Noctourniquet

Noctourniquet Image
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Buy On
  • Record Label: Warner Bros.
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Experimental Rock, Neo-Psychedelia
  • More Details and Credits »

Top Track

Empty Vessels Make the Loudest Sound
If I trust in the wind she will pave me a different road I will try and start over but I think I must choose someone else I am pulled from the pages... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    90
    There's no doubt 'Nocturniquet' is amongst the band's best work, and sufficiently different – witness for instance the loud bass-heavy synths that pervade the heavier tracks – from their career highlights that it should satisfy all comers. It's f***ing brilliant, and that's really all there is to it.
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    80
    Their narratives have been stronger before, but 'Noctourniquet' remains abject absurdity masquerading as sexy heroism.
  3. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    Sonically capricious in the best possible way, it takes in rasping electro, hardcore riffing, rock-opera camp and continues to throw up new surprises with every listen.
  4. Metal Hammer (UK)
    Mar 22, 2012
    70
    While Noctourniquet sits at the more accessible end of their sonic spectrum, it still walks a fine line between visionary and indulgent with no little skill. [Apr 2012, p.105]
  5. Mar 30, 2012
    70
    The way it continues to go to the extreme within more conventional confines seems to have extracted both more emotional engagement as well as energy from The Mars Volta.
  6. Mar 27, 2012
    67
    The fresh focus on organic songwriting and sturdier, more evocative melodies renders Noctourniquet a welcome oddity in The Mars Volta's catalog: a work that shoots not for perfection, but for balance.
  7. Mar 29, 2012
    44
    It's a mess--not without some tidy bits--but what's better: these songs could be the death throes, finally, of these guys' unfettered id.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    At last something exciting and inspiring from TMV. In my opinion, second best album to date, after Frances the Mute. Noctourniquet renew myAt last something exciting and inspiring from TMV. In my opinion, second best album to date, after Frances the Mute. Noctourniquet renew my love to TMV, thank you! Expand
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    On the subject of the Mars Volta's newest album, Noctourniquet, I have this to say: WOW. The Mars Volta stun with a stellar set of ideasOn the subject of the Mars Volta's newest album, Noctourniquet, I have this to say: WOW. The Mars Volta stun with a stellar set of ideas crashing and smashing and battling one another for space and time on the album. At first, it's frighteningly chaotic; the tumbling, twisted guitars on "The Malkin Jewel", the brain-rattling synth chorus on the opening track, "The Whip Hand." But where there is chaos, order also strikes; the straightforward roll-and-thump-and-rattle of "Aegis" and the calm, sweet beauty of "Empty Vessels Make the Loudest Sound" can attest to that. So while staunch Volta fans may not get the same kick out of this that they did from The Bedlam In Goliath or Frances the Mute, newcomers and Volta fans willing to listen to the band's rapidly expanding sound will adore this latest release. Key tracks: "Empty Vessels Make the Loudest Sound," "In Absentia," "The Whip Hand." Expand
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    10
    The comeback from The mars volta is the most fully-realized album since Frances the Mute, which is still their undying, timeless masterpiece.The comeback from The mars volta is the most fully-realized album since Frances the Mute, which is still their undying, timeless masterpiece. Noctourniquet, however, is MV's most consistent album and is their most accessible to date, yes even more than the epic De-loused in the comatorium, as Noct uses more similar song structures to previous album Octahedron, which was a bit of a let-down for hardcore fans. Although the bands sixth release is undeniably catchy in spots, and like i said earlier, their most accessible to date, it is still very experimental. It is a huge improvement over Octahedron, and it feels like the band has rediscovered a fire that hasnt been seen since the deloused era. What's surprising is this is all being done despite Noctourniqet having an extreme lack of Omar and his instrument of choice, the guitar. He takes a backseat to what is possibly Cedrics best vocal work and lyricism to date, not to mention the blaring synths, and new drummer deantoni parks' robotic fills. Noctourniquet is yet another surprise from the volta, different from anything they've ever done, yet still full of emotion (concept/story) and experimentation, as well as some of the best hooks i've heard in a long