My Dinosaur Life

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jan 19, 2010
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 46
  2. Negative: 6 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GregH
    Jan 27, 2010
    2
    Shopping mall and supermarket music. Are all the reviewers 13 year olds?
  2. GiorgiaM.
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    Love all th songs and the combination with tha amazing art of Joe Ledbetter create something UNIQUE! 10 +!!
  3. AndrewK.
    Jan 20, 2010
    9
    Their best album to date. Great songs, amazing lyrics, and overall just awesome. I highly recommend everyone to at least check them out and go buy their album.
  4. CalebH.
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    Brilliant lyrics; astounding music; They deserve a gold star.
  5. JoshB
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    I would give this album a 9.7 but it wont let me. This could be argued as the bands best album yet as could I Am the Movie and Commit This to Memory. There isn't a song on this album that i wouldn't love to continually listen to over and over again and it doesn't yet give off the vibe that I may one day get tired of the album. also after pre-ordering the deluxe version of I would give this album a 9.7 but it wont let me. This could be argued as the bands best album yet as could I Am the Movie and Commit This to Memory. There isn't a song on this album that i wouldn't love to continually listen to over and over again and it doesn't yet give off the vibe that I may one day get tired of the album. also after pre-ordering the deluxe version of the album and getting to see all of the Joe Ledbetter artwork in all its glory it really does add something more to an already amazing album. Expand
  6. Tyler
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    Awesome! MCS one again delivers the goods. They are an incredibly hard working band that deserves more attention and respect then have received over the years. Justin has a special view of the world that is framed with unique and personal lyrics. MCS is amazing ....thanks for delivering a great record!!!
  7. JoshTr
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    This album has the potential to be Motion City Soundtrack's best so far. The only real complaint I have is the song History Lesson. Justin voice somewhat saves it from being completely terrible, but still I skip over it when listening to the album.
  8. CodyA
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    This combination of smart, relatable lyrics and catchy, carefully-constructed music doesn't come around very often. How can a band with such mass appeal still be invisible to the masses? I hope it stays that way so they don't fall victim to jaded and disgruntled critics in the future.
  9. Aug 11, 2010
    10
    After 2007's "Even If It Kills Me" disappointed in a fairly large way. It's good to see Motion City Soundtrack come back and make what is arguably the best album of their career. Also making what is, inarguably, the best song of their career: "Pulp Fiction". Major kudos all around, this album is great.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. The complexities and dense topics still remain on Dinosaur, giving the album many layers for the listener to peel apart. Basically, My Dinosaur Life is the fusion of the best moments of Motion City Soundtrack's previous three albums and expanding on that, while maintaining all the uniqueness and quirks that fans love about the band.
  2. Alternative Press
    100
    Motion City Soundtrack have made the best album of their career and easily one of the best albums of 2010 or any other year. [Feb 2010, p.91]
  3. On My Dinosaur Life, the Minneapolis quintet's winning fourth album (ably produced by blink-182's Mark Hoppus), frontguy Justin Pierre lets his geek flag fly, likening a breakup to the destruction of Superman's home world and puzzling over ephemera ranging from acid rain to Busta Rhymes, all backed by soaring choruses guaranteed to fossilize themselves into your brain.