Paradise [EP] - Lana Del Rey
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 232 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 232

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    Paradise is the natural follow-up of Born to Die, the songs are deeper, sadder and sound like her last breath. Ride tells the craze she's locked in and Bel Air seems to be the liberation of her tortured soul. Body Electric is a magnificent reinvention of the poem I Sing the Body Electric. Yayo, which sounds nothing like the rest of the EP, is a re-recording of the same YAYO from Lizzy Grant AKA Lana Del Ray. We can hear an evolution and maturation of the singer towards a more adult record, yet even more depressive. Expand
  2. Jul 29, 2014
    6
    Two extremes coexist in this EP: sublime ballads like Ride and American, and disgusting and extremely complicated tracks that don't have a clear purpose in the whole package. The result? A large plethora containing everything and -at the same time- nothing.
  3. Jul 10, 2014
    6
    Mmm.. no está mal, no es para tirar cohetes pero tiene alguna canción con melodías que enganchan. Pero no todas... algunas son demasiado repetitivas o simples.
  4. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    'Paradise' EP makes my feelings go so high! I still fall in love with all songs, all time that I listen it. I really feel that my soul is on the Heaven, because the mix of her voice with lyrics and beats make it hot and better than ever.
  5. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    64???????
    For me,it's 94.
    That's ep is just no better than Ultraviolence.
    Lana is the queen of Indie Pop,sorry Lorde i love you,but you're just the princess,Lana is the boss ****
  6. May 21, 2014
    10
    Paradise's exposure of an explicit, retro fantasy might be one of the most true moments of the musical decade, proving Lana's consistence as a century legend and giving her first album its deserved missing piece.
  7. May 13, 2014
    10
    Una Joya excelente con las canciones mas hermosas y melancolicas, un diseño que expone una maravilla visual, un atardecer paradisiaco y una hermosa Lana del rey. una gran puñalada es que no hayan puesto "Burning Desire" en su version fisica. GRANDE LANA!!!!
  8. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    Very solid record, is short but is enough to express what she needs to say. Every single song,probably with the exception of Yayo has a meaning, and the cover of Blue Velvet is just a classic. Better than Born to Die in terms of maturity and development of the lyrics. If there were some flaws on it, I'd just say that maybe it lacks a bit of cohesion and some songs would fit better with each other if they had been arranged just a bit different. An amazingly great and very solid alternative pop album. Expand
  9. Jan 10, 2014
    9
    Perfect EP. Ride, Body Electric, Cola and Burning Desire are the best. She mixes poetry and part of her life in songs like Ride, and Body Electric. I hope Ultraviolence doesn't disappoint.
    Lana made a good job
  10. Dec 8, 2013
    5
    I bought her album Born to Die with high hopes. I was not let down. I bought Paradise, and I was let down. All of the songs sound the same, and there is nothing exciting about it. I love Lana, but this is definitely not her at her best.
  11. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    A lovely album with a calm tune. Some songs like 'Yayo' let the EP down. She should have never re-released it. Either way, the rest of the songs just made you want to sleep serenely.
  12. Nov 17, 2013
    6
    Paradise is a very cohesive album and is well conceived and executed to Lana’s general standards. It is however evident that the general basisis for this album is her desire for the good-ol’ days of American culture. Ironically her wishy-washy slick pop approach makes me think that if this is what America was than it is wonderful that it has evolved.
  13. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    It's so good to be an EP. You can die happy just listening tracks like Gods & Monsters or Ride. The whole album is good, but have details and songs that are no so good that we can expect.
  14. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    Lana Del Rey has been an artist to watch, she sings different, her style is different, and she isn't like other pop starlet's. Now ten month after her debut album "Born to Die" she releases her EP followup "Paradise" which is a small collection of new songs that are the same themes of "Born to Die" but with more edge. As for the followup it's good, if not personally great. Lana Del Rey once again switches her voice often from High pitched to deeper than most female singers and her style still works and helps makes her song less boring. The messages she brings here are still the same, dark themes about the youth, dangerous love, and being and outlaw. I think it's fine, but it doesn't really help her develop as a singer or songwriter. Also even though the Ep is only eight to nine songs long, it feels repetitive at times as Del Rey doesn't change up her style. But some of her songs are great which include "Ride" and "Gods and Monsters" which is classic Del Rey. Overall if you like Lana Del Rey than you will enjoy her EP "Paradise" just don't expect anything new. Expand
  15. Aug 7, 2013
    7
    It's pretty good, but no where near Born To Die. Same haunting songs, uptempo ballads, like a mini paradise. Incredibly enjoyable but more ballads than uptempo songs.
