User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 181

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    I expected negative reviews from some people. Their excuse is always that it's overrated, these are the same people who claim The Beatles are overrated. There is this obsession with anything that garners major critical acclaim and popularity from sort of nowhere to face a backlash. A backlash from the sort of people who would have liked the album had it never been popular. The Album. It's perfect. Although, forgive me for this Orwellian wording, not as perfect as In Utero but that's fine this album is still perfect. I can't fault it. Every rock band since has been influenced by it. This can not be denied. It may not even be musically. Now to the music. It starts with, the most popular and most acclaimed (although in my mind not the best) Smells Like Teen Spirit. This was the moment that Hair Metal was told to **** off and Nirvana and all other equally good underground rock bands hit the mainstream (Sonic Youth, Pixies). It would take too long to do a track-by-track review. I'm not going to pick the best songs because all of the songs are amazing like OK Computer or Loveless or Daydream Nation. Equally good albums. Now..... the reissue. Forgive me for sounding like a raging hipster but it's just a horrible money making scheme. There is nothing new to know about this album, the remaining members and Butch Vig have spoke a lot of **** over the past few months because as perfect as this album is as much influence as it has had, it is an album. Just an album, just an amazing, influential, perfect album. Thank you Kurt Cobain. **** you people trying hard not to like it. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    Nirvana is the best freaking band every to walk Planet Earth. I have always been mostly unbiased with what I listen to, but when I first listened to Nirvana, I got hooked, and I still am now. And NEVERMIND is their best album, so only an idiot wouldn't think of reissuing it for its 20th anniversary.
  3. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    Wow is it really 20 years since this was first released? I feel old lol! As others have said music is very much down to personal taste but what can't be denied is this albums massive influence both on other band and the millions who have listened to it. So clearly anyone giving this a 0 is an idiot. I'll admit some of the praise is nonsense. Kurt didn't invent Grunge and honestly ther's nothing truly innovative or ground breaking musically. Listen to The Pixies, Mud Honey and Dinosaur Jr to see where Kurt got all his ideas from. Personally though i feel this is one album that justifies all the acclaim it has had simply because it's still the most exciting rock record i've ever heard period. From start to finish every single song is a classic and that in its self is quite an achievement. Expand
  4. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    Clearly Awesome-McTasty hasn't heard this album. To give it a 0 demonstrates that. Even though I was a late teenager, the power of this album is unparalleled even today. It blew me away 20 years ago, and then I got sick of hearing it. Replaying it today, it still blows me away.
  5. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    I think one of the reviewers of this album said it best when it first came out by saying, "Anyone who says he dislikes this album is just trying to be cool, and needs to try harder." Nevermind is a classic album that still packs as much energy today as it did when it first came out. On top of that, the bonus tracks are pretty good, too, although the only one that's worth going crazy over is Aneurysm. You can find most of those in the "With the Lights Out" box set, anyway. Whatever, it still rules, and is still one of the best albums ever!! Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    one of the most influential albums of all time, no matter what time of music youre into, the minute you hear a song from this list, you will like it as if youve listened to rock all your life, all the haters out there cant put a dent on this milestone. IDGAF if Nirvana is "overrated" the album speaks WIN 1000000000000000X more than youre "Nirvana Sucks" anthem. I hope future generation learn to appreciate good music . Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    While the 20th doesn't bring much to the table that I either: A) don't already own from previous releases, or B) would care to listen to more than 1 time from curiosity. This is still one of the top ten most perfect albums ever recorded.
  8. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    WHOEVER says this album is terrible doesnt know good music when it is standing right in front of there face. This is one of my top five favorite of all time this deserved all the credit in the world. Kurt Cobain is a musical genius n it doesnt matter if it was homicide or suicide we still lost an amazing artist. Mazky said everything else needed to be said.
