On My Way

  • Record Label: ATO
  • Release Date: Apr 6, 2004
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DaniF
    Jun 19, 2005
    10
    My brothers listened first, so automatically i didn't enjoy it. Though once a frienend entroduced me to On My Way, i instantly loved it! Then later I listened to Sha Sha, I still can't decide which is better! Keep it up Kweller! And think about going on tour again.
  2. GeorgeI
    Apr 8, 2004
    10
    Amazing. Kweller produced something few people believed was possible, an album better than Sha-sha.
  3. SeamusS
    Jun 9, 2006
    10
    Again, I'm trying to keep myself from doing too many "10" reviews. This, however, is a classic. Through and Trough, for fans of Sha Sha it will take time to get used to. It's not as immediatly catchy or punchy or produced(y) but, it's ultimatly more rewarding.
  4. RoryB
    Apr 6, 2004
    10
    Sha Sha was a great album, easily in my top five favorite records of all time, so I was ready for something amazing. On My Way turned out to be something different alltogether. Instead of the clean-cut 70's pop feel in Sha Sha, Kweller gave us a 60's garage rock feel that is unparalleled. This is the best CD I've ever heard.
  5. annak
    Apr 6, 2004
    10
    fantastic.
  6. littlelucky
    May 25, 2004
    9
    I think there was maybe one song on here that i was fully impressed on, but that was it, this one ranks up with his original. It's different from his first, but still very good.
  7. BrianM
    Apr 12, 2004
    6
    No where as good as his last album, Sha Sha, but still an alright listen.
  8. jasona
    Apr 22, 2004
    9
    Ok, i'll admit at first listen I was like ummm this cd is ok but it looks like BK may have fallen into the same trap that Ben Lee did as he "matured" as an artist. I gave this cd a few more listens and my wife and I both love it now. Not as immediately catchy as Sha Sha thats for sure. That doesnt mean this album isn't really good though. Standout tracks are I NEED YOU BACK, Ok, i'll admit at first listen I was like ummm this cd is ok but it looks like BK may have fallen into the same trap that Ben Lee did as he "matured" as an artist. I gave this cd a few more listens and my wife and I both love it now. Not as immediately catchy as Sha Sha thats for sure. That doesnt mean this album isn't really good though. Standout tracks are I NEED YOU BACK, HOSPITAL BED which to me sounds like something off of Lou Reed's Transformer, On My WAY and Hear Me Out which to me both sound a bit like Dylan. A really good, quirky, generally rockin' cd. Expand
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Beatles-style tunes crank out with steady snares, blaring power riffs, and languid keyboard interjections, but feel mundane.
  2. 70
    Kweller's skeletal songs rely mostly on his acoustic guitar, garage-y riffs and swinging, Beatlesque piano. [Apr 2004, p.130]
  3. The worst thing you can say about On My Way is that it isn't as good as Sha Sha.