Out Of The Shadow

  • Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Jul 13, 2004
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 3 out of 13

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. jasont
    Sep 18, 2004
    8
    A very, very good album. I'd give it an 8.4 if that were available. Lyrically the songs leave something to be desired, but melodically they are borderline brilliant.
  2. JenN
    Aug 7, 2004
    10
    Really great record. I especially like "Sewn Up"
  3. BrianH
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    Great record. Favs: Sewn Up, Be Kind and Remind, Falcon Settles Me
  4. ErinM
    Sep 10, 2004
    10
    Sounds like the Shins!
  5. GregH
    Jan 15, 2005
    9
    Comparison to the Shins is appropriate, and I think I might like Rogue Wave better than the Shins - which coming from me, means alot.....
  6. JohnC
    Feb 5, 2005
    9
    Forget the Shins. This is so far superior to The Shins, and I like the shins. The album is one of the best of the years and give promise to what could be one of the next great band.
  7. BrianJ
    Sep 15, 2004
    10
    Wow, what a great album. I usually don't give albums 10's, but this one is worth it. This is a must have for fans of the Shins and New Pornographers. This album sneaks up on you. Very melodic.
  8. markf
    Aug 11, 2004
    9
    This is embarrasing. Everyone here loves the New Pornographers and A.C. Newman. Well, I'd give all their last three albums about a 7. This sounds like classic 60s music from Left Banke, but with enough Elliott Smith and/or Shins references to not be too old-fogeyish. I hate it that I agree so much with some of these Bozo reviewers. Problem is this is a great album!
  9. matta
    Jul 13, 2005
    9
    This really is a great album, one of the five best of the year in my opinion. I agree with others who have said they are similar to the Shins but better.....they really are better, better melodies, better strong structure, better sound....just all-around better. It will be interesting to see if they can duplicate the brilliance shown here on their sophomore release.

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Alternative Press
    100
    Think Doug Martsch fronting the Shins and playing the sweetest Carl Newman jams ever. [Sep 2004, p.124]
  2. Some of his melodies are so easily memorable they make The Thrills sound like Rammstein.
  3. Beneath the occasionally shambling arrangements and fuzzy overdubs, though, lie some great songs.