  9. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    Well, for everyone as a reminder - let's review the Disc with the remastering in consideration. I have found the stereo/reverb added to In Bloom to be a little over the top. Also the movement of the left to right on singing is new and not sure I like it....obviously the original album is a masterpiece. I would not say that someone is "stupid" if they don't like it...but that they just have different tastes. I have listened to the Pixies and found them hard to get into, even knowing that Kurt loved them and that they are the kind of music I like. sometimes bands just aren't for everyone. I think Pearl Jam is much different than Nirvana...so they don't have to be compared. Music is like Paintings - you don't see see art critics comparing one to another, so let's just appreciate each in its own beauty or greatness...not worry about who ripped off what. What music isn't like something else in 2011? Maybe in 1945 you could say that a particular album was "completely original" but since media is now so available to everyone and we listen to whole albums at anytime anywhere, to not be influenced by other bands is nearly impossible. We should pay homage to those "founders" of genres while understanding that subsequent bands will be influenced sometimes by those that went before them. "Standing on the Shoulders", etc. I think if we looked at someone's tracked playlist to see what songs they played most, it would be at least 50% different from any other person...so let's face it, each song and band, and even album has different value and meaning to each other person...that said - if you like Nirvana concept - the image, background, the genre, the attitude, the instrument style, then I would recommend this album with a perfect score. I hope we see more albums as great and would argue that music continues to be an important part of my life and I find new experiences pretty much as fun and surprising as back then in 1991. Expand
  10. Oct 13, 2011
    10
    This album is nothing more than awesome! The bigger Cobain's legacy in this world in my humble opinion. Definitely "Nevermind" and Nirvana forever.
  11. Oct 3, 2011
    5
    Mediocre album from a mediocre band. Amazing lyrics but fails at the horrid guitar playing, boring bass work, only thing to save it was the drumming. Yes, he did steal the riff for Come as you are and u can make a case for him stealing the beginning of Smells Like Teen Spirit from the Smashing Pumpkins cover of Godzilla in 1990, nevertheless it has some decent songs on it. If u want to listen to something like Nirvana, listen to the band he was trying to copy.... The Pixies. If you still think Nevermind is good after listening to the Pixies then u r crazy Expand
  12. Oct 16, 2011
    1
    last review was wrong only one good song in a album full of crap so much crap get if you are in dire need of something to listen too but dont let my review make your decision make your own
  13. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    This is Nirvana, shut your mouth for a second and enjoy. m/ o m/ if you think this is overrated, think more. Listen more. Turn off your radio that's playing some pop s#it and listen to this. Awesome.
  14. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    I can not believe the negative comments. Nirvana are legend. I want end this message but the the the the amamd nfjnefwe vnsiurf nfdj mmmsksks fnj njfdsn ndfsuinfsiuebf fdnseiwurnfiwr dfnisunfsirfbs
  15. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Even from an objective standpoint, this is the greatest and most influential album of the last 25 years. It only adds to its mythology that it is also one of my favorites. I was only 7-years-old when they released Nevermind, but its influence on everything that followed and the way it reinterprets the American hardcore punk that came before had an impact on my music tastes long before I was truly aware of the album. This is Nirvana at its finest, striving for raw, simple melody - the union of the Beatles and punk. Cobain plays dirty guitar like none other. His vocal gravel connects to your very core tissue. Grohl is talented and inventive on drums. Next to two rock gods, it is easy to overlook Novoselic, but his base is vital to the overall sound of the band. I pity those who have not yet engaged with this perfect masterpiece. Expand
  16. May 8, 2012
    10
    Nope , is not the stagnated genre that we here nowadays , no , is not pop , no , the lyric is powerful , yes , the instruments and the combination is almost perfect and finally lets make this clear to all the people talking gibberish .and nonsense to a band that changed forever the Rock genre in general. And I say again , what band did more effect in the Rock genre ? no , not the crap you here today. Nevermind is right now better than ever. Expand
  17. Oct 1, 2011
    9
    This is an honest opinion, from someone who never even heard Nirvana before today when I got this album. Amazing. These guys are great at what they do, making nice music. I will let others make the opinions they want, but mine is set in steel This is packed with many great songs, and will fit nicely with all of your countless other Nirvana CDs, T-shirts, and awkward coffee mugs from questionable vendors. Expand
  18. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    10
    There's no doubting it's power over 90's culture, it's a game changer. The music is unforgettable. It's their most polished record and I think that disappointed most of their fans who love their raw sound from Bleach or In Utero. The music still sounds fresh 20 years later. Now that's got to count for something, right?
  19. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    The music of Nirvana is not to every ones taste, true enough. In fact some hate it so much they feel the need to review one of the greatest albums ever made by mindlessly awarding it a mark of 1 or even 0!
