Psychic - Darkside
Psychic Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 68 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the collaboration between guitarist Dave Harrington and electronic producer Nicolas Jaar took two years to record.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    The sound of Psychic is meticulous and luscious.
  2. 90
    They’re challenging listeners to look at music and dance with a completely renewed lens, to forget what was normal and move on with an urge to protest what’s formulated. Admittedly, that’s a frightening and difficult feat, but also unforgettable once accomplished. One might use the same descriptors for Psychic.
  3. 83
    Psychic’s gloriously protracted exhales leave you no choice but to slow down and move at its pace.
  4. Oct 3, 2013
    Psychic is perfectly executed, impenetrable.
  5. 80
    Field recordings, earthly elements, human murmurs and heavy breathing mix seamlessly with synthesizers, drums and keyboards to produce a meditative enlightenment, with Jaar and Harrington creating an album based on opposites, successfully uniting the natural with the unnatural.
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    For a record that wears its retro influences so openly, Psychic is surprisingly forward-thinking.
  7. 60
    The only fusion too far here is Paper Trails, a blues-funk digression from this otherwise elegant experiment: closing track Metatron marries blues and sci-fi much better.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 16, 2013
    You know when an album starts with an 11 minute track, it will not be as accessible as any other album. I love the mix of electro and Rock, it sounds gorgeous! Very dark, down tempo and spacy. It is one of the best thing I've heard in any recent release. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2013
    The beauty of music is that You never know from where the real surprise shall come. I have always kinda respected Nicolas Jaar's creative powers but never really subscribed to his music. Now it is different. From very first listening through tenth and more now I am more and more sure that I deal with a masterpiece. I would call it a froward masterpiece in a sense it brings us to the possible future of electronica. Jaar shows how to bring a bridge between modern music technology and traditional instruments and ways of playing. The result is addictive. Interestingly, so called users (on different portals I visited) usually score this album better than critics. This is also a sign of change. Collapse
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    Great collaboration between Nicolas Jaar and Dave Harrington. An album that let's you imagine what shape it should take, free for you to imagine whatever pleases you the most on this absolutely gorgeous sounds. Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    I enjoyed Nicolas Jaar's 2011 album, Space Is Only Noise. This release is even better. He is in top form here. A wonderful collaboration between Nicolas and guitarist Dave Harrington. Expand
  5. Oct 9, 2013
    Really surprised this album isn't getting better reviews. Such a badass album that couldn't have been released at a better time of the year (Fall, Halloween). This has been on loop for me since it was made available. Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    I was a big fan of Nicolas Jaar 's Space Is Only Noise and this one did not disappoint me. It is more groovy, due to the guitar of Dave Harrington, but you can still feel this kind of dark thing that was in Nicolas Jaar 's debut album. A nice little electro effort that you can even dance on it! My favorite songs are Heart and The Only Shrine I've Seen.
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    This is album is a cosmic and beautiful experience, the incredible sounds that Dave and Nico have created are completely unique and creative, It is one of the best of the year! Expand