  16. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    This CD contains excellent songs form the original Born to die and some new from Paradise. I liked most of the songs which brought me melancholy and nostalgia. One of the best of it's kind. Maybe better than Adele's 21
  17. Apr 26, 2013
    7
    I like tjis EP but i prefer Born To Die Lana did a good job with Paradise Edition but the record needs more work But i still love her and her songs still great and they will always be
  18. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    I Consider This Born To Die Part 2... Along With Born To Die The Best Album Of 2012! (TIED!)
    Once More Del Rey Makes The Most Creative Songs Ever!
    I 100% Disagree With Rolling Stone's Review "Del Rey is far from a great singer, and her songs tend to drag"
  19. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Del Rey shines bright as the Paradise EP captivates fans around the world, allowing Lana to prove herself as one of the best there is, in years to come. The EP opens with the soothing sound of Ride, getting audiences in that mood straight away, leaving us on the edge of our seats, wait for the arrival of track 2 (and so on). After a full listen of the album, its easy to say Lana stayed true to her roots on this project, something most of today's singers fail to do, as we see countless stars selling out to dance-pop, however Lana's legit attitudes comes over as a breeze of fresh air. A filler-free, instant classic everybody should pick up as in my eyes, Born to Die: The Paradise Edition can be said to be one of the best releases of the past decade... Expand
  20. Dec 27, 2012
    8
    Paradise is a decent follow to Born to Die, but like Born to Die, it suffers from some dull and boring tracks but, besides that, there are some great songs on this new EP.
  21. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Just As Perfect As Born To Die!
    American Is My Favorite Song!
  22. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Much better than "Born To Die" She's at her when she's vulnerable. In "Yayo" sounds as if it was written for her by Jeff Buckley . Her voice doesn't cater to uptempo tracks. It completely takes away from the character of her voice, I actually think it would sound odd.She might be a one trick pony but its a trick that no other pony can do.
  23. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    Wonderful EP and a wise step forward. The songs are rich, interesting, and they show a different side of Lana. The lyrics are fresh as ever, and she's done something here that fits perfectly.
  24. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    Boring album! Makes me fall asleep, give some tempo to your songs Lana! You don't want your fans falling asleep while listening to your album, don't you?
  25. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Ride: Her lead single is pretty perfect. I love the bridge "I'm tired of feeling like i am f*cking crazy". Absolutely amazing! 10/10
    American: Slowly but still interesting. She really loves her country :P 8/10
    Cola: "My **** tastes like Pepsi Cola" is not my favorite part. But the chorus is still thrilling!!! 8/10
    Body Electric: A dark song. I love it. It sounds like a Halloween
    Soundtrack. 9/10
    Blue Velvet: A Cover for H&M. But it sounds like the song was made for her. 10/10
    Gods and Monsters: The song brings you in another world until she sings **** you" :D 9/10
    Yayo: Her oldest song. But I love it 10/10
    Bel Air: The best song on "Paradise". I live the bridge. 10/10

    9/10 points. I give a 10 because I love the the design of Paradise
    Collapse
  26. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    Once again, critics are basing their opinions on Lana's stage performance rather than the album itself. Paradise, much like Born to Die, is dream pop in it's best. With the whole cinematic "Hollywood" sound and brilliant lyrics, Paradise achieves the "gangsta Nancy Sinatra" sound that should not be avoided.
  27. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Lana Del Rey follows up with the beautilful album 'Born to Die' album with an album packed with slow and powerful ballads. The standout track "Ride" showcases how powerful she can be trough song. She is here to stay here both as a singer and also as a songwriter.
  28. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    I was waiting like crazy for this album and i think is really good, some low points (Yayo) but great songs. Her vocal have impoved so much in such a short period of time. I prefer the Born To Die lyrics, this ones are repeated so much in my opinion but there are some great lyrics too. Congratulations to Lana for making a fabulous record that i will listen a million times
  29. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    Born to Die Paradise Edition is a good example of a new concept of music with beautiful, deep lyrics and 9 new songs as good as the others from the last album.
  30. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    The album's "heaven" concept works well across the 8-9 tracks. Ride is one of the best songs I've heard in 2012. This album is for those who found the scandalous parts of the "Born To Die" persona too cheesy or annoying, as this may feel more natural to you. I still love Born To Die, but this EP is pretty cool. Standout is definitely Ride!