    The glorious truth is that while they are listening to their Cold Play albums the rest of us can kick off our shoes and remember back to long hair and official doctors warnings about
    the dangers of head banging. True, many of the songs here are over played but whereas In Utero plays like a man (let's face it Kurt Cobain was nirvana) desperate for some release, Nevermind feels more about the music. "Smells Like Teen Spirit" may actually be the greatest opening song ever a "Come As You Are" still sounds fresh. Unlike other albums Nevermind doesn't have to rely on it's single releases for greatness. Nirvana were around for a cruel short period but achieved more with one masterpiece album than the likes of Green Day could manage in 10 lifetimes! 10 out 10. Collapse
  20. Oct 25, 2011
    10
    Sad that people love to bash on anything popular. Anyone who gives a negative rating on this album is just a plain hater. I thoroughly enjoyed everything about this re-release.
  21. Oct 30, 2011
    10
    Solid album! one of the greatest ever in my opinion!! great band!! amazing drumming and lyrics!!
    i was happy to see that they were re-releaseing it :))
    http://www.squidoo.com/nirvana-s-best-songs
  22. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Nirvana's Nevermind album is the best. I'm a huge Nirvana fan and I listen to all of there songs. The 20th Anniversary Edition comes with a whole lot of songs and its remastered hits. This edition is great for fans or people that are willing to listen.
  23. Jan 28, 2012
    9
    It's hard to make anything last. For the popular music industry it's almost impossible. Nirvana has never been my favorite, or even close to my favorite band. But I here these songs on the radio still, and their relevance is universal. This is one of those albums, iconic, beautiful, and tragic all at the same time. Not to mention the fact that every song is spectacular, perhaps the least of which being "Smells Like teen Spirit". Expand
  24. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    An amazing album that shaped our generation, beautifully remastered and re- released for all the fans and new coming Nirvana fans. Amazing album. The best of all time.
  25. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Wow. Listening to this album is like riding a rollercoaster, or perhaps sky diving â
  26. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    All of the negative reviews would not exist for this album if the songs were exactly the same but it did not gain the publicity and fame that it did. It is clearly one of the greatest albums of all time.
  27. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    The single greatest Nirvana Album by far and one of the greatest albums of all-time. You can take any song from the album and promote them on their own. They about a emotion evoked through the voice of on of the greatest musicians that have ever lived. Cobain may not have realized peaks he has reached.
  28. Oct 10, 2011
    7
    Even with all these extra songs in this Anniversary Edition, Nirvana's Nevermind is still probably the weakest studio album they have ever made in comparison with Bleach or the masterful In Utero. I'm not saying it's a bad album it's still a good listen once in a while.There are some unforgettable classics in the album such as Come As You Are or Lounge Act but as a whole album it just falls short from great and Nirvana can and have done better than this. Expand
  29. Nov 2, 2011
    6
    Back in October 1991 Rolling Stone Magazine rated this album 3 stars out of 5, Dire Straits album On Every Street scored at the time 3.5! It seems death propels rock stars into the stratosphere. Album is grossly overrated. So today upon its 20th Anniversary i rate it 6/10.
  30. Nov 13, 2011
    5
    The critics have been trying to make Nirvana into legend since Cobain died at the age he was supposed to. Not everybody is buying into it. The video did look good in the lineup next to Poison, Whitesnake, Winger, etc., during the early 90s, but the album was just ok. The Beatles are not overrated, Nirvana is. Yawn.
  31. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    I am a new Nirvana fan, I began exploring them when my friend who is a diehard fan of the band, as well as many of the rock bands of the 90's recommended I buy this album and give it a try. And I have to say, this is, so far, one of the best albums I've heard so far. And I haven't heard In Utero fully just yet. Of course, the hit "Smells Like Teen Spirit" is on this record, it's not one of the best Nirvana tracks that they did, but it defines what they were here for: and that was to create some good grunge music with fantastic lyrics. One of my favorites on this album is "Come As You Are" and "Polly", it's a deep song and with Kurt singing "No I don't have a gun" is icing on the cake; "Polly is extremely deep as well and speaks of a girl being molested and burnt with a blow torch. This one makes you think and put you in the shoes of the abuser. "Lithium" is another great track. Even though he's more than likely speaking of the drug Lithium in this, it just feels like a feel-good song. "On a Plain" has this same notion as "Lithium", just makes you feel good! In "In Bloom" the guitars are the star of the song. And Kurt's vocals are absolutely fantastic in this, and might I add, a very melodic song! "Breed" is one of my favorite tracks as well. It shows a bit of raw and edgier side to Nirvana that would define their next album, In Utero. "Territorial Pissings", "Lounge Act", "Stay Away", "Drain You" are more upbeat tracks and they are quite addicting, definitely makes you abuse the repeat button. And after when you hear these upbeat tracks, "Something in the Way" just hits you and makes you feel like you're in Kurt's shoes, as a depressed man who had a troubled childhood and was trying to find a place in this world. 10 minutes after Something in the Way ends, "Endless Nameless" begins, a bonus track, that if you're not careful and leave your CD player on might freak you out when it starts. This track sounds a lot like something off of "In Utero", something on the lines between "Milk It" and "Tourette's", lots of screaming, haunting guitar riffs, and the "Mama" Kurt wails in the song puts chills down your spine (in a good way) along with the guitars during that short amount of time. The song is about 7 or 8 minutes and it's been said that Kurt wrote it on the spot while he was recording "Lithium" and got pissed off, so "Endless Nameless" was born, and even though it was only created in a just a short amount of time, it's a great track, but only for those who can stand Kurt's screaming vocals. Overall this album is absolutely fantastic! The early 90's was certainly a wonderful time for these grunge and punk rock artists! In a nutshell: this album is worth every single penny. Expand
  32. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    This is the greatest album in the history of music. Using the Pixies refined soft to low aesthetic and riff based songs it triumphs as a piece of history that will never go stale.
