Parallax

  • Record Label: 4AD
  • Release Date: Nov 8, 2011
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    60
    It's a slight little album about fascinations, and a product of them, too, which, whether you share those fascinations or find them boring, is perfectly fine.
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    60
    Parallax, unrealised masterpiece or not, sounds like the man in his bedroom with a thousand songs to leave unexplained.
  3. Uncut
    Dec 12, 2011
    60
    Dreamy, classic-sounding pop nuggets, sung by Cox with a wry, casual authority. [Jan 2011, p.79]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Parallax by Atlas Sound aka Bradford Cox aka the-man-fronting-Deerhunter comes as a nice surprise. I expected a neurotic record of ambient andParallax by Atlas Sound aka Bradford Cox aka the-man-fronting-Deerhunter comes as a nice surprise. I expected a neurotic record of ambient and loudness (just think of Quick Canal featuring Laetitia Sadier of Stereolab from 2009 terrific Logos) from the über-prolific musician but no. Instead, Mr. Cox presented us with twelve croons, equally charming and hypnotic. Oh, and his best yet. Atlas Sound may finally feel at ease with himself but the truth lies much deeper. As usually, Bradford sings mostly about Bradford (and his demons). But Parallax is listed as â Full Review »
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    The boy is on a roll of releases with Parallax being the absolute peak. Cox really has come into his own by letting his vocals take front seatThe boy is on a roll of releases with Parallax being the absolute peak. Cox really has come into his own by letting his vocals take front seat on this record, as opposed to the ethereal dreamscapes of Logos. Full Review »
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Great album, I love Deerhunter and when I saw Bradford Cox had released a new album with his side project Atlas Sound I got very interested inGreat album, I love Deerhunter and when I saw Bradford Cox had released a new album with his side project Atlas Sound I got very interested in hearing it. Full Review »