Neon Bible

  • Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 835 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 835

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2011
    8
    It was always going to be impossible to follow up Funeral. Expectations on this album were probably a bit too high. It's actually quite a good album but where Funeral was fresh and vibrant, Neon Bible sounds a bit stale and jaded before it even gets going. Apparently the record was written while the band were still touring Funeral - which comes across on the record. The fact that one ofIt was always going to be impossible to follow up Funeral. Expectations on this album were probably a bit too high. It's actually quite a good album but where Funeral was fresh and vibrant, Neon Bible sounds a bit stale and jaded before it even gets going. Apparently the record was written while the band were still touring Funeral - which comes across on the record. The fact that one of the strongest tracks on it, No Cars Go, was hanging around for years illustrates this point. Still, if you take Funeral out of the equation (yes that's my 4th time mentioning it) and take this album on its own merits, it's well worth getting into and has some gems on it. The songwriting at times is a little bit pompous which takes away from the songs and the production is also a bit ott. Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    Neon Bible is a joyous listen. Every song is absolutely magnificent. It was a great big step in the right direction from their first masterpiece Funeral. It's dark, perfectly written, compellingly instrumental and a beautiful voice from Win Butler. This album was my favorite album at one point. I could never stop listening to it. All In All, Neon Bible has some of my favorite songs of allNeon Bible is a joyous listen. Every song is absolutely magnificent. It was a great big step in the right direction from their first masterpiece Funeral. It's dark, perfectly written, compellingly instrumental and a beautiful voice from Win Butler. This album was my favorite album at one point. I could never stop listening to it. All In All, Neon Bible has some of my favorite songs of all time on it and its a fantastic album. Expand
  3. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Not as good as it's predecessor, but still relevant in their songwriting and progression as a band. I like how they get down with their darker side, where Funeral seems lighter with a bit more of a pop feel.
  4. Feb 23, 2014
    9
    Arcade Fire’s sophomore release has a shaky beginning and a mid-album crisis, but is altogether a confirmation of the immense talent the Canadian band has shown on their debut and an establishment of them in the indie scene. Neon Bible isn’t the same as Funeral though: Win Butler, Régine Chassagne, and co. have got bleaker, but also clearer with their social criticism. As the album’s titleArcade Fire’s sophomore release has a shaky beginning and a mid-album crisis, but is altogether a confirmation of the immense talent the Canadian band has shown on their debut and an establishment of them in the indie scene. Neon Bible isn’t the same as Funeral though: Win Butler, Régine Chassagne, and co. have got bleaker, but also clearer with their social criticism. As the album’s title indicates, the eleven tracks primarily serve as condemnations of television and religion, whether it’s through the perspective of Joe Simpson, exploiting his children for his own purposes (“(Antichrist Television Blues)”), or a man addressing his father (“Windowsill”). The result is highly intelligent and interesting music and shows a lot of new aspects of Arcade Fire, some of them better than anything they’ve ever shown before. I don’t mind about not entirely enjoying every single song, as Neon Bible is a musical progression that prophesies a great future for the band – whatever future that might be. Expand
  5. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    A soft and charming hug to the soul, illuminated with steady, eccentric and harmonic sounds and lyrics that ensemble joy, solitude and desperation. Honest as few, perfect as even less.
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    [9.8] Neon Bible is really Arcade Fire's fullest album in a retrospective sense. It has the powerful emotion of their first record, the cohesiveness of their style in general, and grandiosity which gives this album specifically the dark tone that makes it so god damn tense and exciting. If it weren't for just a small bit of underwhelming material, that certainly isn't bad, this might be a[9.8] Neon Bible is really Arcade Fire's fullest album in a retrospective sense. It has the powerful emotion of their first record, the cohesiveness of their style in general, and grandiosity which gives this album specifically the dark tone that makes it so god damn tense and exciting. If it weren't for just a small bit of underwhelming material, that certainly isn't bad, this might be a perfect album. The vocals are always tense, the strings sections, the organs, the guitars, and all of the other instruments are constantly exploding, and what really makes a statement is this album's lyrics. Taking on a seriously dark dystopian atmosphere, this album goes through some familiar territory with a generational paranoia. It's hard to point out flaws in this album unless you just don't care for this kind of music. Expand
  7. May 12, 2011
    9
    i enjoyed listening to this album. it was great. i still got to listen to funeral. but i really do like this one a lot. it had some great songs on this record
  8. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    For a kid who grew up in a conservative evangelical home, this record speaks right to me. Heartbreaking and brilliant from the first track to the last. It's extremely difficult to rate an Arcade Fire over another, but this one definitely stands out.
