User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 62
  2. Negative: 4 out of 62

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2010
    8
    From Their first album to their fourth album, The Mars Volta's sound have always sounded the same. Each with a different style but nevertheless it usually sounds all the same. But this album, Octahedron, The Mars Volta went for a different kind of sound. More acoustic, more slower burning songs, and some really dark lyrics. More darker lyrics than usual. And the verdict is, a very solidFrom Their first album to their fourth album, The Mars Volta's sound have always sounded the same. Each with a different style but nevertheless it usually sounds all the same. But this album, Octahedron, The Mars Volta went for a different kind of sound. More acoustic, more slower burning songs, and some really dark lyrics. More darker lyrics than usual. And the verdict is, a very solid album. This album proves that they can do anything musically and it will still sound very good. All In All, the least of any Mars Volta album, but still a very good album that shows that The Mars Volta still has it going for them. B Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    one of the most incredible albums i've ever heard. second only to deloused in pure quality and vision. made all the better because it comes after the massive disappointment that was bedlam in goliath. gone are the terrible, disruptive effects on Cedric's voice. now all that remains is pure musical beauty and genius. just the right balance of slow songs and fast songs. if i can level oneone of the most incredible albums i've ever heard. second only to deloused in pure quality and vision. made all the better because it comes after the massive disappointment that was bedlam in goliath. gone are the terrible, disruptive effects on Cedric's voice. now all that remains is pure musical beauty and genius. just the right balance of slow songs and fast songs. if i can level one complaint at this album, it is that there isn't one standout song that is better than the rest. they are all incredible. buy this now or i'll cut you Expand
  3. ChrisP
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    Excellent album that truly shows this band's versatility and ability to scale back without shutting it down. If these boards are moderated, why are people allowed to downrate the album with 0s and innane, ridiculous "reviews" such as "Worst album of the year"? Well, eat this 10 rating.
  4. KateS.
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    The worst album of the year.
  5. MarylinY.
    Jul 20, 2009
    0
    Horrible! save your dollars, don't buy it!
  6. Paul
    Jul 3, 2009
    7
    Decent in its own right, but not compared to their other work. They should go back to being loud.
  7. Jamie
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    It is not the Mars Volta we all know and love, it is however a Mars Volta with all there previous elements combined with a deeper sense of emotion. It shows to me that as a group they are growing and expanding their artistic range, as a die hard Volta fan i love it and think it complements their previous albums beautifully.
  8. MichaelW.
    Jul 17, 2009
    8
    Great album from my favorite band. A welcomed change of pace, with beautiful melodies and haunting soundscapes. Teflon and Desperate Graves are two of the bands best, while Since We've Been Wrong, Twilight, and Copernicus display the band's versatility to create tender, heartfelt songs. Bixler-Zavala's lyrics and singing dominate this album, and it is the best showcase of Great album from my favorite band. A welcomed change of pace, with beautiful melodies and haunting soundscapes. Teflon and Desperate Graves are two of the bands best, while Since We've Been Wrong, Twilight, and Copernicus display the band's versatility to create tender, heartfelt songs. Bixler-Zavala's lyrics and singing dominate this album, and it is the best showcase of his talents since Francis the Mute. I recommend, although it doesn't quite match up to last year's Bedlam. Expand
  9. PeterA
    Jul 30, 2009
    8
    Most coherent effort yet. Other than the 1 minute and 38 seconds of wasted space that starts Since We've Been Wrong I'm loving it. I just wish there was a way to auto skip that silly semi silence and get on with it.
  10. MarianoF
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    No Ripcord have ruined the median score for this fantastic album by offering a score 40 points outside the spectrum of the others.
  11. TomW
    Jul 2, 2009
    8
    Really something special, especially in the Mars Volta cosmos. Beautiful melodies and arrangements without destroying them by adding more and more layers to the songs. Well done and an awesome counterpoise to Bedlam.
  12. MattR
    Jun 24, 2009
    7
    A surprisingly calm effort from the Volta. I love how they can change their sound from album to album without compromising the integrity of what The Mars Volta is all about. This could be the calm before the storm, LP#6 will be a masterpiece.
  13. JonathanK
    Jun 24, 2009
    8
    I actually thought this album was very good, but I've always been a fan of TMV's more ballad-like songs such as Vade Mecum and The Widow. Like their other ballad-like songs, this entire album is hauntingly beautiful, and a move in a positive direction for the band. While the album was good, I have to say it left me a little bit unsatisfied, but like most TMV albums, the melodies I actually thought this album was very good, but I've always been a fan of TMV's more ballad-like songs such as Vade Mecum and The Widow. Like their other ballad-like songs, this entire album is hauntingly beautiful, and a move in a positive direction for the band. While the album was good, I have to say it left me a little bit unsatisfied, but like most TMV albums, the melodies take awhile to sink in. I'm sure over time this album will really grow on me as it will most of you. Expand
  14. RaymondR
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    The Mars Volta were always incredible musicians, technically and creativity. However with this album, for the first time, they have integrated a sense of structure into their compositions which is what brought this album to greatness.
