Opposites - Biffy Clyro
Opposites Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth release for the Scottish rock trio was produced by Garth "GGGarth" Richardson.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 90
    A bona fide, big, stadium-pleasing epic. [Mar 2013, p.95]
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Their sixth album has everything you should want from a rock group: riffs, daring ambition, big choruses and a bit with bagpipes in it. [Mar 2013, p.103]
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    It's a solid, engaging and high-calibre Biffy Clyro album. And that's no bad thing.
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    Opposites is ultimately a surprisingly immediate and rewarding listen, compensating in consistency for what it lacks in depth.
  5. Jan 24, 2013
    60
    Opposites may not be the career-defining masterpiece it's intended as, but it's certainly not the pompous disaster it could have been: it has failings, but not the ones you might expect.
  6. Jan 28, 2013
    60
    Across 80 minutes there's the sense they might have spread themselves too thinly.
  7. 40
    There's precious little of the experimentation or variety you might expect.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. May 13, 2013
    10
    Awesome album.
    The songs "Black Chandelier", "Opposites", "Biblical", "Stingin' Belle", "Black Magic Formula" and the pretty "Accident
    Without Emergency" made Opposites the best release of 2013 since now. Expand
  2. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    This album shocked me. I like Biffy Clyro but they've never been among my favorite bands. I've always felt that their output has been inconsistent, ranging from fantastic (Infinity Land) to mediocre (Puzzle) to poor (Vertigo of Bliss). The thought of a double album from such a hit or miss band was frankly terrifying. I envisioned a bloated mess stuffed full of filler. Amazingly, Opposites is utterly brilliant! It's easily Biffy Clyro's best album in my opinion. Making a 22 track album with no bad songs is an almost impossible feat but the band totally knocked it out of the park. It's also one of the most emotionally stirring records I've heard for quite some time. Surprisingly excellent stuff for the Clyro! Collapse
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Every Biffy album has been a 'grower' for me and Opposites is no different.
    On first listen it was a good album, but not as good as their
    last, on second listen it was better than i first thought and probably on a par with their last. By the third i was hooked and it was easily their best album yet.

    Not one song do i skip when listening to this album, and i usually do find one or two on an album i tend to skip past. Each one i either find myself humming along to or, nobody is around, singing out loud.

    Easilymy favourite album right now.
    Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Typically Biffy. Nothing much changed from their recent formula: lots of catchy arena tunes mixed in with their signature blend progressive rock. The only difference here is that there's more of it. Great if you're a Biffy fan, may be a bit overpowering if you're not. Still very much worth a listen though. Expand
  5. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    Biffy's breakthrough proper, "Only Revolutions" was a decent album with some good singles and a handful of other listenable numbers. It also has the odd dud. In general, it was hard to be offended by it and if noone was watching, you could even enjoy it. Here we have its follow up, no much has changed to the sound but this time we have a sprawling double album. There are a few decent tracks, a fee duds but here we do have a hell of a lot more production going on. A couple of tracks get the big orchestral treatment, turning otherwise average songs into potential stadium anthems. There is plenty to like on this record, but as is the case more often than not with double albums, I just really question whether we needed two discs? There are about a half dozen doublers out there that truly justified their two disc status and I really don't see this joining the list. Still though, it's an enjoyable enough listen and there are a few peaches to be found on it. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Each of both albums by itself leaves one longing for more, so the fact that it's a double album strengthens it, much more than the band's previous score, Only Revolutions. The style of the songs vary, from the typical acoustic melodies and harmonising vocals, to the hard headbanging riffs and awkward rhythms, which make this record a great and original piece.

    In terms of production, it has improved from the last album, however, it still lacks the power of Puzzle, and, as OR, it's overly produced. The drums barely kick ass much as the vocals, and the bass is most noticeable in this album, as it weakens the electric guitars. The lyrics are strong, as well as playfull and satirical, a style that's characterised this band for years.

    Overall, a great album.
    Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2013
    2
    Seen so many great reviews of this album and I simply don't get it bland, boring, samey. Just because most of it's upbeat doesn't mean it's not boring. Don't get me wrong, there's nothing truly bad here, just a bunch of mediocre tracks, some slightly more passable than others. Every song sounds pretty much the same as the last with barely anything distinguishable or memorable. Nothing much more to say. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews