Neon Bible

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Neon Bible Image
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 838 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: One of the most anticipated releases of 2007 is this second album from Montreal's Arcade Fire, the Win Butler- and Regine Chassagne-led band that won over bloggers, critics, and, ultimately, fans with their 2004 debut 'Funeral.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. The Canadian septet are the greatest art rock group since Talking Heads stopped making sense.
  2. Q Magazine
    100
    A magical kingdom of noise that's equal parts Disney's Fantasia and Echo & The Bunnymen's lavish Ocean Rain. [Apr 2007, p.107]
  3. In the bleakest songs, the polyphonic swirl of strings, horns, and voices... points toward transcendence.
  4. Although they've expanded their sound, the Arcade Fire's transition into extroversion isn't always smooth or graceful. Neon Bible is full of clunky lyrics, revealing Butler's tendency to overstate and sensationalize.
  5. Billboard
    80
    Bombast occasionally gets the better of the songwriting, but that's a small complaint on an album that gets nearly everything just right. [10 Mar 2007]
  6. If "Neon Bible" doesn't quite dazzle as "Funeral" did, that's more a measure of the latter album's benchmark brilliance, rather than the inferiority of the former.
  7. This veers between quite good and bloody rubbish with only a couple of flashes of brilliance here or there.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 336
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    A truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter ofA truly spectacular Album, as are all three albums so far. Their best? Well to rate Arcade fir Albums against each other is not a matter of which is better, but simply personal opinion. This though is my favourite of the three. Awesome songs include - All of them, lol. My truly stand out songs are Keep the car running, Intervention and No cars go.
    Oh and one more, My body is a cage makes me weep every time. Enough said, Arcade fire are geniuses.
    Expand
  2. Kelly'1'
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    I finally understand the term 'art-rock'; and that term is not pretentious here. The most cohesive album since OK Computer
  3. EvanB
    Apr 22, 2007
    10
    BEST album of the year by far! Neon Bible has been in my car for over 1 month straight and is the only thing I have listened to! It will BEST album of the year by far! Neon Bible has been in my car for over 1 month straight and is the only thing I have listened to! It will probably be there for another month or two! Only gets better with repeated listens! Expand
  4. DaveH
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    A bit of a different direction than Funeral, but this group still makes an amazing record. Some people will call it Springsteen-like, but A bit of a different direction than Funeral, but this group still makes an amazing record. Some people will call it Springsteen-like, but it's more that it's got some rock and roll tracks on it. Beautiful follow-up album. Expand
  5. pendepomo
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    awsome, it actually blowed my mind, i thought the sound changing would be a bad thing, but they made it, in amother way, but they did great
  6. JustinS
    Apr 27, 2007
    7
    A pretty good sophmore effort. Most of the tracks are pretty good, but there's nothing that really stands out like on their from album A pretty good sophmore effort. Most of the tracks are pretty good, but there's nothing that really stands out like on their from album like "Lies" or "Neighborhood #1". "Intervention" is really the only track that capture the magic from "Funeral". Expand
  7. Steve
    Mar 2, 2007
    0
    Why does this band get such high nods all the time. They are total crap.

See all 336 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands

    Sophomore Slump? Comparing the Second Albums of Buzz Bands Image
    Published: April 10, 2010
    With the second album from MGMT arriving in stores this week, we take the opportunity to explore how other bands have fared after releasing a successful debut. Is it possible to have a good second album?