  33. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    Ever since the birth of Generation X not since before Green Day launched their careers into bonafide rock stars, there's only one band that kicked a lot of ass and millions of people jamming their Ipods listening to their favorite hard rock songs of the early 90's New Wave, that band was Nirvana. I was growing up watching MTV and when I saw the music video "Smells Like Teen Spirit," I was thinking to myself saying "I wished I was Kurt Cobain in the video." But nevertheless, I hope he's going to be proud somewhere in heaven when his band's first album "Nevermind" is celebrating it's 20th birthday. We are 1991: Sonic, Disney, Hannibal Lecter, this what makes the 90's even more popular for those who remembered a rock n' roll legend who's career got shattered and ended his life (the same age as Jimi Hendrix and Amy Winehouse) at 27 years of age. Kurt Cobain may be gone, but may he be Rest in Rock and Nirvana's music lives on forever. I haven't gotten to buy the album yet, but hopefully, I'll get it for my birthday. It is without a shadow of a doubt, the best damn album of all time. Rock n' Roll, baby! P.S. Courtney Love stole my Heineken beers for 50 cents a cap. Expand
  34. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Has teen angst ever been so perfectly captured as well as it was by these 3 men from Seattle? Some would say so and this album captures that vibe and makes a connection with the listener which is very rare. Nonsensicle lyrics, strangled guitars, deep & powerful music fused with raw & unrefined playing styles - it shouldn't really work but it works 'kin beautifully. Smells Like Teen Spirit, the anthem for "Generation X", Come as you Are and In Bloom star as the albums singles, but Lithium, Polly and Breed back them up very well. Territorial Pissings and Lounge Act are personal favourite of mine, but the album certainly has it's fillers on there - although those fillers all still have something about them that still makes them very lisenable and very good. A class album which deffinately won't appeal to everyone, and which has a few one-demensional and forgetable tracks (more so because the lyrical content can't be defined easily throughout the album, so clearly it can be easy for the songs to get lost in a bit of a haze), but forget all that - get drunk with your mates, play it loud, smash something up and share in the vibe of what makes being a teen both so good and so bad at the same time. Expand
  35. Oct 19, 2011
    0
    It's not that Nirvana is overrated... it's more about the music. And about time. Come on, let it go already. The past stays in the past. Anyway, they weren't that good. And how is it perfect? I've been listening to music for a long time and I have not listened to a something perfect. Nothing's perfect. Nevermind is not perfect. Nirvana was not perfect. Perfectness lasts forever, doesn't it?
  36. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    One of the most famous albums ever released. The re release makes it even better. Although I prefer it's follow up In Utero, Nevermind deserved the acclaim and monster success it got. 12 tracks and not a dud to be found. Most of it is very accessible and the rawer, harsher tracks like Territorial Pissings, Stay Away and Polly just highlight the contrast and the thin line that can exist between pop and punk. Probably the best example you'll find of Grunge and Pop fused together. One of those record you have to hear before you die , and due to it's massive success, and most people will. Expand
  37. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    A masterpiece one of my favorite albums ever just amazing from 1 of the best bands ever Just awesome a must buy just wow all songs have meaning production was excellent Kurt contain really outdid himself this time
  38. Nov 25, 2011
    9
    I don't want to call Nirvana overrated, but I feel like people just overhype things in retrospective. Admittedly, Nevermind is a terrific album, and Nirvana is great, and Kurt Cobain is a genius, but I see many contemporary Rock artists that create music that is on par or better than Nirvana that just get ignored.