  9. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Every single song in this album is amazing, everything is done perfectly. I still cannot decide which one I like more but this album defined a period of my life, I can't even imagine how many times I've listened to it.
  10. Sep 30, 2015
    10
    This is an album that displays everything wrong with today's society with a magnifying glass, yet manages to make the whole concept sound so beautiful and mesmerizing. All the bad effects of television, media, and religion are put on spotlight in this amazing record, accompanied by poetic songwriting and emotionally resonant musical production and vocals. This is not a mere album, but anThis is an album that displays everything wrong with today's society with a magnifying glass, yet manages to make the whole concept sound so beautiful and mesmerizing. All the bad effects of television, media, and religion are put on spotlight in this amazing record, accompanied by poetic songwriting and emotionally resonant musical production and vocals. This is not a mere album, but an odyssey to stand the test of time.

    Absolutely worth a purchase if you've any love for the art of music.
    Expand
  11. Apr 19, 2014
    10
    A masterpiece. Maybe the lyrics of Will sometimes falls to the cold-hard ground, but the grandiosity of the sound and the orchestra itself picks it up. If you are a true listener of music, go ahead. If you don't really like the society you live in now, go ahead. If you're an atheist, or a Catholic who knows of the lies of priests, go ahead. You'll never regret it.
  12. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    My favorite Arcade Fire and one of my favorite (if not the favorite) albums of all time. I loved so many songs off this album and imo this is Arcade Fire at their peak.
  13. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Listen to it alone in the dark at night.
    My four personal favorite tracks: Keep the Car Running; Black Wave Bad Vibrations; Windowsill; No Cars Go.
    Enough said.
  14. Jan 21, 2013
    6
    I consider myself an Arcade Fire fan but Neon Bible just lacks the amount of variety present on Funeral and The Suburbs. Neon Bible does have impressive orchestration especially in the new rendition of No Cars Go. But overall this album is lacking in songs that pop out and lacks the amazing variety that their other two albums have.
  15. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    I think its hated on far too much because of how anti-religious this album is. Its not anti-religious in a bad way, Its merely saying that religion (while widely accepted) causes a lot more problems then what it is worth and that one day we will have to choose to keep it or abandond it. I loved this album and imo its the best album Arcade Fire put out.
  16. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Yes I'm writing this review in 2012, but now I've revisited this album after not giving it a fair chance the first time. I'm pleased to say that there is not a weak song on here. The other thing I like about it is the sense of cohesion and unity of mood that pervades. It really is a fun and engaging listen, and I daresay is my favorite AF album.
  17. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Easily their best work. I think people hate it so much because the entire album is pretty much saying "F" religion. While the band's sound is different, Its different in a good way. I loved this album.
  18. Sep 24, 2010
    9
    Because Funeral was just a complete and utter masterpiece, there is no way Arcade Fire can top their debut. It is said true here as it is not up to snuff with Funeral. Instead, they give a completely different sophomore effort. Instead of having a collection of atmospheric, haunting and heart felt songs from Funeral, they give a straightforward effort with a mixture of songs from theBecause Funeral was just a complete and utter masterpiece, there is no way Arcade Fire can top their debut. It is said true here as it is not up to snuff with Funeral. Instead, they give a completely different sophomore effort. Instead of having a collection of atmospheric, haunting and heart felt songs from Funeral, they give a straightforward effort with a mixture of songs from the jangly pop jives, the dark but grandiose and to the absolute energetic. It is a definite listen and an easy one at that as it is Arcade Fire's easily listen able but also a darker, more frontal experience. Expand
  19. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    The album is different from Funeral, darker than Funeral, but I do not believe weaker than Funeral. The songs are still powerful, still excellent. It isn't just a bunch of songs lumped together, as is so common - this is a real album, with a certain theme binding its tracks together.
  20. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    A truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter of which is better, but simply personal opinion. This though is my favourite of the three. Awesome songs include - All of them, lol. My truly stand out songs are Keep the car running, Intervention and No cars go.
    Oh and one more, My body is a cage makes
    A truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter of which is better, but simply personal opinion. This though is my favourite of the three. Awesome songs include - All of them, lol. My truly stand out songs are Keep the car running, Intervention and No cars go.
    Oh and one more, My body is a cage makes me weep every time. Enough said, Arcade fire are geniuses.
