Pinkerton (Deluxe Edition)

  • Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Nov 2, 2010
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 242
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BKM
    Nov 18, 2010
    10
    There is no denying just how great this album is. A full on blitz of raw emotion that is equally funny and painful, Pinkerton was responsible for both the band's demise and rebirth. Cuomo has not written such a coherent and scathingly honest set of songs since. Chances are that he doesn't want to go through it again. Thankfully for us, he was able to do it in the first place.
  2. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    I'm in my 40's and I always thought Weezer was kind of formulaic, so I never got into any of their CDs. This album makes me think I missed out on something. Not only are all the songs individually great, they seem to add up to a mini emo opera.
  3. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Give it a chance and you'll learn to love this masterpiece. All the tracks are not just brilliant, but incredibly personal. The Deluxe tracks only add to the greatness that is Pinkerton.
  4. Dec 15, 2010
    10
    Amazing album, everything you could want, fun rock songs with "Why Bother" and "El Scorcho" and dark songs with "Tired Of Sex" and "Getchoo" melancholy magic which I love
  5. Mar 14, 2011
    10
    I really like this album, but i dont like weezer. they started off good. liked their sound. then their sudden popularity got to their heads and they started making crap album after crap album. yeah people who like mainstream crap music that has no soul or feeling to it whatsoever liked it but i didn't. i thought they were gonna be a great indie rock band. but they lost me afterI really like this album, but i dont like weezer. they started off good. liked their sound. then their sudden popularity got to their heads and they started making crap album after crap album. yeah people who like mainstream crap music that has no soul or feeling to it whatsoever liked it but i didn't. i thought they were gonna be a great indie rock band. but they lost me after the...Beverly Hills song. ugh. Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    Pinkerton is a record that will stand the test of time. It's not a retrospective album that details aspects of the world that will go away in time, like a specific war, or a financial crisis, it is an introspective album, and no matter how much we progress as a society the themes will always be relevant as long as the human condition exists. Be it the isolation Across the Sea details orPinkerton is a record that will stand the test of time. It's not a retrospective album that details aspects of the world that will go away in time, like a specific war, or a financial crisis, it is an introspective album, and no matter how much we progress as a society the themes will always be relevant as long as the human condition exists. Be it the isolation Across the Sea details or the unrequited love El Scorcho belts out, this album captures the pains of the human identity.

    This album is worth 10/10 more than any other album and I highly recommend it to those who haven't checked it out.
    Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2010
    10
    One of the Best Albums of the 90's and one of the most influential records of this generation...So many bands today have drawn from this epic album. Its so raw and emotional yet enjoyable to listen to. It truly tugs at the emotions of our inner selves.
  8. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This Album is a very complete album. From the production to the lyrics. Everything about it just amazing, and the live bonuses and B sides with it show the amazing talent this band has. This album is raw and the lyrics deal with very personal issues. They are as real as lyrics can get.
  9. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    A haunting, brilliant masterpiece. Rivers Cuomo is brutally honest in all of these songs, deliberately portraying himself as pathetic and broken, and it just adds to the power of it all. Easily Weezer's best album and one of the best albums of all time.
  10. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    What makes this album great isn't the introspective lyrics and uncanny vocal infection which effectively convey emotions or the production and the brilliant new tracks. It's the consistency and the versatility of the rock music and the way it revolutionized stereo emo rock. And it's the emotions itself that are conveyed so throughly: the angst, upset, bittersweet, epicness, told in aWhat makes this album great isn't the introspective lyrics and uncanny vocal infection which effectively convey emotions or the production and the brilliant new tracks. It's the consistency and the versatility of the rock music and the way it revolutionized stereo emo rock. And it's the emotions itself that are conveyed so throughly: the angst, upset, bittersweet, epicness, told in a smart, funny, poignant, and lively way. No singular word I can use to describe the way I felt after I heard the album. I'd have to some up with some sort of corny and like unintended-ly ambiguous metaphor. Not the motion the awesome album cover. But that's just bonus. Expand
  11. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    The most personal album you will ever hear.
    So much emotion is put into the album and the tracks are absolutely killer.
    The new tracks on the Deluxe Edition are amazing too.
  12. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    Quite possibly the penultimate "emo" album written in the nineties, and proves to be just as relevant today as it was fourteen years ago. Takes a few listens to really appreciate the layered instrumentations and vocals. Excellent album.