    Overall, I feel that pop culture has decided that Rock is a thing of the
    past, and therefore all new Rock is doomed to an ''underground'' existence while Nirvana gets replayed for the Millionth time. Expand
  39. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    I can't believe how many of you are bashing Nevermind for some reason. This isn't one of the greatest albums ever made, it is the greatest!!! If you can find one album that incorporates the melody, lyrics and time in a more efficient way then tell me about it. You know it's funny, we get here a remastered version of a great album with some rare songs and someone gives it rating of zero. So then I checked and the guy is a Pearl Jam fan! I love PJ, but you know after Vitalogy they went down to drain. So, this guy rates Riot Act, Yield, and Binaural at 10 stars!!! Three of the worst, most boring, commercial PJ albums. This is very misleading for readers who really want to discover great music not just biased ramblings of Nirvana haters. Expand
  40. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    One of the greatest grunge punk CD ever made returns, and the only thing I can say is that it is perfect in every way. If you are a huge Punk rock fan you will love this amazing album that will forever change the face of music
  41. Dec 16, 2011
    8
    Oh how I miss you, Nirvana. RIP Kurt Cobain. It's a shame this was the only album I really heard, loved, and grown attachment towards. Though, I don't think there was really any other album they put out besides this masterpiece.
  42. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Nevermind is arguably the most important alternative rock work of all time. Not only did it rock the world, but it set off a generation dedicated caring deeply about not caring. Angsty lyrics, haunting guitar work, and a 20th Century Edgar Allen Poe, this album succeeds in reminding us the legacy of Kurt Cobain.
  43. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    The fact that you can fill four discs with live versions, B-Sides and original mixes of a bands materiel and still let it be breathtakingly good is something to behold. All the bonus tracks are great, but the real masterpiece within this collection is the album. 'Nevermind' still sounds as fresh as ever and remains the best grunge artifact ever. To still be able to listen to it and think 'oh, this is so good' is not unlikely because not one song lets the album down. A perfect record. Expand
  44. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    To keep this short and sweet, this is one of those rare albums, where every song stands out, and every song is good. seriously, there isnt a single half ass or lousy song, all of the songs are good, and from start to finish, each of the corresponding songs compliment one another. Alot of people dislike nirvana, and kurts guitar playing in general, but remember, its not about technical perfection, its about passion, and this album, as well as the majority of the bands work, is filled with passion. this album was a freak accident, only being estimated to sell 100,000 copies, this album because a multi million selling megahit, which launched nirvana to be one of the most iconic and successful rock bands of all time, for better for worse. for worse i mean the success of this album and the band in general left kurt having suicidal intentions, due to being so uncomfortable being popular, but thats a whole other story on its own. This is a perfect album, and one of my personal favorites. Expand
  45. Oct 8, 2013
    8
    [8.8] It is what you could call proper grunge, even though it sometimes confines itself to just that. Still, the incredible style of Nevermind remains completely untouched by any other grunge artist, only to be beaten by In Utero. Throughout the whole album the sound has a certain metallic essence that is comparable to Smashing Pumpkins or Black Sabbath, but it isn't metal. The reverberation of that metallic sound is never so intense that it distracts from the consistently aggressive guitars, the beyond powerful drumming, and of course Kurt Cobain's lovely grunge-tastic voice. Expand
  46. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    This is Nirvana, and this is a fantastic album. If you don't like Nirvana, other than being a deaf and mentally disturbed child, you also probably won't like this album. If you aren't deaf or mentally ill, you will love this album.
  47. Apr 8, 2014
    10
    the greatest alternative rock album, since this album the alternative rock never back down, and leave the sky of rock, & since this album become greatest alternative rock albums, like In Utero, (What's The Story) Morning Glory? by oasis, many greatest albums, Nevermind is the great album that a fan SHOULD have in the private collection
  48. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Even 22 years after it's release, Nevermind still remains one of the most powerful and influential rcck albums of all time. Kurt Cobain would be proud of this remastered version.
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Dec 22, 2011
    60
    Every inch of tape had emotional or melodic purpose. [Nov 2011, p.109]
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    80
    This reissue tweaks the sound with little discernible effect, and adds a package of goodies.
  3. Dec 8, 2011
    40
    Live at the Paramount--also included as a CD--comes off as otherwise bloodless. Joyless. That goes double for the lifeless remastering of the original LP.