• Record Label: Republic
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. toml
    May 10, 2005
    9
    Not as strong as Behind The Music, but the group tends to make thick, fat albums of dense rock'n'roll with lyrics that reference many other great songs, films, et al. This is the most "ecomonical" album to date [lead singer Ebbot Lundberg told me himself that he's not fond of the album, that Origins Vol. 2 will be more like previous outtings]. Far from a "snorefest" [how Not as strong as Behind The Music, but the group tends to make thick, fat albums of dense rock'n'roll with lyrics that reference many other great songs, films, et al. This is the most "ecomonical" album to date [lead singer Ebbot Lundberg told me himself that he's not fond of the album, that Origins Vol. 2 will be more like previous outtings]. Far from a "snorefest" [how old are you Katie H.? Only children write like that...] there are some fine moments leading off with "Believe I Found" and ending with "Age Of No Reply". Unlike so many "retro" rock acts, these guys no how to play, and where the good hooks come from. And that's the exciting part, they know the history of rock'n'roll, they wear it on their sleeves, and got the chops to back it all up with. Beatles,Beefheart, Stones, Stooges, the Who, Damned, Pink Floyd, MC5, music fans in love with music. And They know how to play it. Seen the Dears or the Bravery yet? Well, theres your snorefest. Expand
  2. PauloD
    Jun 2, 2005
    8
    It's not classic but is one of the best albums released this year. This album is a mix of f***in rock n' roll and psychodelic ideas that makes you remember the essence of rock music.
  3. MattM
    Jul 13, 2005
    7
    While I don't find this album to be either great or original, I do believe that it possesses a quality that reviewers such as Pitchfork neglect to mention, and that is that it is very catchy. While I certainly wouldn't argue that the lead singer is destined for the Opera, I don't think his voice is nearly as bad as critics make it out to be. And one on one, I think each While I don't find this album to be either great or original, I do believe that it possesses a quality that reviewers such as Pitchfork neglect to mention, and that is that it is very catchy. While I certainly wouldn't argue that the lead singer is destined for the Opera, I don't think his voice is nearly as bad as critics make it out to be. And one on one, I think each song offers something that is interesting, though I would agree with those who claim it can tend to become tedious over time. While I've never been a huge fan of trying to mimic the idols of your past in one record, TSOOL do it very well here, and thus earn an at least respectable mark from me. Particularly stand-outish to me is how much "Midnight Children" sound like the Velvet Underground. Whether that's a good thing or not to you is really up to what you're looking for. Expand
  4. David
    Mar 22, 2005
    8
    Takes all the big sounds of the '60s and '70s and puts them together in tremendous & bombastic ways. Too bad the lyrics are so half-arsed.
  5. MikeK
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    A tour de force. Spellbinding, relentless, with moments of rock perfection. Soundtrack of our Lives channel the rock gods of the 60s and early 70s and somehow make it all seem fresh, vivid.
  6. KatieH
    Mar 17, 2005
    5
    snorefest. i never though the rock revolution could be so tired.
  7. markf
    Mar 25, 2005
    9
    I need to drop some love on TSOOL. They and I love rock and roll. They are not rip-off artists unless you only interpret music through others. I was there in the '60s diggin on the tunes. Several others were too. I don't mean to denigrate younger listeners. All I'm sayin' is that I would bet that older listeners appreciate TSOOL more than younger, which I personally I need to drop some love on TSOOL. They and I love rock and roll. They are not rip-off artists unless you only interpret music through others. I was there in the '60s diggin on the tunes. Several others were too. I don't mean to denigrate younger listeners. All I'm sayin' is that I would bet that older listeners appreciate TSOOL more than younger, which I personally find sad. This isn't as good as the last two TSOOL albums. Those are 10s. So this is a 9. Does it suck? Hell, no. Let me respond to those who love the music but think the lyrics are weak. "Pictures of Matchstick Men" and "Wild Thing", are those classics worth 9 or 10? I think they are. Do they have "great" lyrics? No, but are they great r/r songs. Of course. This album (which has weaker lyrics than the last two TSOOL albums) has several great "songs". I'm not going to feel bad because they aren't perfect, lyrically. Give me a break! How many songs, outside of your own perfect little world, have perfect lyrics? "Wheels of Boredom" probably has the greatest chorus (a simple "Sha la la, la la, la la la la la") as any song I can EVER think of. "Borderline"...my God, what a lousy title, but what a great song. Sorry, I hope you can all love great rock and roll, but peace, no matter what. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    In an era when [Next Big Swedish Things] are suddenly everywhere, it will take more than Soundtrack's beige retro anthems to break through the static. [18 Mar 2005, p.68]
  2. Blender
    60
    Despite its epic ambitions, this is a more streamlined, less colorful statement than TSOOL's 2001 Behind The Music, and only occasionally attains earth-moving power. [Apr 2005, p.125]
  3. Mojo
    90
    Breathtaking moments, brilliant tunes, and Breakdown, a genuinely Beatles-league pop hit. [Nov 2004, p.114]