Paradise [EP]

Paradise [EP] Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 442 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eight-track release follows the pop singer's debut studio album, Born To Die.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    The music here is more considered and richly teased out.
  2. 70
    Once you accept that Lana knows exactly what she's doing--that she, not Interscope Records or any of her co-producers, is the architect behind this R-rated retro-pop fantasy--then maybe you'll start loving her, too.
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    70
    Born to Die's highlights are both slightly more numerous and slightly more effective--but it's still a very strong, successful record, whether taken as an addition or a follow-up.
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    Nov 21, 2012
    67
    Though she makes a few knowingly meta nods to her own rep, Paradise leans too hard on the same tired drowsy-Lolita poses. [23 Nov 2012, p.70]
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    60
    Del Rey is far from a great singer, and her songs tend to drag. But her shtick--1950s torch balladry spiced with sexed-up 21st-century provocation--is at least conceptually sharp.
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    50
    Paradise is longer [than Born To Die], but less essential, more a summary of her persona than an attempt at developing it.
  7. Nov 14, 2012
    50
    Paradise is the best attempt (yet) to cohere a deeply incoherent artist.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 50
  2. Negative: 1 out of 50
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    I Consider This Born To Die Part 2... Along With Born To Die The Best Album Of 2012! (TIED!)
    Once More Del Rey Makes The Most Creative Songs
    I Consider This Born To Die Part 2... Along With Born To Die The Best Album Of 2012! (TIED!)
    Once More Del Rey Makes The Most Creative Songs Ever!
    I 100% Disagree With Rolling Stone's Review "Del Rey is far from a great singer, and her songs tend to drag"
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Ride: Her lead single is pretty perfect. I love the bridge "I'm tired of feeling like i am f*cking crazy". Absolutely amazing! 10/10Ride: Her lead single is pretty perfect. I love the bridge "I'm tired of feeling like i am f*cking crazy". Absolutely amazing! 10/10
    American: Slowly but still interesting. She really loves her country :P 8/10
    Cola: "My **** tastes like Pepsi Cola" is not my favorite part. But the chorus is still thrilling!!! 8/10
    Body Electric: A dark song. I love it. It sounds like a Halloween Soundtrack. 9/10
    Blue Velvet: A Cover for H&M. But it sounds like the song was made for her. 10/10
    Gods and Monsters: The song brings you in another world until she sings **** you" :D 9/10
    Yayo: Her oldest song. But I love it 10/10
    Bel Air: The best song on "Paradise". I live the bridge. 10/10

    9/10 points. I give a 10 because I love the the design of Paradise
    Collapse
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    She is back with more but yet 8 new tracks for her EP - Paradise, which is sufficient to tell her story. We can see there is a huge differenceShe is back with more but yet 8 new tracks for her EP - Paradise, which is sufficient to tell her story. We can see there is a huge difference between Born To Die and Paradise as Paradise is more of a dreamy and fantasy production to the tracks but yet with the same flow as Born To Die. I can say this EP is on par with The Fame Monster as both delivers a sufficient amount of quality to her fans. Beautiful Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    64???????
    For me,it's 94.
    That's ep is just no better than Ultraviolence. Lana is the queen of Indie Pop,sorry Lorde i love you,but you're
    64???????
    For me,it's 94.
    That's ep is just no better than Ultraviolence.
    Lana is the queen of Indie Pop,sorry Lorde i love you,but you're just the princess,Lana is the boss ****
    Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    I was waiting like crazy for this album and i think is really good, some low points (Yayo) but great songs. Her vocal have impoved so much inI was waiting like crazy for this album and i think is really good, some low points (Yayo) but great songs. Her vocal have impoved so much in such a short period of time. I prefer the Born To Die lyrics, this ones are repeated so much in my opinion but there are some great lyrics too. Congratulations to Lana for making a fabulous record that i will listen a million times Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    7
    It's so good to be an EP. You can die happy just listening tracks like Gods & Monsters or Ride. The whole album is good, but have details andIt's so good to be an EP. You can die happy just listening tracks like Gods & Monsters or Ride. The whole album is good, but have details and songs that are no so good that we can expect. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    Boring album! Makes me fall asleep, give some tempo to your songs Lana! You don't want your fans falling asleep while listening to your album,Boring album! Makes me fall asleep, give some tempo to your songs Lana! You don't want your fans falling asleep while listening to your album, don't you? Expand

See all 50 User Reviews