Paradise [EP] - Lana Del Rey
Paradise [EP] Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 217 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eight-track release follows the pop singer's debut studio album, Born To Die.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    The music here is more considered and richly teased out.
  2. 70
    Once you accept that Lana knows exactly what she's doing--that she, not Interscope Records or any of her co-producers, is the architect behind this R-rated retro-pop fantasy--then maybe you'll start loving her, too.
  3. Jan 2, 2013
    70
    Born to Die's highlights are both slightly more numerous and slightly more effective--but it's still a very strong, successful record, whether taken as an addition or a follow-up.
  4. 67
    Though she makes a few knowingly meta nods to her own rep, Paradise leans too hard on the same tired drowsy-Lolita poses. [23 Nov 2012, p.70]
  5. Nov 14, 2012
    60
    Del Rey is far from a great singer, and her songs tend to drag. But her shtick--1950s torch balladry spiced with sexed-up 21st-century provocation--is at least conceptually sharp.
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    50
    Paradise is longer [than Born To Die], but less essential, more a summary of her persona than an attempt at developing it.
  7. Nov 14, 2012
    50
    Paradise is the best attempt (yet) to cohere a deeply incoherent artist.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. May 21, 2014
    10
    Paradise's exposure of an explicit, retro fantasy might be one of the most true moments of the musical decade, proving Lana's consistence as a century legend and giving her first album its deserved missing piece. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Ride: Her lead single is pretty perfect. I love the bridge "I'm tired of feeling like i am f*cking crazy". Absolutely amazing! 10/10
    American: Slowly but still interesting. She really loves her country :P 8/10
    Cola: "My **** tastes like Pepsi Cola" is not my favorite part. But the chorus is still thrilling!!! 8/10
    Body Electric: A dark song. I love it. It sounds like a Halloween Soundtrack. 9/10
    Blue Velvet: A Cover for H&M. But it sounds like the song was made for her. 10/10
    Gods and Monsters: The song brings you in another world until she sings **** you" :D 9/10
    Yayo: Her oldest song. But I love it 10/10
    Bel Air: The best song on "Paradise". I live the bridge. 10/10

    9/10 points. I give a 10 because I love the the design of Paradise
    Collapse
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    She is back with more but yet 8 new tracks for her EP - Paradise, which is sufficient to tell her story. We can see there is a huge difference between Born To Die and Paradise as Paradise is more of a dreamy and fantasy production to the tracks but yet with the same flow as Born To Die. I can say this EP is on par with The Fame Monster as both delivers a sufficient amount of quality to her fans. Beautiful Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    64???????
    For me,it's 94.
    That's ep is just no better than Ultraviolence.
    Lana is the queen of Indie Pop,sorry Lorde i love you,but you're
    just the princess,Lana is the boss **** Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    The album's "heaven" concept works well across the 8-9 tracks. Ride is one of the best songs I've heard in 2012. This album is for those who found the scandalous parts of the "Born To Die" persona too cheesy or annoying, as this may feel more natural to you. I still love Born To Die, but this EP is pretty cool. Standout is definitely Ride! Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    7
    It's pretty good, but no where near Born To Die. Same haunting songs, uptempo ballads, like a mini paradise. Incredibly enjoyable but more ballads than uptempo songs. Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    Boring album! Makes me fall asleep, give some tempo to your songs Lana! You don't want your fans falling asleep while listening to your album, don't you? Expand

See all 41 User Reviews