Paperwork

Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Oct 20, 2014
    80
    Bright, big, and Pharrellian, Paperwork still finds T.I. at the center of its well-funded variety show, allowing him to bounce back to his streety Trouble Man persona after schooling all the Iggy's and Macklemore's in such vital uptown slick.
  2. Nov 10, 2014
    60
    Working with new producers has opened up his style, his writing, his approach, all in exciting ways. He just might need a more brutal editor going forward.
  3. Oct 27, 2014
    70
    His last record boasted that he was the Trouble Man, but with a clear mind and fewer visible burdens, Clifford Harris has produced his most thoughtful and substantive record in years.
  4. Oct 21, 2014
    60
    Nothing seems off-limits here.
  5. Oct 21, 2014
    60
    The production is top notch, Tip is rapping tighter than ever, and clearly knows who and what to work with, but the rare glimmers of originality and risk only further exposes the safeness of this Pharrell-tweaked new T.I. album.
  6. Oct 20, 2014
    50
    The music, executive produced by Pharrell, is inviting, soulful, and sonically inventive (the mournful “Light ’Em Up RIP Doe B” is especially impressive). The rhymes and subjects are so stale, though.
  7. Oct 20, 2014
    60
    Sure, catchy singles such as No Mediocre (featuring Azalea) and About the Money cleave close to the worship of money and compliant “ho”s rife in hip-hop. But intriguing things are afoot here too.
  8. Oct 20, 2014
    70
    While it does have a couple of moments, much of the album sounds like he is just, filling out paperwork.
  9. Oct 21, 2014
    75
    A typical T.I. album is loaded with singles ready to blow and Paperwork is no exception.
  10. Oct 22, 2014
    80
    Despite the album’s loaded guest list, T.I. manages to squeeze in enough room to allow himself to shine and tells us why after nearly 15 years deep; he’s still a top-tier artist in the game.
  11. Oct 22, 2014
    80
    Paperwork is at its most compelling when it feels like he’s being the most autobiographical.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 25, 2014
    10
    A great album, not enough trap for a trap artist but still a great album. The production got more variety than his previous album but this isA great album, not enough trap for a trap artist but still a great album. The production got more variety than his previous album but this is very smooth, the singles "About the money" and " No mediocre" are nice, but my favotite songs are "New National Anthem", "Oh Yeah" and "About My Issue". Full Review »
  2. Oct 21, 2014
    7
    TI has a flow which I feel has almost always matched the production (beats/bass,etc). This album does not depart from that in my opinion.TI has a flow which I feel has almost always matched the production (beats/bass,etc). This album does not depart from that in my opinion. Although there are certain elements that continue to reappear in all of his CDs-songs made to be singles, going hard non-radio stuff...etc. This album sounds almost like a mixtape with all the people he has on this thing. All in all, I found it to be a bit too commercial-missing some of the hard sh*t-especially when compared to previous albums. Maybe its the selection of producers (ex. pHarell) or whatever. But this is certainly not my favorite TI album. Full Review »
  3. Mar 22, 2015
    7
    7.1/10................................................................................................................................................