream hip-hop guidelines, Kanye West's latest release features epic raps and long instrumental variations for his most innovative album to date.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. 100
    There is no question that this album is a game changer. It's Kanye West's greatest work.
  2. Dec 7, 2010
    100
    The effort to canonize My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy as one of hip-hop's all-time high points is already underway, and I'm confident that Kanye's new album can weather the backlash that all potential classics must confront.
  3. XXL
    Dec 23, 2010
    100
    The end result is a body of work that pushes hip-hop in a bold new direction and puts Mr,. West back at the forefront of the culture once again.
  4. 90
    After the celebri-beef and ALL CAPS blog posts fade away, Fantasy will stand as an album that dare to push the entire medium of recorded music forward, for better or worse.
  5. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    In fact, this record's only flaw is that its scale is so awe-inspiring it tends to paper over any weaker cracks.
  6. Dec 7, 2010
    90
    Maybe it's not surprising that My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is so seamlessly his personal best.
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    40
    This album offers beats that retread past glories, and an emotional palette narrowed to a range roughly as wide as West's navel.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 355
  1. Duu
    Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This album was an all-time classic from the moment it was released. The very first time I heard it, I knew it was a classic. It was as obviousThis album was an all-time classic from the moment it was released. The very first time I heard it, I knew it was a classic. It was as obvious as the sun in the sky is: nothing like it had been heard before in terms of hip-hop music. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best album of the year...so far!!!!! this the sound of the future, the sound of real hip-hop and rap music, the sound of the music...this is Kanye West!!! great artist and a real genius...! this album is so creative, original and perfect!!! the best album of his career...! i wan t this album in my country! great lyrics, crazy and awesome! perfect album!!!!!! Expand
  3. May 2, 2011
    10
    In a musical landscape full of repetition, silence behind smiles because you don't really feel it...the best thing I can say about this albumIn a musical landscape full of repetition, silence behind smiles because you don't really feel it...the best thing I can say about this album is that you FEEL it. Kanye sounds possessed on this album--very close to a live show. Some "compliment" a band or artist when they play live by saying they sound like they do on record. In my opinion, it's the opposite--artists should strive to sound on record like they do live. On a record, you miss the emotion--the raw power that drives the song. Very few artists have that power, and even fewer albums do. This is one of those albums, and it's present on nearly every track. It is...indescribably good. Buy this album. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Kanye West is a musicall genious, every thing this man touches turns to gold every song he gets on is a musicall masterpiece. he isKanye West is a musicall genious, every thing this man touches turns to gold every song he gets on is a musicall masterpiece. he is deffenitlly one of my favorite rappers of all time. This album is his latest solo installment and has that sound that blows the radio in your car up. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is an instant classic, for the second i put my headphones on and started to listen to the 1st track on theMy Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy is an instant classic, for the second i put my headphones on and started to listen to the 1st track on the album, i was assured that this album will be Kanyes best album to date.
    The guy is a genius, a living legend. And he was able to accept the events that happened at the VMAs and the backlash he had after it, and put out one of the best albums OF ALL TIME.....OF ALL TIME!
    Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2015
    9
    "Can we get much higher?" Kanye West asks on the opener and title track to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The answer is "yes", which can"Can we get much higher?" Kanye West asks on the opener and title track to My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy. The answer is "yes", which can be seen over the course of the entire album. My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy was, without a doubt, the high point in West's career. From beginning to end of this album, Kanye West's lyrical (more than ever) and production talent. West uses a variety of production styles on this album - ranging from soul ("Devil in a New Dress") to [not so explicitly] trap ("All of the LIghts"). Kanye is also clever lyrically on My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, making confessions about his personality ("Runaway", "POWER") and talking about his fantasies ("Dark Fantasy"). I love how much West is able to admit how much of a jerk he is (although I thoroughly appreciate him as an artist). And on this album, Kanye West shows a great deal of originality, also: the production and lyrics, although imperfect at times, cannot be matched by any other artist. West just shows how unique he is on this album. This album was undoubtedly one of the best of 2010, and definitely one of the best hip hop albums of all time. Grade: A. Highlights: "All of the Lights", "Monster", "So Appalled", "Devil in a New Dress". Worst song: "Runaway" (It's not that I didn't like this song, it just bored me with its repetitive chord progression, its intense length, and the distorted Auto-Tuned vocals at the end.) Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2015
    0
    How this man managed to pull the wool over so many peoples' eyes is anyone's guess. From the awkwardly-sampled stolen beats and riffs to theHow this man managed to pull the wool over so many peoples' eyes is anyone's guess. From the awkwardly-sampled stolen beats and riffs to the stuttered, a-rhythmic "rapping," this album is a mess. I recognize that rhyming is a bendable concept when it comes to popular music, but words do not rhyme with themselves and repeated phrases do not you Robert Frost make.

    West had trouble getting others to accept his rapping at first, and for good reason. I will admit that I am not a big fan of rap at all, but it has its place; Kanye doesn't seem to know that place. He passes off his jarring, conversational, I'm-trying-to-explain-philosophy-in-my-college-discussion-section-while-drunk voice as music and it just doesn't fly. Rap works when you're doing things with your voice not possible when singing. Kanye simply does things with his voice not pleasant either way.

    I can only hope that this overwhelming delusion the general public and so many reviewers seem to suffer from is a passing fad. I can only hope in 10 years we'll look back on this like many now do on Will Smith and say, "We listened to what?" I can only hope this isn't this generation's legacy.
    Expand

See all 355 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2010

    The Best Albums of 2010 Image
    Published: January 11, 2011
    Spoiler alert: Kanye West had the best-reviewed album of 2010. But which other releases impressed critics last year? We run down the 40 highest-scoring albums, and also examine the best releases of the year in various categories.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. 2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Music Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 6, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we'll be tracking the year-end Top Ten lists published by various music sites, magazines, and more. Find out which albums are currently in the running for best album of the year.