Paperwork Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Executive produced by Pharrell Williams, the ninth studio release for the rapper features guest appearances from such artists as Iggy Azalea, Chris Brown, Skylar Grey, Jeezy, Victoria Monet, Pharrell, The-Dream, Trae tha Truth, Usher, Watch The Duck, and Young Thug.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 20, 2014
    Bright, big, and Pharrellian, Paperwork still finds T.I. at the center of its well-funded variety show, allowing him to bounce back to his streety Trouble Man persona after schooling all the Iggy's and Macklemore's in such vital uptown slick.
  2. Oct 22, 2014
    Paperwork is at its most compelling when it feels like he’s being the most autobiographical.
  3. Oct 22, 2014
    Despite the album’s loaded guest list, T.I. manages to squeeze in enough room to allow himself to shine and tells us why after nearly 15 years deep; he’s still a top-tier artist in the game.
  4. Oct 20, 2014
    While it does have a couple of moments, much of the album sounds like he is just, filling out paperwork.
  5. Nov 10, 2014
    Working with new producers has opened up his style, his writing, his approach, all in exciting ways. He just might need a more brutal editor going forward.
  6. Oct 21, 2014
    The production is top notch, Tip is rapping tighter than ever, and clearly knows who and what to work with, but the rare glimmers of originality and risk only further exposes the safeness of this Pharrell-tweaked new T.I. album.
  7. Oct 20, 2014
    The music, executive produced by Pharrell, is inviting, soulful, and sonically inventive (the mournful “Light ’Em Up RIP Doe B” is especially impressive). The rhymes and subjects are so stale, though.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Oct 25, 2014
    A great album, not enough trap for a trap artist but still a great album. The production got more variety than his previous album but this is very smooth, the singles "About the money" and " No mediocre" are nice, but my favotite songs are "New National Anthem", "Oh Yeah" and "About My Issue". Expand
  2. Oct 21, 2014
    TI has a flow which I feel has almost always matched the production (beats/bass,etc). This album does not depart from that in my opinion. Although there are certain elements that continue to reappear in all of his CDs-songs made to be singles, going hard non-radio stuff...etc. This album sounds almost like a mixtape with all the people he has on this thing. All in all, I found it to be a bit too commercial-missing some of the hard sh*t-especially when compared to previous albums. Maybe its the selection of producers (ex. pHarell) or whatever. But this is certainly not my favorite TI album. Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2014
    Overall, this is not a bad album. However, it undoubtedly fails to reach the heights of better T.I. albums like Urban Legend, King, and Paper Trail. I even prefer his previous album, Trouble Man: Heavy Is the Head to this one. Though, luckily, it is better than T.I. vs. T.I.P. and No Mercy, which is nice. This one is all over the place stylistically, but T.I. truly succeeds when he’s over a banging beat (King and On Doe, On Phil) or over a slowed down one on a track that is meant to be deeper (like on my favorite track, Let Your Heart Go). The features, aside from Pharrell are solid. In particular, Lil Boosie, Young Thug, Victoria Monet, and The-Dream, all do their thing and those tracks are better for it. The production here was spotty and I blame that to an out of form Pharrell in some instances. His vocal work here was poor and I did not love any of his beat contributions. However, when this album soars, it is largely due to T.I. and his presence on the mic. When it falters, it is typically due to something else (a bad hook, poor production, a bad guest, etc.). Overall, this is a solid entry into T.I.’s discography, though it does fall short of my expectations. Expand