• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Our Earthly Pleasures Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gil Norton produced this second album for the Paul Smith-fronted UK rock outfit, who debuted in 2005 with the Mercury Music Prize-nominated 'A Certain Trigger.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Our Earthly Pleasures, in contrast to the water-tight radio punk of its predecessor, overflows with ideas, even if it’s to the detriment of the material.
  2. Stick with it, and about four spins in, the album reveals itself.
  3. Uncut
    80
    Repeated listens--it's a grower--reveal a number of meatier, surprisingly hard-rocking songs. [May 2007, p.99]
  4. An album which makes you feel like Maxïmo are parked when they should be in the fast lane.
  5. Q Magazine
    60
    Yet, for all the dumbing down, they have much going for them. [May 2007, p.122]
  6. Despite its flaws, Our Earthly Pleasures is a good record of mostly up-tempo UK indie rock.
  7. This air of superiority is pervasive on 'Our Earthly Pleasures', which is a pity when you consider contemporaries such as Franz Ferdinand can do clever without it getting in the way of the fact all they're really doing is making good pop records.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. philg
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    as sharif said, initially a little disappointing, but what lies beneath the sheen of the unknown is a fantastic album, as full of ideas and as sharif said, initially a little disappointing, but what lies beneath the sheen of the unknown is a fantastic album, as full of ideas and pop hooks as the first, and eventualy you will come to see the album as what it is, flawless. Expand
  2. StephW.
    May 15, 2007
    10
    A fantastic follow up to 'A Certain Trigger'. You dicover something new with each listen...Maximo Park are awesome!
  3. MartinS.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    Maximo's new CD isn't immediate?? The first three tracks alone are worth the price. In fact, all of the songs are well crafted, Maximo's new CD isn't immediate?? The first three tracks alone are worth the price. In fact, all of the songs are well crafted, intelligent slices of pop rock. The CD's diversity is quite impressive, and Duncan LLoyd is a great guitar player. Give "Our Earthly Pleasures" a chance. Maximo rules ok!! Expand
  4. KateB.
    May 20, 2007
    8
    I like this album a lot, but I have to be in the mood to listen to it. I personally think it is more organised musically than A Certain I like this album a lot, but I have to be in the mood to listen to it. I personally think it is more organised musically than A Certain Trigger, but lacks some of the energy. The tunes are solid, so if you can ignore the over-blown and/or pompous lyrics, then you will like this album. Expand
  5. BobB.
    Aug 2, 2007
    8
    It's a good album.
  6. Feb 24, 2012
    6
    The difficult 2nd album...It doesn't have the same immediacy as A Certain Trigger and the lyrics sound forced and pretentious rather thanThe difficult 2nd album...It doesn't have the same immediacy as A Certain Trigger and the lyrics sound forced and pretentious rather than poetic this time round. The big problem is the hooks just aren't as catchy or exciting as before. It's not a terrible record (Girls Who Play Guitars and Our Velocity are nice tunes) and if your a fan of the band I'm sure this will appeal to you, but there are also many other better albums out there to listen to. Collapse
  7. MarkJ.
    May 23, 2007
    2
    Shockingly bad. The only good song on there is the one thye released. What happened

See all 18 User Reviews