    Expand
  21. May 16, 2011
    9
    My least favourite Arcade Fire album, though still pretty outstanding... I love Black Mirror and My Body Is A Cage, though the only song that brings the score of this album down is Keep The Car Running
  22. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    I think that Funeral is the best Arcade Fire's album, but Neon Bible is my favorite. It's no pretentious but ambitious. The band made a very good album.
  23. Aug 16, 2013
    6
    Arcade Fire, trying to outshine Funeral, have created a melodramatic, overdone work. It has some good songs but just doesn't have the heart of Funeral.
  24. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    A fantastic album that encompasses such grand themes and lyricism that far outdo the competition today. An absolute masterpiece; lyrically, musically, thematically, and although vocally it isn't outstanding, that's almost the point... like the themes in their songs; nothing is perfect.
  25. May 9, 2014
    8
    A good sophomore effect by the spectacular indie rock band Arcade Fire. As vibrant as the sound goes this is the more centered album they have. It goes through Black Mirror an ambitious track that scales the lyrics with power but then you listen to intervention and you completely change your thoughts about the album. As soon as your done listening to the album the beautiful last minuteA good sophomore effect by the spectacular indie rock band Arcade Fire. As vibrant as the sound goes this is the more centered album they have. It goes through Black Mirror an ambitious track that scales the lyrics with power but then you listen to intervention and you completely change your thoughts about the album. As soon as your done listening to the album the beautiful last minute tracks No Cars Go and My Body is a Cage that stands out strongly till the end, great album to listen to. Expand
  26. Apr 21, 2011
    7
    Following on from a fantastic debut record is always tough work but The Arcade Fire have passed the test with Neon Bible. At times it might lack the emotion and passion that was felt on Funeral, as the band has traded that sound for a heavier indie rock sound that utilises the distorted guitar much more than on Funeral. It also sounds a little overdone at times, such as on Black Wave BadFollowing on from a fantastic debut record is always tough work but The Arcade Fire have passed the test with Neon Bible. At times it might lack the emotion and passion that was felt on Funeral, as the band has traded that sound for a heavier indie rock sound that utilises the distorted guitar much more than on Funeral. It also sounds a little overdone at times, such as on Black Wave Bad Vibrations, which is a dark and overcrowded piece of music. However on tracks such as No Cars Go and Keep The Car Running there's an incredible amount of spirit and vibe that can only have you praising The Arcade Fire. It might not be the equivalent of Funeral, but overall it's a solid indie rock follow up.
    Best tracks: Keep The Car Running, The Well And The Lighthouse, No Cars Go
    Expand
  27. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Powerful album for powerful people. But, really, Neon Bible is a worthy sequel to Funeral. Pulling from many of the same angst filled areas as Funeral, it manages to craft an interesting and novel dialogue between the listener and the band. Engaging and well worth the time spent listening.

    8/10
  28. PaulC
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    This album is phenomenal. I'd almost go so far as to say its better than Funeral. Almost.
  29. tiffanyb
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    i love this band and there music
  30. matta
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    First of all, it is a damn shame this has dropped down to an 81 already. The Playlouder is just stupid and unfair. They pretty much say it would be really good if it was anyone else, but because it's the Arcade Fire, and the expectations are high, it sucks. That makes no sense. If it's good, it's good-they shouldn't be punished just because they put out what is widely First of all, it is a damn shame this has dropped down to an 81 already. The Playlouder is just stupid and unfair. They pretty much say it would be really good if it was anyone else, but because it's the Arcade Fire, and the expectations are high, it sucks. That makes no sense. If it's good, it's good-they shouldn't be punished just because they put out what is widely considered one the best albums of the decade so far. Anyway, this album is brilliant. Lyrically, it's probably an improvement on Funeral, and while it contains nothing that reaches quite the highs of tracks like "Crown of Love" or "Wake Up," it is just consistently good, if not moreso, than Funeral. "Black Mirror" "Intervention" "Ocean of Noise" and "The Well and the LIghthouse" are all gorgeous. The best album of the year so far. Expand
  31. SylvioM
    Mar 7, 2007
    4
    So far the worst album them.
  32. Kelly'1'
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    I finally understand the term 'art-rock'; and that term is not pretentious here. The most cohesive album since OK Computer
  33. SI
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    'Intervention' is a theatrical god send. The entire record is blasphemously grand.