time. Another classic outing from a timeless band. All songs recommended, as well as a listen from start to finish Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    The last couple of albums by The Mars Volta have lacked something. While both had good music on them, they largely felt somewhat devoid of theThe last couple of albums by The Mars Volta have lacked something. While both had good music on them, they largely felt somewhat devoid of the feeling that was present on their first 2 albums. Those records had a lot of soul to them. Their newer efforts also had a largely formulaic approach to the music, and began to get boring despite having some strong writing. Noctourniquet is a different sounding record than anything they have put out thus far and has renewed my love for a band that has put out 2 of my favorite albums of all time. Noctrourniquet is a headphone album. That means you will get more out of this album with a good pair of headphones. This is due to the great textures and other audio nuances that have been added to the music in this one. Its more sparse sounding than anything theyve put out and very dissonant. But this is also one of their lightest albums as well. This is due to the excellent vocals on this album and some of the lyrics. New influences can be heard on the album as well. More electronic sounds have been used, and there is more emphasis on synths, both warm sounding and also harsh and dissonant. The songwriting is more straightforward than the complex parts that made up many songs on goliath. But these songs also take the music to new areas and are very 'proggy'. They establish atmosphere amazingly well, such as the song In absythia, which sounds like something from some other dimension, but then busts into an organic sounding end with amazing vocals. This is vocally one of their strongest efforts. The songs spark many emotions in the listener. There seems to be more of a focus on atmosphere in this album, its more sparse but also very lush with its use of synths and rich vocals. The album is both dissonant and warm. Harsh and soft. Intricate and simple. Its the best album The Mars Volta have put out since Frances the Mute. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    Omar and crew have done it again! I was fortunate enough to catch Omar Rodriguez-Lopez Group at South by Southwest last year, and little didOmar and crew have done it again! I was fortunate enough to catch Omar Rodriguez-Lopez Group at South by Southwest last year, and little did I know that it would turn out to be a Mars Volta show with a preview of most of the tracks on Noctourniquet. I was impressed with the new material then, but having bought the album today I can say that I am very impressed with the way that these songs came out in the studio recordings. TMV has always been an intense band. Not necessarily in the same way that a hardcore band is intense, but in the way that their music evokes feelings and wonder upon the listener. At first listen Noctourniquet can be unsettling at times, but over the course of multiple listens I've come to appreciate this album. I can't call it my favorite TMV album, but it's a very good one. As I write this no less than 4 songs are fighting for my humming attention. Dyslexicon, Lapochka, In Absentia, and Zed and Two Naughts. Definitely worth a purchase! Expand
  6. May 8, 2012
    8
    Not their best release by any means, but as a follow up to Octahedron, this blows it out of the water. With a new sound man, drummer, and(INot their best release by any means, but as a follow up to Octahedron, this blows it out of the water. With a new sound man, drummer, and(I believe) keyboard player, the Mars Volta have really created a cool new sound. They went out on a limb to go for a new sound, while maintaining their consistent body of sound. It was ballsy, and, like I said, much better than Octahedron, but since it is still nowhere near as good as Deloused in the Commatorium or Francis the Mute, it doesn't deserve over an 8. I commend the Mars Volta on their attempt at a new sound. Keep the creativity flowing! Aegis and the Malkin Jewel are my favorites on the record. Really cool new styles involved. With some cool flashes of ATDI thrown in for good measure. Good to see them also getting back to their roots in some respects. Overall, if compared to all releases in music, it deserves an 8.5, but I'm grading the Mars Volta based on their previous releases(Octahedron included). Expand
  7. Nov 28, 2012
    0
    Trash. They haven't reinvented themselves or done anything interesting. They've just taken all the good parts away from their music from 10Trash. They haven't reinvented themselves or done anything interesting. They've just taken all the good parts away from their music from 10 years ago and stripped themselves down to something utterly pathetic and embarrassing. Collapse

See all 19 User Reviews