• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Never Been Gone Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Carly Simon rerecords some of her classic songs and includes two new tracks.

Top Track

You're So Vain
Son of a gun You walked into the party like you were walking onto a yacht Your hat strategically dipped below one eye Your scarf it was apricot You... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Underproducing these performances mostly works wonderfully.
  2. What Simon does here is flip through the musical photo album and talk honestly about what place those old memories hold in her life now.
  3. Mojo
    The results is mixed, but at times instinctive and powerful. [Apr 2010, p.93]
  4. Uncut
    When they do get it right, as when highlighting the acerbic lyrics of "That's The Way I've Always Heard It Should Be" or cleverly flexing the groove of "Coming Around Again," you can see why it semed a good idea. [Apr 2010, p.98]
  5. Its hybrid format allows Simon to revisit the songs of her youth in illuminating and poignant ways.
  6. This kind of "redo-the-hits" project--very common from veteran artists in the 21st century--is almost always a mixed bag, and Never Been Gone is no exception.
  7. If Simon wanted to cock the ears of a new generation of fans, Never Been Gone is a sure misfire, since the record contains neither strong vocal takes nor inspiring versions of her best material.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Davidf
    Dec 1, 2009
    These remakes are mostly pointless. At times they are even grating.