  34. AaronN
    Apr 7, 2007
    9
    As probably the only guy who liked Neon Bible more than Funeral, I thought I'd make my voice heard. The Arcade Fire's last CD was beautiful, but so incredibly subtle that you could only really grasp it if you focused on it and listened. This didn't make it any worse, but I prefer this one because it's a lot more obvious. The softer tunes express well, and so do the As probably the only guy who liked Neon Bible more than Funeral, I thought I'd make my voice heard. The Arcade Fire's last CD was beautiful, but so incredibly subtle that you could only really grasp it if you focused on it and listened. This didn't make it any worse, but I prefer this one because it's a lot more obvious. The softer tunes express well, and so do the heavier tunes ("My body is a cage" is stunning). It's clear that they tried hard to live up to the hype surrounding them, and they succeeded. Expand
  35. danw
    Oct 1, 2007
    5
    This album has to rate as one of the biggest disappointments I've experienced. Funeral had an effortless mystery and splendour that was completely exhilarating but Neon Bible makes me feel like I've been fooled. It's trite and overcooked - a hollow shell in comparison. It probably isn't a terrible album - it's just that it's not a patch on Funeral and This album has to rate as one of the biggest disappointments I've experienced. Funeral had an effortless mystery and splendour that was completely exhilarating but Neon Bible makes me feel like I've been fooled. It's trite and overcooked - a hollow shell in comparison. It probably isn't a terrible album - it's just that it's not a patch on Funeral and I've really tried to give it a chance. Expand
  36. markb
    Mar 10, 2007
    7
    I agree with one of the reviews that said this was much more "goth." It sounds a lot like Echo and the Bunnymen, but Echo and the Bunnymen's Ocean Songs is better. Good stuff, but more derivative than Funeral.
  37. DecepticonPom
    Mar 12, 2007
    8
    Wow - I think this has provoked the most polarised user comments of any album on Metacritic! Personally, not nearly as good as the flawless Funeral, but still gut wrenchingly honest and melancholly. A wonderful experience.
  38. madsl
    Mar 12, 2007
    5
    somehow the magic is gone even though its hard to pinpoint exactly what makes this a less fulfilling experience than its famed predecessor. Well maybe the songs just aren't strong enough...only No Cars Go and Keep the Car Running truly stand out, while the title track and My Body is a Cage are downright tedious. The lyrics are really tepid teenage angst musings and reek of somehow the magic is gone even though its hard to pinpoint exactly what makes this a less fulfilling experience than its famed predecessor. Well maybe the songs just aren't strong enough...only No Cars Go and Keep the Car Running truly stand out, while the title track and My Body is a Cage are downright tedious. The lyrics are really tepid teenage angst musings and reek of ill-conceived self-importance. The word, bloated, springs to mind... Expand
  39. JA
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    The music is magnificent, feels like an expansion of their debut sound, a lot darker, richer, and with much improved production. However, the lyrics are pretty bad in some songs. Some of the rhymes make me cringe, my least favorite existing in the title track. An improvement in some ways, a detraction in others. Still one of the greater releases so far this year.
  40. CrabsodyInBlue
    Mar 10, 2007
    7
    Some people in this forum select 10 or 9 rating very easily. It's a very good album but it is not masterpiece. Which should be the rating for albums as The dark side of the moon, Highway to Hell, Ok Computer etc. etc then? 1000? 2000?
  41. PeterL
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    Better? Worst? Simply different and as good as.
  42. t0nyS
    Mar 2, 2007
    8
    imo, not as good as funeral, but then again, funeral took awhile for me to like it. At first listen i enjoyed it alot, hopefully as the listens build up it follows suite, much like funeral. I give it an 8, check it out!
  43. Mårten
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    If this is not a 10, I dont know what it! Its not Funeral, its better.
  44. Forreal
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Woah! ALbum of the year???
  45. TomN
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    I loved Arcade Fire's Funeral album and their EP. But, if I had rated Neon Bible two weeks ago on my first listen I would have only rated it an 8. However, I have found myself listening to this album almost exclusively since then and would now rate it an easy perfect 10. It takes a little while to sink in but this album is ultimately one of my favorite albums of all time.
  46. DamianM
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Funeral will be album of the decade. Neon Bible may just have to settle for album of the year :)
  47. SamC
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    So Great!! Have fun singing along to all the great tracks!!!
