One Way Ticket To Hell... And Back

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Nov 29, 2005
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 56
  2. Negative: 11 out of 56

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 15, 2015
    0
    I have to admit, I have never read a better scathing review than Tiny Mix Tapes, as they are fully correct. As a follow up their debut album Permission To Land, this is just like the last one! Horrible. When will these guys just quit?
  2. MichaelC
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    I'm 14 again and listening to "News of the World" for the first time. Incredible, over the top, sand blasted wall of sound, this is. If they don't come to the US, I'm flying to the UK. "Bald" is my favorite track, followed closely by "English Country Garden" and "Hazel Eyes" but every track is a jewel, a lavish and guilty pleasure. This one goes to eleven.
  3. RayL
    Dec 8, 2005
    9
    Balances the jokes with the good tunes. Definitely underrated.
  4. JohnS
    Dec 9, 2005
    9
    You know what to expect and you get it. An excellent album. OK there are probably a few too many jokes, but so what. The songs are works of genius.
  5. JoshH
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    Finally a band that doesn't take themselves too seriously!!! This is really fun to listen to and just puts you into a good mood.
  6. DanO
    Dec 6, 2005
    8
    If your looking for an album that changes the face of music and an instant classic then your gonna hate this. However if your just looking for a fun rock album then this is it. Dont look for too much in this its The Darkness they're just here to have a good time. Its full of singalongs, lines to make you chuckle and well The Darkness should be acknowledged for single handedly If your looking for an album that changes the face of music and an instant classic then your gonna hate this. However if your just looking for a fun rock album then this is it. Dont look for too much in this its The Darkness they're just here to have a good time. Its full of singalongs, lines to make you chuckle and well The Darkness should be acknowledged for single handedly bringing back the face melter. ROCK ON!!! Expand
  7. LouReed
    Dec 6, 2005
    7
    Not great but still good
  8. MarkL
    Dec 6, 2005
    6
    This is a decent album and arguably an improvement on Permission to Land. They're a band with real talent and the album kicks off well with two excellent tracks. But as the album goes on it doesn't really go anywhere. It's also shorter than it should be, this could do with another 5+ minute track on the end. Hopefully they'll do better with album #3.
  9. Steve
    Dec 6, 2005
    0
    Very poor uninnovative music from a bunch of talentless egomaniacs. They should stop what they're doing for good. Put us all out of our misery.
  10. DaveH
    Dec 9, 2005
    8
    Great! Ten songs, 8 classics. Absolutely stunning are 'Knockers', 'Girlfrriend' and 'English Country Garden'. Too bad this album is a little short.... 35 minutes is sooo sixties..
  11. ChrisC
    Feb 14, 2006
    10
    Stunning!! If you like Thin Lizzy and the rock icons of the 70's this album is a must! I'm going to see The Darkness LIVE in Vienna in March. Can't wait!! "Bald" is a Rock Classic!!
  12. LyndenA
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    A terrific follow-up to their sensational first album, unfairly stung by the misguided criticisms of "reviewers" like Filmore Mescalito Holmes from Tiny Max Tapes, who are continually trying to deconstruct and evaluate the album for everything that it isn't. With the familiar over-the-top antics, screeching guitars and the superbly unique singing voice of frontman Justin Hawkins, A terrific follow-up to their sensational first album, unfairly stung by the misguided criticisms of "reviewers" like Filmore Mescalito Holmes from Tiny Max Tapes, who are continually trying to deconstruct and evaluate the album for everything that it isn't. With the familiar over-the-top antics, screeching guitars and the superbly unique singing voice of frontman Justin Hawkins, this album suggests that, much like some of the reviews written by the unfavourable critics, not everything should be taken too seriously. Rock on. Expand
  13. DanielV
    Feb 20, 2006
    2
    I liked the band a lot more when I thought they were a bunch of 16 year olds. Now that I have seen the inside of the album I realize that it's just pathetic (and not nearly as much fun as Permission to Land).
  14. AndyT.
    Dec 19, 2005
    9
    Almost as good as their debut. Totally off-the-wall songs that just rock, like "Dinner Lady Arms", "English Country Garden", and "Hazel Eyes". Just don't try to take them too seriously, but then again, they don't want you to.