  13. Jan 9, 2011
    10
    Prior to listening through the PInkerton album I had listened to every other album in Weezer's discography. To this point I thought that the blue album was the peak of their success being a cover to cover play through album. Then I listened to Pinkerton. What separates this album from the rest of Weezer's work as well as 98% of all music out there is a culmination of zealous, powerfulPrior to listening through the PInkerton album I had listened to every other album in Weezer's discography. To this point I thought that the blue album was the peak of their success being a cover to cover play through album. Then I listened to Pinkerton. What separates this album from the rest of Weezer's work as well as 98% of all music out there is a culmination of zealous, powerful emotions that drive each song with a rarely seen passion, the quirky lyrics of Weezer that make each song completely unique and special, and ultimately an album that you can play cover to cover on repeat because each song ties together a masterpiece masterminded by the depressed, medicated genius of Rivers Cuomo Expand
  14. Feb 11, 2011
    10
    Pinkerton personifies perfectly, everything that Weezer stands for, and it grows on you more after every listen. The music is perfect, the lyrics are stupidly terrific, and quite stupid to be perfectly honest, but in a wonderful way. It is alternative rock perfection and it's a crime that most fans haven't even heard a song from it. If you're reading my words, first of all sorry, butPinkerton personifies perfectly, everything that Weezer stands for, and it grows on you more after every listen. The music is perfect, the lyrics are stupidly terrific, and quite stupid to be perfectly honest, but in a wonderful way. It is alternative rock perfection and it's a crime that most fans haven't even heard a song from it. If you're reading my words, first of all sorry, but secondly, do yourself a favor and check out this album! Let it grow on you! You'll be eternally indebted to me. Expand
  15. May 11, 2011
    10
    This has easily been my favorite record of all time. The fantastic production coupled with expressive lyrics and masterful chord progressions are what makes this album truly unique. You can simple hear the emotion in Rivers' voice on every moment of this album, something that has since left this world after the record orignally failed comercially. Now, the deluxe edition contains all ofThis has easily been my favorite record of all time. The fantastic production coupled with expressive lyrics and masterful chord progressions are what makes this album truly unique. You can simple hear the emotion in Rivers' voice on every moment of this album, something that has since left this world after the record orignally failed comercially. Now, the deluxe edition contains all of the b-sides (plus a few truly remarkable bonuses that were previously unreleased) that are on par with the rest of the original album tracks. Additionally, there are a variety of extra live versions of most songs on the album, which become slightly unneeded, but hey, if you don't feel like listening to them, then skip them. You owe it to yourself to listen to this album. Expand
  16. j30
    Aug 15, 2011
    10
    Great Album. I like the Blue Album better but this is a great follow-up. The record definately describes the feeling of the 90's perfectly. The rawness musically and emotional aspect made this album a classic. Who knows what kind of influence the bassist had on this band, but after he left things started heading downhill.
  17. Jul 14, 2012
    10
    Sorry about the 0 miss score, when my internet is slow it never does what I want it too, so im here to say Pinkerton deserves a ten and allways will, and I'm extremely sorry about the 0 score
  18. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Thank God for Pinkerton, cos without it, Weezer would have been a completely pointless band. Get this album, maybe get the Blue Album, and stick with those, if you want Weezer to remain as a band that matters.
  19. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    A great concept album that is expressed through a raw sound that yells out with great emotion. I also love how lucid this album is. Definitely a classic, and is Weezer's best work to date. It'll have to take a miracle for another Weezer album to top this one.
  20. May 27, 2012
    10
    Masterpiece. That is all. Probably the best album by Weezer in my books. I can definitely understand how it has a 100 on Metacritic by critic scores. Great album.
  21. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    PInkerton is easily on of the best albums ever made by any band ever. It's my personal favorite. There's some musical artists that just get it, River is one of those people. You don't have to be a die hard Weezer fan to enjoy most of these raw, powerful songs on this album.
