Opposites

Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Feb 15, 2013
    70
    Ultimately, Biffy Clyro's gift as a band is to craft songs that balance immediately catchy hooks with complex arrangements that only help to reinforce the drama of the pop moment. Thankfully, there are plenty of these dichotomous yet rapturous moments on Opposites.
  2. Alternative Press
    Feb 26, 2013
    80
    It's the perfect addition to their ever idiosyncratic and unpredictable repertoire. [Apr 2013, p.86]
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    It's a solid, engaging and high-calibre Biffy Clyro album. And that's no bad thing.
  4. Classic Rock Magazine
    Jun 6, 2013
    90
    A bona fide, big, stadium-pleasing epic. [Mar 2013, p.95]
  5. Mojo
    Jan 24, 2013
    80
    Heartfelt and brilliantly executed, it's a creative peak. [Feb 2013, p.89]
  6. Feb 1, 2013
    70
    The double album is a difficult thing to pull off, but considering the anticipation before the release of Biffy Clyro’s sixth LP, the trio have done a fine job.
  7. 70
    By the time you reach the halfway point and prepare for CD2, you realise Opposites is not, as feared, an unedited expanse of rock-band mind splurge, but two albums' worth of well-constructed songs.
  8. Q Magazine
    Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Their sixth album has everything you should want from a rock group: riffs, daring ambition, big choruses and a bit with bagpipes in it. [Mar 2013, p.103]
  9. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    Opposites is ultimately a surprisingly immediate and rewarding listen, compensating in consistency for what it lacks in depth.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Every Biffy album has been a 'grower' for me and Opposites is no different.
    On first listen it was a good album, but not as good as their
    Every Biffy album has been a 'grower' for me and Opposites is no different.
    On first listen it was a good album, but not as good as their last, on second listen it was better than i first thought and probably on a par with their last. By the third i was hooked and it was easily their best album yet.

    Not one song do i skip when listening to this album, and i usually do find one or two on an album i tend to skip past. Each one i either find myself humming along to or, nobody is around, singing out loud.

    Easilymy favourite album right now.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    This album shocked me. I like Biffy Clyro but they've never been among my favorite bands. I've always felt that their output has beenThis album shocked me. I like Biffy Clyro but they've never been among my favorite bands. I've always felt that their output has been inconsistent, ranging from fantastic (Infinity Land) to mediocre (Puzzle) to poor (Vertigo of Bliss). The thought of a double album from such a hit or miss band was frankly terrifying. I envisioned a bloated mess stuffed full of filler. Amazingly, Opposites is utterly brilliant! It's easily Biffy Clyro's best album in my opinion. Making a 22 track album with no bad songs is an almost impossible feat but the band totally knocked it out of the park. It's also one of the most emotionally stirring records I've heard for quite some time. Surprisingly excellent stuff for the Clyro! Full Review »
  3. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    This album can be put simply: to those who do not like high powered, kick-ass rock, you will find this album hard to endure. To those who do,This album can be put simply: to those who do not like high powered, kick-ass rock, you will find this album hard to endure. To those who do, this is a masterpiece. Full Review »