One Way Ticket To Hell... And Back

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Nov 29, 2005
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 56 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 56
  2. Negative: 11 out of 56

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 15, 2015
    0
    I have to admit, I have never read a better scathing review than Tiny Mix Tapes, as they are fully correct. As a follow up their debut album Permission To Land, this is just like the last one! Horrible. When will these guys just quit?
  2. Steve
    Dec 6, 2005
    0
    Very poor uninnovative music from a bunch of talentless egomaniacs. They should stop what they're doing for good. Put us all out of our misery.
  3. DanielV
    Feb 20, 2006
    2
    I liked the band a lot more when I thought they were a bunch of 16 year olds. Now that I have seen the inside of the album I realize that it's just pathetic (and not nearly as much fun as Permission to Land).
  4. Matt
    Dec 7, 2005
    3
    They turned from being fun rock and roll into sounding like a silly parody. This is a disappointing follow-up CD.
  5. FilmoreH
    May 16, 2006
    0
    A horrific follow-up to their idiotic first album, fairly stung by the dead-on criticisms of reviewers like Filmore Mescalito Holmes from Tiny Max Tapes, who continually deconstruct and evaluate the album for everything that it tries to be but isn't. You have to be retarded to think this is even listenable.
  6. AdamJ
    Dec 5, 2005
    1
    The musical equivalent of a joke that's not funny.
  7. Mangle
    Jan 27, 2006
    0
    I liked it better when "Weird" Al did it.
  8. AlanR
    Dec 17, 2005
    0
    The success of the Darkness is linked directly to the glorification of stupidity in Western society.
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Not so much a letdown as a comedown, One Way Ticket to Hell...and Back just shows that the giddy highs of Permission to Land aren't so easy to get the second time around.
  2. One Way Ticket To Hell...And Back is a sturdy rock album with some saucy titles and odd instruments, but sadly it is less than it could or should be.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    33
    Without any real scream-along, kick-ass songs, this is just a One Way Ticket to Hell. Period. [2 Dec 2005, p.81]