Night Train [EP] Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The British rock band releases its EP featuring K'Naan and Tigarah as guest artists, as well as one song with the band's Tim Rice-Oxley on lead vocals.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Chaplin, Rice-Oxley and drummer Richard Hughes, chased down something different while still remaining true to their former records. Not only does it work, it provides a valuable lesson for bands that are far too afraid of taking risks.
  2. The eight tracks and 31 minutes of the Night Train EP/mini-album, recorded during the Pefect Symmetry tour, should sate the faithful. [Jun 2100, p.127]
  3. As a transitional release, however, Night Train points to an even bigger and brighter future: it mostly sounds like a band happy to enjoy the freedom of chalking up 10 million album sales, and everyone else can take a running jump.
  4. Whatever the conceit for releasing only eight songs—perhaps they didn’t have enough material or were just eager to release these particular eight tracks—Keane serves up a concise, competent follow-up to Perfect Symmetry (2008).
  5. Overall, Keane's efforts to move beyond pigeonholing succeed more than they fail. [Jun 2010, p.107]
  6. The music's catchy, sure, and this time round it's undeniably uplifting in both tone and substance, but there's precious little about Night Train that's surprising enough to elevate it out of the realm of song-of-the-moment radio pop.
  7. No matter what their exteriors, Keane still seem incapable of anything other than the most heavy-handed gestures, peddling the same populist mock uplift that leaves you feeling pushed when it's meant to move.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Oct 5, 2010
    A short, refreshing little album full of experiments and collaborations. These songs work (with the exception of 'Ishin Denshin' which gets tedious and boring) they are refreshing little snippets of Keane at the band's best. 'Clear Skies' is a highlight-a rather beautiful song that is along the lines of Classic Keane, while the collaborations with K'Naan on 'Stop for a Minute' and 'Looking Back' are fun departures from their usual compositions. If you like Keane's other work, you'll most likely love this album. It is a good listen nearly all the way through-and sounds as refreshing as a cool drink on a hot day. My only critique (besides the tedium of Ishin Denshin') is that it isn't long enough! Collapse
  2. Sep 24, 2010
    perfect album experimental..for a try on new things keane do very well jog the collaborations are very good its good to see then being different in each album Expand
  3. RezJ
    May 17, 2010
    Keane is not a Rock/Alternative Band anymore. with this album they showed maybe they gonna change their style. and this record isn't good enough for this band. Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2013
    Definitely the worst Keane album ever.
    It's not Keane. It's like they're trying their best to be something they're not.

    If you want to
    become a true Keane fan, listen to Under the Iron Sea. Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2013
    It's put me off Keane. Sorry, but they've moved away from the sound which endeared me to them. I'm certainly not suggesting that change is a bad thing, though if you're a fan of the earlier stuff then be warned: this direction may not be for you. Expand