  15. RobB
    Jun 28, 2009
    8
    Very good. As always with a Mars Volta album it takes a few listens to fully enjoy, but it's well worth the investment. The album does lack the explosive moments that have been some of my favorites on the other albums, but it also has some of the better slow songs the band has done. This would have to be my 4th or 5th favorite TMV album, and it's still twice as good as most of Very good. As always with a Mars Volta album it takes a few listens to fully enjoy, but it's well worth the investment. The album does lack the explosive moments that have been some of my favorites on the other albums, but it also has some of the better slow songs the band has done. This would have to be my 4th or 5th favorite TMV album, and it's still twice as good as most of the critically acclaimed poop on Metacritic. Expand
  16. BM.
    Jul 23, 2009
    6
    A nice change of pace from their recent schizophrenia-inducing albums. It's nice to know they have the potential to break out of their own formula now and again, but overall it's just an ok album. There's nothing groundbreaking here and none of the songs seem to resolve or climax effectively. The production is rather flat and the whole thing is pretty unfulfilling. There A nice change of pace from their recent schizophrenia-inducing albums. It's nice to know they have the potential to break out of their own formula now and again, but overall it's just an ok album. There's nothing groundbreaking here and none of the songs seem to resolve or climax effectively. The production is rather flat and the whole thing is pretty unfulfilling. There are some great melodies here however-- even if they seem to repeat often. Expand
  17. GregoryF
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    The Mars Volta takes a moment to breath. After the non-stop assault that was The Bedlum in Goliath, this album shows remarkable restraint, particularly from drummer Thomas Pridgen. My initial reaction was slight disappointment, but with repeated listens, this album provides some of the most memorable and disciplined music in the illustrious catolog of TMV.
  18. CP
    Jul 5, 2009
    9
    Can't stop listening to this record...gets better with each listen, pulls me right in. A nice change of pace from MV....perfect music for a messed-up dreamscape.
  19. JimV
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Another addictive masterpiece that further broadens the band's range.
  20. Sep 10, 2010
    9
    Not on the level of some of the better Mars Volta albums in my opinion but still a great album to listen to. It shows their versatility and for that reason it is still impressive.
  21. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    The Mars Volta delivers their most triumphant and cohesive record since Frances The Mute with Octahedron. It retains its listenability long after the initial honeymoon phase is over which is more than can be said for The Bedlam In Goliath, as massive as that album was upon first listen. Octahedron's songs are compelling, bittersweet, and beautiful with the band getting in touch with theirThe Mars Volta delivers their most triumphant and cohesive record since Frances The Mute with Octahedron. It retains its listenability long after the initial honeymoon phase is over which is more than can be said for The Bedlam In Goliath, as massive as that album was upon first listen. Octahedron's songs are compelling, bittersweet, and beautiful with the band getting in touch with their more emotional songs. The guitar is used here as an instrument of music more than noise here which bucks the trend of their recent albums. Highlights are Teflon, Since We've Been Wrong, Desperate Graves, and classic TMV track Cotopaxi Expand
  22. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    Its sensation consists in both being recognisable in sound as The Mars Volta album, and becoming almost utterly something of a new and unheard quality. Unalterable and mostly slow paces filling Octahedron may not match the band's image at first, but nothing more erroneous. Powerful and melodic at the same time, it is a beautiful combination of Cedric's voice, ranging here from the lowestIts sensation consists in both being recognisable in sound as The Mars Volta album, and becoming almost utterly something of a new and unheard quality. Unalterable and mostly slow paces filling Octahedron may not match the band's image at first, but nothing more erroneous. Powerful and melodic at the same time, it is a beautiful combination of Cedric's voice, ranging here from the lowest of all albums to time ("Luciforms") to definitely high-pitched ("Cotopaxi"), and strangely simple-layered melodies dragging into listening them over and over. A great piece of music made by a great band, once again showing us their skills in creating something theirs, and still entirely fresh. Expand
  23. j30
    Dec 1, 2011
    2
    I never thought I'd listen to a boring Mars Volta album, but here it is, the completely forgettable Octahedron. The two points is for Cotopaxi, a song that belongs on a better, more concise album. Even Omar Rodriguez Lopez in a Rolling Stone interview said the album was boring.
  24. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    This is possibly the best mars Volta album there is, every song is very good, unlike other albums where most of the songs are good and a couple are weird.
  25. Mar 16, 2015
    9
    The Mars Voltas fifth album by my count and easily one of the most accessible to new listeners i,ll keep it breif but if you enjoyed there first album octahedron will be music to your ears
Metascore
66

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Though 'Teflon' boasts Rush-like guitar thunder and violent lyrics (“Let the wheels burn, let the wheels burn, stack the tires to the neck with the body inside”), the group returns to dark balladry on 'Desperate Graves' and 'Copernicus,' two more highlights from a haunting album full of twilight poetry.
  2. Calling this an unplugged album is useful only in relation to what the group has produced in the past, but what the Mars Volta created on Octahedron will provide them with more range and opportunities in the future.
  3. Guitarist Omar Rodriguez-Lopez and singer Cedric Bixler-Zavala are the creative duo driving the band and once again deliver on a standing promise to blow any mind that is willing to stay open.