User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 185
  2. Negative: 14 out of 185

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. danielw
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Brilliant. the music i normally listen to is rock music, but this album is absolutely fantastic.
  2. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    A modern British Classic. Mike Skinner's spoken lyrics encapsulate a side of British culture that a lot of people around the world would be oblivious to. The beats which accompany the lyrics are flawless in places, especially for 'Turn The Page', 'Let's Push Things Forward' and 'Stay Positive'. By creating fusion between hip-hop and garage, delivered with lyrics in a regional accent,A modern British Classic. Mike Skinner's spoken lyrics encapsulate a side of British culture that a lot of people around the world would be oblivious to. The beats which accompany the lyrics are flawless in places, especially for 'Turn The Page', 'Let's Push Things Forward' and 'Stay Positive'. By creating fusion between hip-hop and garage, delivered with lyrics in a regional accent, Skinner effectively invents his own genre. Not a bad way to introduce yourself to the music industry. Expand
  3. BibianeN
    May 16, 2008
    10
    WONDERFUL. Amazingly, surprisingly goog album!
  4. LeonW.
    Jul 30, 2002
    0
    intolerable rubbish thats a chor to listen to. definately one of the most overrated albums of the year. Don't bother!
  5. ShineR
    Oct 7, 2002
    2
    Obnoxious blather piled over dated loops and sfx. I don't understand all the acclaim. Is it a british thing?
  6. MarkG
    Jan 25, 2008
    2
    I'm mystified by people who call this 'music' timeless. I struggle to think of a record more explicitly grounded in time and place for its resonance. Hopefully when people have stopped injecting themselves with heroin, finding lyrics about chips and lager 'meaningful' and generally just labeling anything as 'genius' as long as it comes from a working I'm mystified by people who call this 'music' timeless. I struggle to think of a record more explicitly grounded in time and place for its resonance. Hopefully when people have stopped injecting themselves with heroin, finding lyrics about chips and lager 'meaningful' and generally just labeling anything as 'genius' as long as it comes from a working class background, maybe we can all evolve... Expand
  7. MattE
    Oct 14, 2002
    3
    never before have i anticapted an album so much and been so disappointed. it may be original, i don't know, but nonetheless, its crap.
  8. TalieS.
    May 9, 2002
    7
    heres how to make Dance interesting. Mike and his home studio and the collaborators are the Streets. there's an interesting combination of groove and Garage with a taster of hip hop & g-funk all accompanying some rough yet humourous jamming
  9. BubL
    Jun 14, 2002
    10
    this is one of those albums that really makes you sit back and listen and appreciate the raw quality of the music as a whole then question why the hell arn't i making music.
  10. MarkG.
    Jun 3, 2002
    9
    this is an awesome album. if this is english rap then im in ... the sounds are really good, and the lyrics are almost poetic in places ... and that 'all music guide' review is the exact problem with music today; 'the raps are juvenile and lightweight' ... well, look 'all music guide' reviewer-loser, the problem with a lot of todays music is people taking this is an awesome album. if this is english rap then im in ... the sounds are really good, and the lyrics are almost poetic in places ... and that 'all music guide' review is the exact problem with music today; 'the raps are juvenile and lightweight' ... well, look 'all music guide' reviewer-loser, the problem with a lot of todays music is people taking themselves too seriously (see every other rapper today, and all those awful boy bands) and not just doing it because they enjoy it ... this is a breath of fresh air (copyright cliche machine 2002) ... im not a fan of a couple of the songs, but you get that ... but all up the album is top stuff, incredibly entertaining and funny in places, and in others thinly veiled social comments ... this is excellent ... Expand
  11. JeremyD.
    Apr 1, 2002
    9
    Refreshing, exciting, adventurous, accomplished, fun. Just buy it now - it's like nothing you've ever heard before!
  12. KCMills
    May 30, 2002
    10
    Played it right the way through loved it, played it again.
  13. Siege
    Jun 19, 2002
    9
    How can anyone doubt this album? original drums and bass with poetry layed on top -the last time I heard anything this good was The Criminal Minds Tales fom The Wasteland EP - bring on the new sound of urban music
  14. [Anonymous]
    Jul 2, 2002
    9
    buy this unless you're broke- only coinage to show
  15. AaronK.
    Aug 5, 2002
    10
    awesome
  16. WillemH
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    not bestseller but cold classic
  17. kris
    Jan 2, 2003
    10
    beautifully done!
  18. annimanni
    May 10, 2003
    10
    to hear in every situation
  19. Flash
    Jul 30, 2003
    10
    Picked this album in Melbourne before I moved to London, cant do the tube without it.
  20. timl
    May 2, 2004
    10
    Amazing. The best debut of the 21st Century without question. Probably the best debut full stop since 'Definately Maybe'. Incredible.
  21. StephenC
    Feb 7, 2005
    1
    Ooof, Now you might think that, that was a good ooof but it aint. This is an abysmal album. They call him a poet...What? Mr Skinner is a chav with no musical intuition whatsoever.
  22. MattC
    Aug 5, 2008
    9
    Mark G. I guess that American hiphop is much better? Much better to talk about pimps, 40's and hoes This is what is wrong about society, people complaining for the wrong reasons!
  23. JimstonA
    Nov 29, 2002
    10
    Dis Album is phat. It is seriously the best album i have experianced in a long time. A beutifully done album. Mike puts together each song perfectly. Keep up the good work Mike. TWO THUMBS UP
  24. nanaa
    Nov 7, 2002
    9
    every song tells a story to which you're inevitabley drawn into, and the beats complement them perfectly... i havent enjoyed an album as much as this one for ages.
  25. CarmelC
    Dec 30, 2002
    10
    Its everything you feel about life with Mike Skinner putting a beat to it. This really is a voice of pure observation .How can anyone beat this album ?
  26. ChrisD.
    Apr 30, 2002
    10
    its sorted
  27. GrumpsB.
    May 2, 2002
    9
    yes yes yes yes this is the album I would have made if I had the time or talent /grumps
  28. AsherD
    May 27, 2002
    0
    Turd album made by a Brummie putting on a false cockney accent. Fully wank!
  29. RickM.
    May 5, 2002
    10
    Absolutely brilliant album, nothing else will ever sound the same.
  30. ThomasE.
    Jun 12, 2002
    10
    Very Good... I've been living in the U.K for 9 months now and I find the music, Garage, very good.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Original Pirate Material is England's first great hip-hop record mostly because it isn't a hip-hop record. It's hard to say exactly what it is.
  2. An album whose scope, diversity, wit and heart make it instantly the best album of 2002.
  3. While Original Pirate Material isn't as good as the U.K. press hyperbole would have us believe, it does prove that sentiment and sincerity are more interesting than slickness and skills. [Dec 2002, p.96]