  48. ajprimo
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Funeral was one of the best, if not the best, album of the decade. Saying Neon Bible isn't as good as Funeral, although true, shouldn't take away from it. Requires a couple listens but once you "get" the album, it "gets" you. On repeated listenings I've gravitated towards the second half of the album , songs 6-11, more than the 1st. Solid sophmore effort...can't wait Funeral was one of the best, if not the best, album of the decade. Saying Neon Bible isn't as good as Funeral, although true, shouldn't take away from it. Requires a couple listens but once you "get" the album, it "gets" you. On repeated listenings I've gravitated towards the second half of the album , songs 6-11, more than the 1st. Solid sophmore effort...can't wait for the hat trick!!! Expand
  49. Chris
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Killer album, grows on you like funeral. However, it also takes the band in a slightly different direction, the lyrics are much more rooted in politics and whats happening in the world right now. I'd agree with others who've posted, this pretty much solidifies Arcade Fire as one of the first truly great bands of the decade, and the best Canadian Indie band ever.
  50. dingusg
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    the reason why older NA indie bands are unrecognized is that they can't compete w/TAF. wah wah. if you've ever seen a live show, you know what i'm talkin about.
  51. PatS.
    Mar 4, 2007
    5
    Their lyrics are clumsy and obvious. More ambiguity needed, pronto.
  52. ChuckS
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    even though it's cool to slag off the arcade fire now, i just can't do it! this album is great!
  53. SinderV
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    One of the best albums of the 2000's. Whatever its excesses may be, they are easily justified.
  54. MichaelD
    Mar 4, 2007
    8
    Two of the biggest mistakes seen in most sophmore albums are that they sound exactly the same and/or lack the musical talent that was seen in its predecessor. The Arcade Fire has created something that equals, or even improves, on their previous musical effort. Not only that, they have taken a new direction altogether... and they pulled it off.
  55. Kelly
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    If anything this album is under-hyped.
  56. MarcG
    Mar 5, 2007
    6
    such a disappointment...
  57. HenrikS
    Mar 5, 2007
    0
    This album is not nearly as good as "Funeral".
  58. rey
    Mar 5, 2007
    8
    I feel bad for the arcade fire because they set the bar so freakin high with "Funeral" that it is really hard, for me at least, to listen to "Neon Bible" "objectively". i don't think that this album will get the respect it deserves it. nevertheless, it is a worthy follow-up. songs like "ocean of noise"", "no cars go", and "keep the car running" are top-notch.
  59. JimD
    Mar 6, 2007
    6
    What is someone looking for the deffinative online review of Neon Bible to do? Some praise the Arcade Fire
  60. KrisB
    Mar 6, 2007
    4
    I love this band, but I have to say that on this one it really seems like they run out of steam. No Cars go is the best track on here, which sucks as it's a re-recording of a track they put out 4 years ago. + if you are looking to buy this, just buythe regular edition. All that you get woth the Special edition are 2 crappy stapled together flickbooks and a hologram. Not really worth I love this band, but I have to say that on this one it really seems like they run out of steam. No Cars go is the best track on here, which sucks as it's a re-recording of a track they put out 4 years ago. + if you are looking to buy this, just buythe regular edition. All that you get woth the Special edition are 2 crappy stapled together flickbooks and a hologram. Not really worth the extra $7. Expand
  61. NaveenP
    Mar 7, 2007
    8
    As strong, if not stronger than Funeral
  62. MattD.
    Mar 7, 2007
    6
    I just didn't get Funeral like others did, and still don't see what the big deal about Neon Bible is. Yes, the songs are given a little more room, but there's still a cinematic quality that works against them. It's like they try too hard to be hip and give the critics what they want. Concentrate more on developing the songs.
  63. ChrisG
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    Absolutely brilliant. Those who diss or don't get it are either not listening closely enough or don't enjoy the band for what it is.
  64. JohnK
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    It took a couple listens but I am hooked. I think it is just as good as Funeral.
  65. SimonO
    Mar 7, 2007
    7
    i like it. however there arent enough stand out tracks for me. its very much an album album, like pitchfork said u can only really access it from one point and thats the opening track and then it takes u on a dense, moody, glorious journey from there on in
  66. MikeP
    Mar 9, 2007
    9
    Not as great as Funeral, but still up there. The scope of the music and lyrics has expanded, and thankfully, on the whole, the songs havent been lost under the need to make a 'new' sound. The one let down for me is that one of the best tracks - No Cars Go - is a revamped version of a 3 year old song from their original EP, and i prefer the old mix!
