Noah's Ark

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JacobD
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    This album is beautiful beyond words. Beautiful Boyz is a truly amazing song.
  2. BobX
    Sep 15, 2005
    8
    Gotta dig the unicorns on the cover,. It's a reference to the fact the bible mentions unicorns about 7 times but unicorns don't exist. I's a joke at religion that they would name the album noah's ark then put unicorns on the cover. The album itself is kind of full of not so obvious jokes like that one. A very nice album that seems sweet on the cover but ful of sarcasm Gotta dig the unicorns on the cover,. It's a reference to the fact the bible mentions unicorns about 7 times but unicorns don't exist. I's a joke at religion that they would name the album noah's ark then put unicorns on the cover. The album itself is kind of full of not so obvious jokes like that one. A very nice album that seems sweet on the cover but ful of sarcasm if you dig underneath the facade., The music is decent too. They have that new wave folk thing going on :) Expand
  3. rob
    Sep 26, 2005
    7
    Cocorosie have a polarizing effect on audiences. You either love them or hate them, and I think it's easy to understand both. Moreover, there are certain songs on both this album and their first which I love and others which I can hardly force myself to listen to. Edit the two albums into one, and you can make a perfect album. By themselves, each album makes for a twisting journey Cocorosie have a polarizing effect on audiences. You either love them or hate them, and I think it's easy to understand both. Moreover, there are certain songs on both this album and their first which I love and others which I can hardly force myself to listen to. Edit the two albums into one, and you can make a perfect album. By themselves, each album makes for a twisting journey through some of the strangest and most beautiful music being made today. If your new to CocoRosie, however, I'd recommend their first album before this one. It seems to be a bit more accessible. Expand
  4. luisr
    Sep 30, 2005
    8
    the song with antony is one of the most beautiful moments of this year.
  5. SoniaR
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    unlike anything I've ever heard; grates on every emotion you could possible have and leaves you wanting more......both a shame and a miracle they haven't been given more attention.
  6. SebastianI
    Feb 26, 2006
    9
    Best tracks in my opinion are: "South 2nd" and "Armageddon". But it really depends on whether you like the sound, it is a kind of pretentious sound I guess. All in all a good record for me, but I think it something you will either love or hate.
  7. KyleM
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    This album deserves a few listens before you dismiss it. It grows on you, and you should want it too, as their isn't much out there that sounds like it.
  8. MaryM
    Dec 9, 2005
    10
    Heard "Beautiful Boys" on the radio and had to go buy the album and can't stop listening to it. I'm sure it's not for everybody, but it really gets to me.
  9. pauls
    Sep 19, 2005
    10
    Bianca and Sierrra are visionary artists. This is certainly amongthe greatest records of the year, a seminal and courageous album.
  10. peped
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    just perfect. lovely gigs
  11. AndyH
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    People are too stupid to realize how good this is.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Noah’s Ark is a distant album - one that outgrows a few fast friends made on Le Maison de Mon Reve and depends on those truly willing to listen. It is a record designed to make believers out of its fans, and is certainly not for the faint-spirited or fickle.
  2. The music is as soothing as a lullaby and as challenging as a modern art exhibit.
  3. Noah’s Ark proves, again, that the Casady sisters are perhaps at the forefront of the overlabored ‘freak-folk’ scene.