  31. Nov 16, 2012
    6
    'Born To Die' was probably one of the most misinterpreted albums of 2012. Lana's 'Paradise EP' fares slightly better judgment, due to the brilliant productions of the songs and beautiful trademark vocals. 'Paradise' features longer, more swooping ballads than on 'Born To Die', which Lana wallows in. Although the lyrics are still reasonably questionable, the overall production of the album is much more cohesive than 'Born To Die'. Lana's vocals sound more rich; there's actual emotion to be felt in the songs this time. Although lengthy, the songs create the sense of Hollywood sadcore and the depressing reality of the American Dream that she is aiming for. Expand
  32. Nov 15, 2012
    5
    Lizzy Grant aka Lana Del Rey has come out with her sophomore effort of an album under a professional label. Instead of working with a real producer she worked with film scorer Rick Rubin who produced the album. With that I say the album is a pleasant change from the recycled production of Born To Die however lacked diversity. When the instrumentals overpower and more interesting than what you are singing, it shows that your lyrics are not as powerful and with Lana it was just that. Her voice lacked range and diversity and she sound monotone in all of her songs. If you do decide to buy it and had to buy two songs i would suggest Cola for the iconic beginning line of where she refers to her vagina as tasting like Pepsi cola and Blue Velvet a remake of the timeless fifties song which she actually perfects. Expand
  33. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    55? really? so little? the critic reviews are so stupid paradise is a good album and for me deserves 70 (not more and not less) the critic reviews is for me a bullsh*t
  34. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Lana Del Rey apresentou músicas excelentes neste "Paradise"
    Ride, American, Body Eletric, Bel Air, Cola, Gods & Monsters e Blue Velvet são canções lindas que com a voz de Lana se transformam em uma linda poesia em busca do Paraíso. Lana Del Rey mostrando que não está de brincadeira e pode sem problemas, se orgulhar de sua caminhada
    até aqui. Críticas? Sem virão, mas o importante é sempre está de cabeça erguida! Melhor Albúm do Ano Expand
  35. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    CRÍTICOS = LIXO
    ÁLBUM = PERFEITO
    CANTORA
    COMPOSITORA
    MULHER
    RICA
    NÃO FAZ PLAYBACK
    NÃO COPIA
    MODELO DA JAGUAR
    TEM A TESTA PEQUENA
    TEM O NARIZ PEQUENO
    VAGINADA
  36. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    Lana Del Rey brings yet another, if more of the same, round to the 1950s-Nancy-Sinatra-pop genre with Paradise. While most of the songs are good, only a few are total standouts (i.e. Cola, Ride, Gods & Monsters, Yayo), which may or may not be a good thing for her future.
  37. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    This is a much needed improvement on Born to Die, lyrically and sonically. The songs can get slow (Bel Air) but it's all about atmosphere. And let's not forget that 'Cola' has this years best lyrics. Her voice finally isn't all baby talk and pathetic rap; now it is much stronger and much more emphasized. As a whole, 'Cola,' and 'Ride' are definitely the best tracks, the latter practically being the new 'Video Games.' However, I wish she tried to switch up her act a bit; I heard some leaked tracks that actually sounded poppy and I wished she had put them on the EP. If you're interested in it, listen to 'Hit and Run,' it's great and maybe a hint of the Lana to come.

    The low critic review is only based off of four reviews, so I implore you to do your own research and give this EP a chance! You'll probably be impressed, or at least shocked by some of the things she says coupled with the haunting vocals. It's a good listen overall!
    Expand
  38. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    She is back with more but yet 8 new tracks for her EP - Paradise, which is sufficient to tell her story. We can see there is a huge difference between Born To Die and Paradise as Paradise is more of a dreamy and fantasy production to the tracks but yet with the same flow as Born To Die. I can say this EP is on par with The Fame Monster as both delivers a sufficient amount of quality to her fans. Beautiful Expand
  39. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Lana Del Rey returns with another lyrical masterpiece. Although pretentious critics say that her songwriting had regressed, I say the opposite! This album is another piece in the puzzle that is Lana Del Rey and a perfect counterpart to the original.
  40. Nov 15, 2012
    6
    Very draggy album, once you hear curse words it sparks the album up a little bit. Very good nonetheless. I thought we'd see a much diffident side from her but we still go slow low notes.
  41. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    The EP of our generation, The Fame Monster who? Highlights
    Cola: "My **** tastes like Pepsi cola" is probably the lyric of the Decade
    Body Electric : Beautiful
    etc,..
  42. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums, EP's, call it whatever released the past few years. I didn't buy the hype for Lana Del Rey, but I'm not buying the bandwagon hate towards Lana. Sadly, a lot of people do that. Let her album sales speak for her quality, popularity and originality.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Jan 2, 2013
    70
    Born to Die's highlights are both slightly more numerous and slightly more effective--but it's still a very strong, successful record, whether taken as an addition or a follow-up.
  2. 67
    Though she makes a few knowingly meta nods to her own rep, Paradise leans too hard on the same tired drowsy-Lolita poses. [23 Nov 2012, p.70]
  3. 70
    Once you accept that Lana knows exactly what she's doing--that she, not Interscope Records or any of her co-producers, is the architect behind this R-rated retro-pop fantasy--then maybe you'll start loving her, too.