  67. PerspicaciousCritic
    Mar 9, 2007
    7
    I don't know why some bands, like Doves, who have a very similar, epic and emotive sound as Arcade Fire (and who, to me, surpass Arcade Fire) doesn't get the overzealous, universal hype, like Arcade Fire. Fate can be fickle, sometimes.
  68. GuyH
    Mar 9, 2007
    8
    The great success with 'Neon Bible' is that it sounds cohesive and is a far more satisfying listen from start to end than 'Funeral'. The negative side is that some songs only make sense as part of the album and don't really hold their own as individual tracks. The opening and closing songs are particularly average - strange when you consider that Tunnels and The great success with 'Neon Bible' is that it sounds cohesive and is a far more satisfying listen from start to end than 'Funeral'. The negative side is that some songs only make sense as part of the album and don't really hold their own as individual tracks. The opening and closing songs are particularly average - strange when you consider that Tunnels and Backseat were probably the two strongest tracks on 'Funeral'! Intervention and Windowsill are possibly the strongest songs but I have a soft spot for Black Wave and the title track. Overall I think they have done well with this release and I can't see too many fans being disappointed. Expand
  69. ErinK
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    This may be a little premature but... I think we have the best rock album of the year. I just can't imagine anything else being better. Not only do I think we'll still be talking about this album as being one of the very best of 2008 come December, it may also be one of the best sophomore albums I've heard in years.
  70. DJMiknoche
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    This is a wonderful disc. Made me fall in love with rock music all over again. Just like when I first heard Patti Smith's "Horses" or Television's "Marquee Moon", or the Stones' "Exile..." or Neil Young's "After the Gold Rush". Arcade Fire's music makes me come apart in a blissful way! A disc for the ages...
  71. wolfbag
    Apr 2, 2007
    5
    Am I allowed to say this? Well...here goes...I thnik this is a pretty weak album compared to Funeral. It sounds like Arcade Fire doing Arcade Fire covers, i.e. a bit formulaic and overly dramatic, plus there's a lot of cringeworthy lyrics. The only surprising bit is the Springsteen impression, but if I wanted that I would have bought one of his own albums. There, I said it.
  72. DouglasD.
    Aug 1, 2007
    9
    After The Radiohead Age, came the The Arcade Fire Age. It's hard to compare Neon Bible to Funeral, but, after several auditions, the comparison is over. NB is a great solid album and the new version of No Cars Go is wonderful.
  73. Scott
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    If you don't think this album is perfect then take every piece of music you have and burn it because you obviously don't like music. Here's a better suggestion though, so you don't have to burn all your good music. Take this album and listen to ONLY it for a straight week. If you don't get it, you never will. Black Wave has to be the best NEW song I've heard If you don't think this album is perfect then take every piece of music you have and burn it because you obviously don't like music. Here's a better suggestion though, so you don't have to burn all your good music. Take this album and listen to ONLY it for a straight week. If you don't get it, you never will. Black Wave has to be the best NEW song I've heard in 10 years. This album reminds me of a soundtrack to a much darker Jim Henson Productions movie and that makes it old and new to me. Over-hyped? Only if you were that newbie Indie kid that latched on and now they are getting too big for your Indie ears. Well, guess what, memorable, great music of this level is only generated every decade or so and it's bound to break out of its indie roots. And to those older folks that quibble over which song of Bob Dylan's was the best, don't over-analyze this album. Funeral was perfect and Neon Bible is too. I am almost expecting their third release to be just as quality, if not perfect as well. WOOT. Buy this album. Expand
  74. NeonB.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    Masterpiece, one of the best in decade and in my opinion even better than Funeral. I enjoy every single piece of it.
  75. TiagoA.
    Oct 4, 2009
    10
    Another great album from this wonderful band.
  76. DavidF.
    Dec 5, 2007
    6
    If this record came out before Funeral people would not have thought nearly as highly of it. For me, it lacks the energy it's predecessor has. The album is okay, but nothing special.
  77. BrettB
    Oct 29, 2007
    9
    Ive only just discovered this gem..........I listened to Funeral after hearing this..........what great talents and hopefully more to come...........truly the best release for 2007 so far.....
  78. Alex
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Fantastic Sophmore!
  79. Michael
    Feb 18, 2007
    10
    Inventive. Refreshing. Complex. Pure genuis! "Neon Bible" solidifies Arcade Fire's prominence into modern, uncomercialized music.
  80. JordanC
    Feb 19, 2007
    9
    Another great album. They've taken the best song of their first LP remastered it and it serves as a heavy hitter to end the second LP. I don't know if its good or bad that they will never have another album with angst and frustration that we found with funeral. But lets hope they keep making music like this.
