User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 2 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    i could not disagree more with qrobur. if you were looking for something "meatily punk" you should not listen to an album that is post hardcore. yes, while i realize how utterly musically condescending that sounds, the difference between these genres could not be more clear. this is not punk rock you hear in a mall, this is tortured and personal. the songs move in short frenetic bursts like intense fireworks. i found the material to be very well written, almost like listening to a slam poetry session made during a metal show. the vocal style is in the style of just about every hardcore band out there, no different. but the content is better. this is one of my faves of the year so far, but it is an extremely short album. Expand
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    10
    AMAZING ALBUM!! Production is amazing, it sounds great, the lyrics are very good, and vocals are much better. Drums are amazing as well. All songs are very good, but my top 3 right now are ~, Pathfinder, and Amends. My favorite songs change every week though
  3. Jul 28, 2011
    3
    Based on the critic's score I was really looking forward to something meatily punk. However, this is a really dreary album. Every track sounds the same, the vocals are in the fashionable strangulated manner that just sounds silly and the song writing is utterly unimaginative. In short, a stinker.
  4. Aug 3, 2011
    6
    While I could agree with Staubin I cannot disagree with Qrobur and I dare say Poseidonaskwhy is on crack. It's ok. It reminds me of **** Up acting like Andrew WK acting like, seriously- who the **** *is* Andrew WK??? That guy....
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    Touche Amore's brand of emotional hardcore have made them favourites among the new wave of melodic of melodic hardcore kiddies. Their second release demanded a lot of hype, and the first four tracks deliver exactly what was expected. From there on, as the album slows in pace, it really is hit and miss. Jeremy Bolm's vocals, while upholding the emotional intensity that have become his trademark, lack the raw anger of previous releases and are drenched in self-pity. Parting the Sea... is still a solid album in its own right, but a slightly disappointing followup to the groups stellar debut. Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2012
    0
    This is the saddest excuse for "music" I have ever heard. The singer is a one trick pony who only knows how to right angst songs that teenagers cry themselves to sleep to. 13 songs and only 20 minutes long this band can't write a **** record to save their own lives. Everyone who gave this album a positive review should be ashamed of themselves and their taste in music this album is the definition of **** Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Aug 8, 2011
    60
    Parting the Sea Between Brightness and Me is fuelled by issues addressed in Jeremy Bolm's furiously screamed, raw and sometimes, frustratingly po-faced vocals. [Aug. 2011, p. 119]
  2. Jun 24, 2011
    80
    This is a staggering album, one that leaves you bruised, bloody and breathless. [11 Jun 2011, p.52]
  3. It's evident from the musicianship, from the instrumentation, from the lyrics, and from the vocal delivery that Parting the Sea Between Brightness and Me is a record of progression and refinement; released halfway through 2011, it will go down among the best of the heavy hitters this year.