  15. AlbertoG
    Dec 20, 2005
    10
    The best rock band in this moment
  16. MarkT
    Dec 6, 2005
    8
    Great follow up. Dont be haters this is rockin'.
  17. daveh
    Dec 6, 2005
    8
    this album is not as good as Permission to land, but by heck it doesn't deserve the low marks that it has been given! It is still a dam good album with "dinner lady arms " and "hazel eyes" being two of the most standout songs. The low marks are definitely undeserved!
  18. JoeS
    Dec 6, 2005
    8
    a very good album that's overproduced in places but still has some great songs.
  19. Matt
    Dec 7, 2005
    3
    They turned from being fun rock and roll into sounding like a silly parody. This is a disappointing follow-up CD.
  20. nickt
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    100%
  21. AndrewL
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    Wonderful follow-up. Highlights include: 'Dinner Lady Arms' 'Is It Just Me?' 'Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time' 'Girlfriend' ...hell, the whole album is great.
  22. YiannosG
    Jan 24, 2006
    9
    I don't know what the 'proffesional' reviewers were listening to, honestly. This is an immensely enjoyable album, reminding is just how fun rock can be, and reviving the best Leppard and Queen moments. No fillers at all, but Hazel Eyes and Bald are my current faves
  23. FilmoreH
    May 16, 2006
    0
    A horrific follow-up to their idiotic first album, fairly stung by the dead-on criticisms of reviewers like Filmore Mescalito Holmes from Tiny Max Tapes, who continually deconstruct and evaluate the album for everything that it tries to be but isn't. You have to be retarded to think this is even listenable.
  24. jyotirmayad
    Dec 14, 2005
    9
    I overlooked them the first time around because I found his opera voice unbearable. but since I heard the buzz about how well this album is, I decided to give it a try and I really liked what I heard. Even the falsetto thing was gone (whoever told him to cut it out did them a BIG favor) It was like listening to Queen rising from hell and back!!! j.t.
  25. David
    Dec 19, 2005
    9
    A score to reflect the number of great songs on this album, shame about Hazel Eyes!. Wasn't to impressed to begin with, but this album has grown on me so much - I love it
  26. AdamJ
    Dec 5, 2005
    1
    The musical equivalent of a joke that's not funny.
  27. [Anonymous]
    Dec 9, 2005
    8
    Some great songs, some average ones, but generally the great ones are career highlights. With more consistency and a few more uptempo songs it could have been great. Had no problem with the glossy producion, just some of the songwriting.
  28. AnonAmose
    Oct 25, 2006
    8
    Not bad at all. It's entertaining if you take the album for what it is supposed to be.
  29. Mangle
    Jan 27, 2006
    0
    I liked it better when "Weird" Al did it.
  30. AlanR
    Dec 17, 2005
    0
    The success of the Darkness is linked directly to the glorification of stupidity in Western society.
  31. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    I love how the producer is the same producer for Queen. Its so fitting since they are Queen jr. Although there is that AC/DC vibe in them as well, its a shame they broke up, I found this album to be better than their debut
  32. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    Es impresionante de principio a fin, son de las pocas esperanzas para el rock actual,
    mis favs "One Way Ticket"
    "Is It Just Me?" "Dinner Lady Arms"
    "Hazel Eyes"
    "Bald"
  33. May 20, 2013
    8
    This is where The Darkness DID become a joke. Despite being drugged up for most of the album, Justin Hawkins still makes great music, although this album lacks the power of the first. This is still a jolly good listen (even if you're not drugged up) and after several listens seems to improve upon each playthrough. Obviously I would recommend the first, but this album is still fun andThis is where The Darkness DID become a joke. Despite being drugged up for most of the album, Justin Hawkins still makes great music, although this album lacks the power of the first. This is still a jolly good listen (even if you're not drugged up) and after several listens seems to improve upon each playthrough. Obviously I would recommend the first, but this album is still fun and shouldn't be ignored (if you think I'm wrong then that's ok, this album isn't for everyone). Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Not so much a letdown as a comedown, One Way Ticket to Hell...and Back just shows that the giddy highs of Permission to Land aren't so easy to get the second time around.
  2. One Way Ticket To Hell...And Back is a sturdy rock album with some saucy titles and odd instruments, but sadly it is less than it could or should be.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    33
    Without any real scream-along, kick-ass songs, this is just a One Way Ticket to Hell. Period. [2 Dec 2005, p.81]