  81. ScottF
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    It doesn't have the same twists and turns that Funeral did, but that results in a more solid and focussed feeling album.
  82. TylerC
    Feb 24, 2007
    4
    I loved Funeral But this is just plain boring to me. The songs just dont sound very good to me aside from a couple of songs (neon bible, and keep the car running are good). the rest is just plain not very interesting music.
  83. Mensch
    Feb 28, 2007
    8
    Funeral is an album for the ages, and gets my vote for best album of the decade, so far. I'm still listening to it at least 2 times a week after 2+ years. Neon Bible is a very good, approaching great, album. But it suffers somewhat in comparison to Funeral -- as do 99% of all albums. The album seems designed for a wider audience, which diminishes Arcade Fire's strength. For Funeral is an album for the ages, and gets my vote for best album of the decade, so far. I'm still listening to it at least 2 times a week after 2+ years. Neon Bible is a very good, approaching great, album. But it suffers somewhat in comparison to Funeral -- as do 99% of all albums. The album seems designed for a wider audience, which diminishes Arcade Fire's strength. For example, there is no "Laika" on this album -- a song that with its out-of-tune choruses is initially almost painful to listen to, but with patience reveals its depth and beauty. Expand
  84. borisr
    Mar 10, 2007
    3
    I was looking forward to this album, however there is nothing new or good here. The first album was powerful, emotional and brilliant. However, the lyrics here are base and do not provoke any kind of feeling or power; they are dreary and without any real purpose or meaning.
  85. JustinA
    Mar 10, 2007
    9
    There are certainly a number of missteps here - namely the clunky lyrics on "Black Mirror", the sterile "Neon Bible" and "My Body is a Cage" - but when The Arcade Fire stick to what they do best - play earnest, emotional art rock including all the instruments under the sun - they are as damn good they ever were on Funeral.
  86. PrestonT
    Mar 10, 2007
    8
    Obviously it would be next to impossible to expect this album to live up to Funeral, so I won't even go there. It is a very strong album emotionally and has several moments when they use their crescendos to perfection. However, a couple of the songs are duds, and that really has an effect on the overall cohesiveness. All in all, it's made me even more excited for their next release.
  87. ChemaP
    Mar 1, 2007
    6
    Only an OK album, specially when compared with such a masterpiece as Funeral. It seems a bit overproduced, with too many instruments cramped into every song (from mariachi trumpets to a church organ), as if the storm of sound will serve to disguise the lack of inspiration. At its best (Intervention, No Cars Go), it doesn't even comes close to the explosion of joy and emotion that was Only an OK album, specially when compared with such a masterpiece as Funeral. It seems a bit overproduced, with too many instruments cramped into every song (from mariachi trumpets to a church organ), as if the storm of sound will serve to disguise the lack of inspiration. At its best (Intervention, No Cars Go), it doesn't even comes close to the explosion of joy and emotion that was Funeral. At its worst (Black Wave/Bad Vibrations, Ocean Of Noise), it sounds like a couple of bad covers of Pink Floyd, or a christmas carol album sung by Paul Young (never a good thing to be compared to). Expand
  88. JonasF
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    Funeral was a mind blowing spectacle with uplifting, beautiful songs fueled by death.The Arcade Fire' sophomore, Neon Bible, is a brilliant and compelling follow up that morphs the beauty of Funeral into a barrage of emotional cannon fire. Church themes fire through the album which seems fitting seeing that Funeral had relatives of the band dieing. You have to shed a tear somewhere Funeral was a mind blowing spectacle with uplifting, beautiful songs fueled by death.The Arcade Fire' sophomore, Neon Bible, is a brilliant and compelling follow up that morphs the beauty of Funeral into a barrage of emotional cannon fire. Church themes fire through the album which seems fitting seeing that Funeral had relatives of the band dieing. You have to shed a tear somewhere near the end of this masterwork, it couldn't be any more haunting without killing your enthusiasm cold.If any album could be a wake up call to the #%@& music poisoning the world now its this life saver. Expand
  89. JonF
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    YAY! Thank god these people were put on Earth. Music is this and only what this should be.
  90. lalo
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Brilliant. Intense!
  91. KellyWalrus
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    Although the songs on Neon Bible are on par with the songs on Funeral, I have to admit that Funeral is the overall better album. Also, as Kris B stated, the special edition is quite lame and is not worth the extra $12 (Canadian).
