Pure Heroine

Pure Heroine Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 511 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The debut full-length release for the 16-year-old New Zealand pop singer-songwriter was produced by Joel Little.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    94
    September has been a profoundly great month for new female vocalists in popular music, but Lorde is easily the most vocally striking and lyrically thought-provoking. Pure Heroine is honest and addictive.
  2. 90
    While she’ll have to work even harder to find an angle for record number two her debut delivers everything you could have hoped for from a pop star in 2013.
  3. Oct 2, 2013
    82
    It’s that vital connection between Lorde’s present-day ruminations and the uncanny way her music hits on such a fundamental level with all that dirty, romanticized nostalgia that makes Pure Heroine such a success beyond "Royals'" ostensible aim of looking down its nose at the Miley Cyruses and Taylor Swifts of the world.
  4. 80
    Lorde’s clearly a gifted songwriter for her age, but don’t let the novelty affect your perception of Pure Heroine. It’s a very grown-up album despite its teenage topics, and if you give a damn about good pop songs, then you owe it a listen.
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    This is the rare debut that’s smart and disarming and instantly catchy.
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    70
    Whilst Lorde’s world creates its own incredibly distinctive atmosphere, it feels accessible and open to maturing.
  7. Sep 30, 2013
    60
    Pure Heroine seems to hint at the truth... but the truth is, Lorde is a pop invention as much as LDR and is not nearly as honest about her intentions.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 100
  2. Negative: 8 out of 100
  1. Sep 30, 2013
    10
    This album is so amazing, Lorde explored a new sound, different from other Indie artists, and the result is Pure Heroine, all the songs areThis album is so amazing, Lorde explored a new sound, different from other Indie artists, and the result is Pure Heroine, all the songs are catchy, I do not get tired of hearing. Expand
  2. May 4, 2015
    10
    ocalists in popular music, but Lorde is easily the most vocally striking and lyrically thought-provoking. Pure Heroine is honest andocalists in popular music, but Lorde is easily the most vocally striking and lyrically thought-provoking. Pure Heroine is honest and addictive. amoooooo Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    10
    This album is so refreshing amongst all the other pop albums out today. Lorde adds so much depth to already unique beats through her lyrics.This album is so refreshing amongst all the other pop albums out today. Lorde adds so much depth to already unique beats through her lyrics. It is easy to listen to the album multiple times. Expand
  4. May 27, 2016
    9
    Songs like "Tennis Curt", "Royals", "400 Lux", "Glory and Gore", "The Love Club" and more, are really hard to get them out of the head. I hopeSongs like "Tennis Curt", "Royals", "400 Lux", "Glory and Gore", "The Love Club" and more, are really hard to get them out of the head. I hope something much better in her next work. Expand
  5. Oct 16, 2015
    9
    A juventude poética. Esse é o semblante do "Pure Heroine". Refrescante, porém obscuro na medida. Um som diferente, um álbum sólido do começoA juventude poética. Esse é o semblante do "Pure Heroine". Refrescante, porém obscuro na medida. Um som diferente, um álbum sólido do começo ao fim, onde mostra a sua proposta e não tem medo de concretiza-la. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    8
    I've had this on repeat for a couple of days. Lorde's debut is great and fairly unique (although I'd compare it to Lana del Rey and FlorenceI've had this on repeat for a couple of days. Lorde's debut is great and fairly unique (although I'd compare it to Lana del Rey and Florence the Machine probably). The songs are very catchy. Expand
  7. Nov 25, 2015
    0
    A really boring and stupid album, honestly lorde should be spending time in college i feel she has had one decent hit and the others are pureA really boring and stupid album, honestly lorde should be spending time in college i feel she has had one decent hit and the others are pure ****! do not buy this

    i recommend something like stars dance or revival!
    Expand

See all 100 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Music Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 4, 2013
    Throughout the coming weeks, we'll be collecting year-end top 10 album lists from dozens of music critics, publications, record stores, and other sources. Find individual lists and this year's cumulative rankings inside.