  22. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    The Pinkerton Deluxe Edition, even moreso than the original Pinkerton is the perfect album for someone having troubles with love. Whether it is a long-distance relationship, relationship on the rocks, a break-up, or even just a fantasy relationship, Pinkerton feels as if it is always talking right to you. Originally, I listened entirely to songs like El Scorcho (though I admit I hated itThe Pinkerton Deluxe Edition, even moreso than the original Pinkerton is the perfect album for someone having troubles with love. Whether it is a long-distance relationship, relationship on the rocks, a break-up, or even just a fantasy relationship, Pinkerton feels as if it is always talking right to you. Originally, I listened entirely to songs like El Scorcho (though I admit I hated it the first 12 times I heard it, it grows on you), Pink Triangle, and the Good Life...however, upon discovering the Deluxe Edition, I have found that I actually like Falling for You, Across the Sea, Long Time Sunshine, Tragic Girl, and Devotion more. In fact, I like every song on the Deluxe Edition. Very few albums can manage to put up so many good songs, but Pinkerton does. And it is still the perfect album for when you're feeling melancholy, lonely, or having troubles of the heart. Expand
  23. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best albums ever. Every song has a catchy chorus that talks about the faults of life and love and provide commentary on the way society is set up. The raw sound of the track also adds to the emotion by making it sound like realistic struggles from an upset wanderer. Overall, Pinkerton succeeds on every level, making it my favorite album ever.
  24. Apr 27, 2016
    10
    The raw sound of the emotional heartache and angst that we all experience as young adults is perfectly embodied by Rivers Cuomo in Pinkerton. Tired of Sex is hard rock sounding intro, and immediately, the listener knows they're in for an absolute experience. Pinkerton's raw emotional pain grouped with the emo sounding lyrics and more heavy sound for a typically power pop rock band is notThe raw sound of the emotional heartache and angst that we all experience as young adults is perfectly embodied by Rivers Cuomo in Pinkerton. Tired of Sex is hard rock sounding intro, and immediately, the listener knows they're in for an absolute experience. Pinkerton's raw emotional pain grouped with the emo sounding lyrics and more heavy sound for a typically power pop rock band is not only a treat, but one of the greatest albums, scratch that, greatest pieces of art, of the last 30 years. Expand
  25. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    It is truly and utterly one of the greatest albums of all time. It flows so well. Cuomo's delivery is so powerful. The guitars roar and harmonize so beautifully. Sharp's bass is thundering and Wilson's drums are so fitting. Complex when they need to be and simple when they need to be. This album will probably never be topped and remains one of the most emotional and powerful alt rockIt is truly and utterly one of the greatest albums of all time. It flows so well. Cuomo's delivery is so powerful. The guitars roar and harmonize so beautifully. Sharp's bass is thundering and Wilson's drums are so fitting. Complex when they need to be and simple when they need to be. This album will probably never be topped and remains one of the most emotional and powerful alt rock albums of all time. Expand
  26. Aug 5, 2013
    10
    This album is in my top 10. It alongside the Blue Album are some of the greatest pieces of modern music and will live on beyond this generation as examples of great rock music. Masterpieces every part.
  27. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    Weezers magnus opum after being the persona non grata at the rock prom. Cuomo's songwriting and angst were so real and vibrant through the dark, sordid place the album came from, that no one can predict what Weezer could have been had this album been seen for what it truly was nearly 20 years ago. From the initial rip of Tired of Sex to the painful No Other One and straight down toWeezers magnus opum after being the persona non grata at the rock prom. Cuomo's songwriting and angst were so real and vibrant through the dark, sordid place the album came from, that no one can predict what Weezer could have been had this album been seen for what it truly was nearly 20 years ago. From the initial rip of Tired of Sex to the painful No Other One and straight down to Butterly, this album has everything that defined the 90's...Bravo, Weezer. Expand
  28. Aug 3, 2014
    10
    This is the best album in the world. It's amazing how Rivers Cuomo shows us the essence of the weakness of the human being in his lyrics. I think all the songs are good, but my favorite is pink triangle.
  29. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Pinkerton shows different characteristics than the first but still provides us with the heavy guitars and melodies. This also may be the greatest release of emotions ever recorded.
  30. Jul 2, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Raw, harsh, memorable and honest. This is definitely my favorite Weezer album. My favorite moment in the entire album is when the final track "Butterfly" plays, and it shifts the overall tone of the record but not in an off-putting way. I love this album. 10/10 Expand
Metascore
100

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Kerrang!
    Jan 31, 2011
    100
    Pinkerton still stands tall as a modern rock classic. [6 Nov 2010, p.51]
  2. Ultimately, the legacy Pinkerton leaves behind is it being one of the most emotional and raw albums ever made. It's an album that many can relate to, even if you're not on the same level of crazy as Rivers was back then.
  3. Dec 21, 2010
    90
    This is their Holy Bible--in other words this is an unknown quantity alright; it's Weezer's raw, emotive bastard child; and a great, brilliant, titanic blot on an often pristinely laundered back catalogue. For that reason in particular this is a thing to be cherished.