  92. AllenM
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    A whole new direction seperate from Funeral. I love this album.
  93. SeanV
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    Everything I wanted, and more. Keep the Arcade Fire Running.
  94. Stafford
    Mar 1, 2007
    4
    What to say, what to say. To be honest, I really did want to like this album. Although suffering production wise, I thought Funeral was an amazingly well done. It was a beautiful and lush soundscape filled to the brim with ideas. Songs would careen wildly, often fitting a few great ideas into one pop length statement. As for Neon Bible, all I can say is this: What happened? The production What to say, what to say. To be honest, I really did want to like this album. Although suffering production wise, I thought Funeral was an amazingly well done. It was a beautiful and lush soundscape filled to the brim with ideas. Songs would careen wildly, often fitting a few great ideas into one pop length statement. As for Neon Bible, all I can say is this: What happened? The production has been beefed up, thats for sure, but the album feels like the process that went into Funeral was reversed. From my first encounter with the band, a pre-Funeral opening spot for The Unicorns, it was clear that this was a little band trying to do big things. A ragtag group of kids making weird ELO-esque pop. With the Neon Bible however, it sounds like they wrote a bunch of intense little songs and then realized they had all this money left over to dump a bucket of instruments and effects all over it. The songs seem to begin and end without ever reall going anywhere. As a brief example I would use "Keep the Car Running." The entirety of the song feels like what would have been simply the beginning of a song on Funeral, but it never takes off. The songs all just chug along nicely with one very basic idea. But too much of this chugging, or more aptly plodding, makes for a very boring album. It sounds wonderful, but the album never really soars like Funeral did. I welcome the idea of switching up your sound, but simply doing this does not a positive review make. As a side, i find the inclusion of "No Cars Go" absolutely befuddling. The new version sounds absolutely fantastic, far surpassing the original. As much as I appreciate it, I don't understand why it was put on here, perhaps it was more fitting as a B-side. The real problem with including it is the fact that it underscores how much the rest of the album is lacking in its song construction. It puts together the wonderful new production and their more crafty form of songwriting. If only the good production and lyrical ability synched up with the rest of the band, then it would have been an absolutely amazing album. Expand
  95. BillP
    Mar 13, 2007
    8
    Anyone who has always been a fan of Springsteen's voice but couldn't bare his horrendous lyrics and show-bouty James Brown rip off act should like this album. No lyrics about dancing and waving a flag around here just great lines and fine musicianship. Glad he finally decided to stop imitating Byrne!
  96. DerekH
    Mar 14, 2007
    6
    This is an album of moments, events, and heterotopic spaces. Unfortunately, the band's approach is hindered in some tracks by static forms; and in others by movement/s which lose their relation to time and form. A great album--if it were by any band other than Arcade Fire.
  97. RR
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    Pure Magic.
  98. karlravage
    Mar 17, 2007
    9
    Most powerful disc since PearlJam vs.Oh, and Rollingstone and NOW have a bunch of fags writing for them. Your skinny freaking legs in tight jeans are making your brain bleed!!!
  99. Philipped
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    I have to say I was fearing the worst when I listened it first, but when you give it few listens (like many said), you realize the Masterpiece it is. My Body Is A Cage, No Cars Go, Ocean of Noise and Intervention are my favorite so far. I think only The National can beat them for Album of the Year
  100. KevinJ
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    The more I listen to this album, the more it resonates with me--to the point where now it's as important a cultural companion as my favorite novels. Some reviews call the lyrics stilted or pretentious in parts, so maybe I'm stilted and pretentious, but I've been hearing Neon Bible lyrics echo through my head more and more as I take stock of how we live. Perhaps the greatest The more I listen to this album, the more it resonates with me--to the point where now it's as important a cultural companion as my favorite novels. Some reviews call the lyrics stilted or pretentious in parts, so maybe I'm stilted and pretentious, but I've been hearing Neon Bible lyrics echo through my head more and more as I take stock of how we live. Perhaps the greatest praise? I think I prefer it to Funeral! Expand
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. So, Funeral was by no means a fluke. The Arcade Fire are unquestionably the real deal. And to prove it they’ve now thrown in another contender for ‘best record of the decade’.
  2. The Canadian septet are the greatest art rock group since Talking Heads stopped making sense.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    While devotees of Funeral... will surely enjoy Neon Bible, the album does have a decidedly different feel than its predecessor--mainly, there seems to be less of an emphasis on choruses. [Apr 2007, p.182]