Opposites - Biffy Clyro
Opposites Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth release for the Scottish rock trio was produced by Garth "GGGarth" Richardson.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 90
    A bona fide, big, stadium-pleasing epic. [Mar 2013, p.95]
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    80
    Their sixth album has everything you should want from a rock group: riffs, daring ambition, big choruses and a bit with bagpipes in it. [Mar 2013, p.103]
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    70
    It's a solid, engaging and high-calibre Biffy Clyro album. And that's no bad thing.
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    Opposites is ultimately a surprisingly immediate and rewarding listen, compensating in consistency for what it lacks in depth.
  5. Jan 24, 2013
    60
    Opposites may not be the career-defining masterpiece it's intended as, but it's certainly not the pompous disaster it could have been: it has failings, but not the ones you might expect.
  6. Jan 28, 2013
    60
    Across 80 minutes there's the sense they might have spread themselves too thinly.
  7. 40
    There's precious little of the experimentation or variety you might expect.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Every Biffy album has been a 'grower' for me and Opposites is no different.
    On first listen it was a good album, but not as good as their
    Every Biffy album has been a 'grower' for me and Opposites is no different.
    On first listen it was a good album, but not as good as their last, on second listen it was better than i first thought and probably on a par with their last. By the third i was hooked and it was easily their best album yet.

    Not one song do i skip when listening to this album, and i usually do find one or two on an album i tend to skip past. Each one i either find myself humming along to or, nobody is around, singing out loud.

    Easilymy favourite album right now.
    Expand
  2. May 13, 2013
    10
    Awesome album.
    The songs "Black Chandelier", "Opposites", "Biblical", "Stingin' Belle", "Black Magic Formula" and the pretty "Accident
    Awesome album.
    The songs "Black Chandelier", "Opposites", "Biblical", "Stingin' Belle", "Black Magic Formula" and the pretty "Accident Without Emergency" made Opposites the best release of 2013 since now.
    Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    This album can be put simply: to those who do not like high powered, kick-ass rock, you will find this album hard to endure. To those who do,This album can be put simply: to those who do not like high powered, kick-ass rock, you will find this album hard to endure. To those who do, this is a masterpiece. Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    Typically Biffy. Nothing much changed from their recent formula: lots of catchy arena tunes mixed in with their signature blend progressiveTypically Biffy. Nothing much changed from their recent formula: lots of catchy arena tunes mixed in with their signature blend progressive rock. The only difference here is that there's more of it. Great if you're a Biffy fan, may be a bit overpowering if you're not. Still very much worth a listen though. Collapse
  5. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    Biffy Clyro was, from 2002 to 2004, a first-class alternative/progressive rock band. Even though their first three albums were very differentBiffy Clyro was, from 2002 to 2004, a first-class alternative/progressive rock band. Even though their first three albums were very different from each other, they could superbly express their sadness, anger and happiness with dull timbres, fast tone attacks, large timing variations, dissonant notes and impressive melodies. Nevertheless, as anyone can tell, such things hardly make a living for professional musicians. It is necessary to hide the sharp edges if you're aiming for sucess. Then, from 2007 until now, they turned out into a pop/rock band; and that's what "Opposites" is all about: a tender pop/rock album that may please FM radio listeners. But still Biffy Clyro shines: all the songs in this album are catchy and amazingly designed. Hands down, the second disc is the best thing they've made since "Puzzle" (2007). Neil Simon and the Johnston brothers are so talented that they can't make it go wrong. So, if you are already a Biffy fan, there's no way you're not going to love this album. On the other hand, "Opposites" feels like they're still spoiling their talent, and I'm still unsure if it is preferable to be on the top of the Billboard sellings rather than on the top of the best rock bands of all times given they're capable of both and, so far, it has been a dichotomy. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    Biffy's breakthrough proper, "Only Revolutions" was a decent album with some good singles and a handful of other listenable numbers. It alsoBiffy's breakthrough proper, "Only Revolutions" was a decent album with some good singles and a handful of other listenable numbers. It also has the odd dud. In general, it was hard to be offended by it and if noone was watching, you could even enjoy it. Here we have its follow up, no much has changed to the sound but this time we have a sprawling double album. There are a few decent tracks, a fee duds but here we do have a hell of a lot more production going on. A couple of tracks get the big orchestral treatment, turning otherwise average songs into potential stadium anthems. There is plenty to like on this record, but as is the case more often than not with double albums, I just really question whether we needed two discs? There are about a half dozen doublers out there that truly justified their two disc status and I really don't see this joining the list. Still though, it's an enjoyable enough listen and there are a few peaches to be found on it. Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2013
    2
    Seen so many great reviews of this album and I simply don't get it bland, boring, samey. Just because most of it's upbeat doesn't mean it'sSeen so many great reviews of this album and I simply don't get it bland, boring, samey. Just because most of it's upbeat doesn't mean it's not boring. Don't get me wrong, there's nothing truly bad here, just a bunch of mediocre tracks, some slightly more passable than others. Every song sounds pretty much the same as the last with barely anything distinguishable or memorable. Nothing much more to say. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews